Active Report Report ID: EDU-237057-2026

Whitman College

Walla Walla, WA 99362

Acceptance rate38.15%Selective
Tuition$64,050Published sticker
Avg. net price$33,313After aid
Graduation rate80.52%150% time
Median salary$67,58910yr post-entry

About Whitman College

Whitman College is a private university in Walla Walla, Washington, enrolling about 1,531 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 38.15% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $67,589 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Whitman College charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($64,050).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 7.8×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 80.52%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $67,589.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Whitman College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 407% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Whitman College$64,050$33,3131
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Washington (state median)$8,256$9,86370
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 48% below published tuition at Whitman College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Whitman College's average net price ($33,313) is 48% below published tuition ($64,050).
  • Whitman College charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($64,050).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 7.8×.
Published sticker

Whitman College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $64,050

Finding Whitman College charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $64,050. That is about 2.2× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Washington median ($8,256), sticker tuition is about 7.8×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Whitman College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Whitman College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Whitman College is $33,313.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $33,313 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $23,450 above the Washington median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $18,342 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Whitman College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 48% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Whitman College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Whitman College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$64,050

Avg. net price

$33,313

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$13,567
$30,001–$48,000$11,596
$48,001–$75,000$21,915
$75,001–$110,000$27,237
$110,001+$47,679

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $256,200. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention86.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$45,594Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 14% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1410
  • Midpoint ACT: 31

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Whitman College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Whitman College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Whitman College.

Campus

Location

Walla Walla, WA

City / state

ZIP
99362
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 2.2× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

1,531

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,626
Full-time share
99%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$18,437

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
16.32%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$133,252Estimated 4-year total cost
$33,313Average annual net price (after aid)
$256,2004-year tuition
$15,080Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$80,530Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$322,120Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Whitman College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

16.32% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
53.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Whitman College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Whitman College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$43,500$43,500$34,753
2014$44,800$44,800$29,549
2015$46,138$46,138$36,433
2016$47,862$47,862$33,482
2017$49,780$49,780$43,488
2018$52,764$52,764$32,627
2019$53,820$53,820$38,672
2020$50,408$50,408$35,894
2021$55,982$55,982$30,694
2022$58,622$58,622$35,627
2023$61,492$61,492$35,506

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

38.15%Acceptance rate
6,185Total applicants
3,092Students admitted
444First-time students enrolled
14.36%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1410SAT average
31ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.80Estimated median GPA
3.7–3.9Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Whitman College reported total enrollment of about 1,531 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (56.0%), Non-Resident Alien (14.4%), and Hispanic or Latino (13.0%). About 16.32% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 11.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

98.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Whitman College in 2024 is 1,531 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,626 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

86.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

56.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian56.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien14.4%
  • Hispanic or Latino13.0%
  • Two or More Races6.5%
  • Asian5.5%
  • Black or African American2.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

60.09% 100% Completion Time

80.52% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 60.09% of students graduating from Whitman College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Research and Experimental Psychology, Other: 16% male / 84% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 23% male / 77% female
  • Econometrics and Quantitative Economics: 44% male / 56% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

196White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian196
  • Hispanic or Latino33
  • Asian25
  • Two or More Races24
  • Black or African American2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Whitman College graduates earn a median of $67,589 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Whitman College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $67,589. Median federal loan debt: $18,437. Average net price used in cost models: $33,313.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Whitman College graduates report median earnings of $67,589 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

407%Modeled return on investment
$18,437Median student debt
$67,589Median annual earnings (10 years)
27.28%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Whitman College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (49 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Econometrics and Quantitative Economics 25
  2. Computer Science 17
  3. Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology, Other 16
  4. English Language and Literature, General 14

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Whitman College.

Employment Outcomes

$67,589Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$45,594Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$60,428Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.54%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Whitman College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Whitman College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$732.8M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $683.6M

Year change: $49.3M

  • Washington median 62× the median ($11.9M)
  • Far West median 44× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 28× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $495,157

  • Washington median 110× the median ($4,513)
  • Far West median 68× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 41× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 87.1%
    • Washington median 7.8 pp below median (94.9%)
    • Far West median 41.4 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 29.2 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,628
    • Washington median 1.1× the median ($9,588)
    • Far West median 1.1× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $23,597
    • Washington median 2.8× the median ($8,580)
    • Far West median 3.4× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 3.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Whitman College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Whitman College

Walla Walla, WA 99362 · Private Non-profit · Far West

Whitman College is a private non-profit institution in Walla Walla, WA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$64,050
Avg. net price$33,313
Enrollment1,531
Acceptance rate38.15%
Completion (150%)80.52%
Average SAT1410
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Research and Experimental Psychology, OtherBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralEconometrics and Quantitative Economics
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian56.0%
Non-Resident Alien14.4%
Hispanic or Latino13.0%
Nearby

Schools near Whitman College

Other campuses in Walla Walla, WA when available, plus nearby institutions in Washington.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Washington, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Whitman College located?

Whitman College is located in Walla Walla, WA.

What is Whitman College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Whitman College is 38.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 6,185 applicants and 3,092 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Whitman College's tuition?

Whitman College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $64,050 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $33,313 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Whitman College cost?

Reported tuition is $64,050 and average net price is $33,313 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,080 annually.

Why is Whitman College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Whitman College, published tuition is $64,050 while average net price is $33,313—about 48% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Whitman College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($33,313), completion (80.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($67,589). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Whitman College?

Whitman College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,626 students, White (56.0%), Non-Resident Alien (14.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Whitman College?

About 11.7% of students at Whitman College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Whitman College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Whitman College reports midpoint SAT about 1410 and midpoint ACT about 31.

What do graduates of Whitman College earn?

Median earnings are $45,594 six years after entry and $67,589 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Whitman College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 80.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Whitman College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,437.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.