Active Report Report ID: EDU-236887-2026

Walla Walla Community College

Walla Walla, WA 99362-9267

Tuition$5,279Published sticker
Avg. net price$9,406After aid
Graduation rate38.22%150% time
Median salary$43,52610yr post-entry
ROI1,057%10yr vs net cost

About Walla Walla Community College

Walla Walla Community College is a public community college in Walla Walla, Washington, enrolling about 2,418 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $9,406 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,279. Student demographics in federal data include White (46.1%) and Hispanic or Latino (32.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Walla Walla Community College charges 4% below the national public median tuition ($5,279).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is 36% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Washington median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 38.22%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $43,526.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Walla Walla Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1057% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Walla Walla Community College$5,279$9,4061
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Washington (state median)$8,256$9,86370
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Walla Walla Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Walla Walla Community College charges 4% below the national public median tuition ($5,279).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is 36% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Washington median net price.
Published sticker

Walla Walla Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,279

Finding Walla Walla Community College charges 4% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,279. That is 4% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Washington median ($8,256), sticker tuition is 36% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Walla Walla Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Walla Walla Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Walla Walla Community College is $9,406.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,406 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $457 below the Washington median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $5,565 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Walla Walla Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Walla Walla Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Walla Walla Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,279

Out-of-state tuition

$6,700

Avg. net price

$9,406

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,224
$30,001–$48,000$8,825
$48,001–$75,000$9,301
$75,001–$110,000$12,419
$110,001+$17,566

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $21,116. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$37,119Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Walla Walla Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Walla Walla Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Walla Walla Community College.

Campus

Location

Walla Walla, WA

City / state

ZIP
99362-9267
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 37% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs

Size

Enrollment

2,418

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,281
Full-time share
63%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$14,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.62%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$37,624Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,406Average annual net price (after aid)
$21,1164-year in-state tuition
$26,8004-year out-of-state tuition
$17,310Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$528Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$23,117Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$92,468Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Walla Walla Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.62% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
12.44% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Walla Walla Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Walla Walla Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$4,376$5,675$6,451
2014$4,376$5,675$6,422
2015$4,203$5,670$5,762
2016$4,203$5,670$6,346
2017$4,455$5,955$5,537
2018$4,455$5,955$6,176
2019$4,700$6,200$5,835
2020$4,818$6,318$5,986
2021$4,850$6,350$6,548
2022$4,965$6,306$6,069
2023$6,513$7,967$8,343

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Walla Walla Community College reported total enrollment of about 2,418 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 50% male and 50% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (46.1%), Hispanic or Latino (32.3%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (8.1%). About 31.62% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

62.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Walla Walla Community College in 2024 is 2,418 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,281 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

46.1%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian46.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino32.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown8.1%
  • Two or More Races5.5%
  • Black or African American5.3%
  • Asian1.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

38.22% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Walla Walla Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 38% male / 62% female
  • Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 2% male / 98% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 72% male / 28% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

538White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian538
  • Hispanic or Latino335
  • Black or African American57
  • Two or More Races39
  • American Indian or Alaska Native19
  • Asian16
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander7

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Walla Walla Community College graduates earn a median of $43,526 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Walla Walla Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $43,526. Median federal loan debt: $14,000. Average net price used in cost models: $9,406.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Walla Walla Community College graduates report median earnings of $43,526 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,057%Modeled return on investment
$14,000Median student debt
$43,526Median annual earnings (10 years)
32.16%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Walla Walla Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (40 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 120
  2. Building Construction Technology/Technician 35

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Walla Walla Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$43,526Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$37,119Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$40,891Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.72%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Walla Walla Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Walla Walla Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$557,932

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $547,419

Year change: $10,513

  • Washington median 0.05× the median ($11.9M)
  • Far West median 0.03× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.02× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $239

  • Washington median 0.05× the median ($4,513)
  • Far West median 0.03× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.02× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Washington median 5.1 pp above median (94.9%)
    • Far West median 54.3 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,594
    • Washington median near the median ($9,588)
    • Far West median near the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,866
    • Washington median 1.1× the median ($8,580)
    • Far West median 1.4× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Walla Walla Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Walla Walla Community College

Walla Walla, WA 99362-9267 · Public · Far West

Walla Walla Community College is a public institution in Walla Walla, WA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs.

Tuition$5,279
Avg. net price$9,406
Enrollment2,418
Completion (150%)38.22%
Pell Grant share31.62%
First-generation45.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesEarly Childhood Education & TeachingBusiness Administration and Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian46.1%
Hispanic or Latino32.3%
Race/ethnicity unknown8.1%
Nearby

Schools near Walla Walla Community College

Other campuses in Walla Walla, WA when available, plus nearby institutions in Washington.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Washington, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Walla Walla Community College located?

Walla Walla Community College is located in Walla Walla, WA.

What is Walla Walla Community College's tuition?

Walla Walla Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,279 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,406 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Walla Walla Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,279 and average net price is $9,406 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,310 annually.

What explains Walla Walla Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,406), completion (38.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($43,526). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Walla Walla Community College?

Walla Walla Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,281 students, White (46.1%), Hispanic or Latino (32.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Walla Walla Community College?

About 45.7% of students at Walla Walla Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Walla Walla Community College earn?

Median earnings are $37,119 six years after entry and $43,526 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Walla Walla Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 38.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Walla Walla Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,000.

Is Walla Walla Community College public or private?

Walla Walla Community College is a public institution located in Walla Walla, WA.

Is Walla Walla Community College an HBCU?

No. Walla Walla Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Walla Walla Community College a tribal college?

No. Walla Walla Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.