Active Report Report ID: EDU-235431-2026

Highline College

Des Moines, WA 98198-9800

Tuition$4,935Published sticker
Avg. net price$18,053After aid
Graduation rate38.05%150% time
Median salary$54,85010yr post-entry
ROI660%10yr vs net cost

About Highline College

Highline College is a public community college in Des Moines, Washington, serving roughly 3,838 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $18,053 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,935. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (20.4%) and Black or African American (17.1%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Highline College charges 13% below the national public median tuition ($4,935).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 0.6×.
  • Average net price runs below the Washington median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 38.05%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $54,850.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Highline College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 660% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Highline College$4,935$18,0531
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
Washington (state median)$8,850$18,34671
Rural (locale median)$14,346$18,8821,649
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Highline College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Highline College charges 13% below the national public median tuition ($4,935).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 0.6×.
  • Average net price runs below the Washington median net price.
Published sticker

Highline College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,935

Finding Highline College charges 13% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,935. That is 13% below the national public median ($5,700). Versus the Washington median ($8,850), sticker tuition is about 0.6×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Highline College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Highline College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Highline College is $18,053.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,053 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $293 below the Washington median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $829 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Highline College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Highline College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Highline College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,935

Out-of-state tuition

$5,520

Avg. net price

$18,053

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$16,701
$30,001–$48,000$17,429
$48,001–$75,000$18,849
$75,001–$110,000$22,700
$110,001+$25,202

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $19,740. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$46,764Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Highline College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Highline College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Highline College.

Campus

Location

Des Moines, WA

City / state

ZIP
98198-9800
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 4% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,882 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Baccalaureate/Associate's Colleges: Associate's Dominant

Size

Enrollment

3,838

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
8,197
Full-time share
52%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,820

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
23.66%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$72,212Estimated 4-year total cost
$18,053Average annual net price (after aid)
$19,7404-year in-state tuition
$22,0804-year out-of-state tuition
$13,492Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$581Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$19,008Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$76,032Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Highline College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

23.66% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
2.83% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Highline College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Highline College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$4,000$4,401$6,911
2014$4,000$4,401$6,996
2015$3,846$4,253$7,614
2016$3,851$4,265$6,654
2017$3,936$4,358$7,587
2018$4,026$4,462$7,129
2019$4,127$4,576$7,052
2020$4,231$4,691$6,342
2021$4,344$4,813$8,095
2022$4,458$4,948$7,883
2023$4,623$5,156$10,878

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Highline College reported total enrollment of about 3,838 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (20.4%), Black or African American (17.1%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (16.3%). About 23.66% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

52.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Highline College in 2024 is 3,838 students.

Over a full year, about 8,197 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

20.4%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino20.4%
  • Black or African American17.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown16.3%
  • White or Caucasian15.4%
  • Asian15.1%
  • Two or More Races7.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien7.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

N/A 100% Completion Time

38.05% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, N/A of students graduating from Highline College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 40% male / 60% female
  • Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 3% male / 97% female
  • Medical/Clinical Assistant: 4% male / 96% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

301White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian301
  • Hispanic or Latino245
  • Asian208
  • Black or African American196
  • Two or More Races66
  • American Indian or Alaska Native9
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander6

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Highline College graduates earn a median of $54,850 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Highline College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $54,850. Median federal loan debt: $9,820. Average net price used in cost models: $18,053.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Highline College graduates report median earnings of $54,850 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

660%Modeled return on investment
$9,820Median student debt
$54,850Median annual earnings (10 years)
17.90%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Highline College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (44 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 164
  2. Physical Sciences, General 33
  3. Comprehensive Transition and Postsecondary (CTP) Program 27

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Highline College.

Employment Outcomes

$54,850Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$59,902Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$46,764Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$49,375Median earnings (8 years after entry)
85.53%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Highline College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Highline College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 95.2%
    • Washington median 0.3 pp above median (94.9%)
    • Far West median 49.5 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 37.2 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,738
    • Washington median 1.1× the median ($9,588)
    • Far West median 1.1× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,033
    • Washington median 1.2× the median ($8,580)
    • Far West median 1.4× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Highline College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Highline College

Des Moines, WA 98198-9800 · Public · Far West

Highline College is a public institution in Des Moines, WA, classified as Baccalaureate/Associate's Colleges: Associate's Dominant.

Tuition$4,935
Avg. net price$18,053
Enrollment3,838
Completion (150%)38.05%
Pell Grant share23.66%
First-generation49.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesEarly Childhood Education & TeachingMedical/Clinical Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino20.4%
Black or African American17.1%
Race/ethnicity unknown16.3%
Nearby

Schools near Highline College

Other campuses in Des Moines, WA when available, plus nearby institutions in Washington.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Washington, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Highline College located?

Highline College is located in Des Moines, WA.

What is Highline College's tuition?

Highline College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,935 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,053 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Highline College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,935 and average net price is $18,053 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,492 annually.

What explains Highline College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,053), completion (38.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($54,850). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Highline College?

Highline College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 8,197 students, Hispanic or Latino (20.4%), Black or African American (17.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Highline College?

About 49.9% of students at Highline College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Highline College earn?

Median earnings are $46,764 six years after entry and $54,850 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Highline College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 38.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Highline College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,820.

Is Highline College public or private?

Highline College is a public institution located in Des Moines, WA.

Is Highline College an HBCU?

No. Highline College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Highline College a tribal college?

No. Highline College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.