Active Report Report ID: EDU-198640-2026

Halifax Community College

Weldon, NC 27890

Tuition$2,638Published sticker
Graduation rate63.16%150% time
Median salary$35,50410yr post-entry

About Halifax Community College

Halifax Community College is a public community college in Weldon, North Carolina, enrolling about 723 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Published tuition for full-time study starts near $2,638 before fees and financial aid. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (43.9%) and White (35.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 63.16%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,504.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Halifax Community College$2,638—1
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
North Carolina (state median)$7,040$6,250132
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Halifax Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Halifax Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,638).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
Published sticker

Halifax Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $2,638

Finding Halifax Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $2,638. That is about 0.5× the national public median ($5,700). Versus the North Carolina median ($7,040), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 0.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Halifax Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

School guide

Halifax Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Halifax Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$2,638

Out-of-state tuition

$8,782

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$75,001–$110,000$1,886

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $10,552. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention61.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$34,749Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Halifax Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Halifax Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Halifax Community College.

Campus

Location

Weldon, NC

City / state

ZIP
27890

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

723

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
1,438
Full-time share
24%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
33.55%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$10,5524-year in-state tuition
$35,1284-year out-of-state tuition
$13,050Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$17,688Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$70,752Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Halifax Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

33.55% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.19% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Halifax Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Halifax Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,345$8,549$3,148
2014$2,426$8,570$3,084
2015$2,436$8,580$3,091
2016$2,564$8,708$2,458
2017$2,564$8,708$3,150
2018$2,608$8,752$2,705
2019$2,608$8,752$3,663
2020$2,608$8,752$3,491
2021$2,608$8,752$1,962
2022$2,608$8,752$8,392
2023$2,608$8,752$4,073

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Halifax Community College reported total enrollment of about 723 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 26% male and 74% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (43.9%), White (35.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (7.6%). About 33.55% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 55.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

24.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Halifax Community College in 2024 is 723 students.

Over a full year, about 1,438 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

61.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

43.9%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American43.9%
  • White or Caucasian35.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino7.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2.6%
  • Two or More Races2.5%
  • Asian1.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

63.16% 100% Completion Time

63.16% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 63.16% of students graduating from Halifax Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 37% male / 63% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 18% male / 82% female
  • Information Technology: 35% male / 65% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

170Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American170
  • White or Caucasian101
  • Hispanic or Latino21
  • American Indian or Alaska Native17
  • Asian5
  • Two or More Races2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Halifax Community College graduates earn a median of $35,504 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Halifax Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $35,504.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Halifax Community College graduates report median earnings of $35,504 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

$35,504Median annual earnings (10 years)

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (21 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions, Other 15
  2. Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Other 13
  3. Mason/Masonry 13

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Halifax Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$35,504Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$39,377Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$34,749Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$33,395Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.85%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Halifax Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Halifax Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.7M

Year change: $198,979

  • North Carolina median 0.16× the median ($12M)
  • Southeast median 0.10× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.07× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $2,384

  • North Carolina median 0.29× the median ($8,184)
  • Southeast median 0.26× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.20× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 17.1%
    • North Carolina median 32.0 pp below median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 42.4 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 40.9 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,877
    • North Carolina median near the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.90× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,940
    • North Carolina median 0.73× the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 0.90× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.81× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Halifax Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Halifax Community College

Weldon, NC 27890 · Public · Southeast

Halifax Community College is a public institution in Weldon, NC, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$2,638
Enrollment723
Completion (150%)63.16%
Pell Grant share33.55%
First-generation55.6%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseInformation Technology
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American43.9%
White or Caucasian35.5%
Hispanic or Latino7.6%
Nearby

Schools near Halifax Community College

Other campuses in Weldon, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Halifax Community College located?

Halifax Community College is located in Weldon, NC.

What is Halifax Community College's tuition?

Halifax Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,638 in the latest College Scorecard data.

How much does Halifax Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $2,638 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,050 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Halifax Community College?

Halifax Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,438 students, Black or African American (43.9%), White (35.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Halifax Community College?

About 55.6% of students at Halifax Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Halifax Community College earn?

Median earnings are $34,749 six years after entry and $35,504 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Halifax Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 63.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Halifax Community College public or private?

Halifax Community College is a public institution located in Weldon, NC.

Is Halifax Community College an HBCU?

No. Halifax Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Halifax Community College a tribal college?

No. Halifax Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Halifax Community College religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Halifax Community College in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.