Lone Star College System
The Woodlands, TX 77381-4399
About Lone Star College System
Lone Star College System is a public community college in The Woodlands, Texas, enrolling about 45,188 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $11,252 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,330. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (46.2%) and White (21.4%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Lone Star College System charges 40% below the national public median tuition ($3,330).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 21.14%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,466.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Lone Star College System is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 844% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Lone Star College System awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 69 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lone Star College System | $3,330 | $11,252 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Lone Star College System really?
Key findings
- Lone Star College System charges 40% below the national public median tuition ($3,330).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
Lone Star College System tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $3,330
Finding Lone Star College System charges 40% below the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $3,330. That is 40% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Lone Star College System versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Lone Star College System versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Lone Star College System is $11,252.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $11,252 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,221 above the Texas median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $6,796 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Lone Star College System, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Lone Star College System: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Lone Star College System—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$3,330
Out-of-state tuition
$9,390
Avg. net price
$11,252
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $10,657 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $11,515 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $11,128 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $13,120 |
| $110,001+ | $14,572 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $13,320. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Lone Star College System is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies6,485
- Business/Commerce, General757
- Business Administration and Management, General689
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse529
- Computer and Information Sciences, General385
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Lone Star College System a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Lone Star College System is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Lone Star College System.
Campus
Location
The Woodlands, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 77381-4399
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 38% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
45,188
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 111,144
- Full-time share
- 36%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$8,600
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 23.31%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Lone Star College System.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Lone Star College System was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Lone Star College System in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $1,408 | $3,448 | $6,141 |
| 2014 | $1,504 | $3,544 | $5,631 |
| 2015 | $1,504 | $3,544 | $6,468 |
| 2016 | $1,552 | $3,592 | $5,437 |
| 2017 | $1,600 | $3,760 | $6,940 |
| 2018 | $1,600 | $5,200 | $6,698 |
| 2019 | $1,724 | $5,564 | $8,016 |
| 2020 | $2,160 | $6,000 | $8,711 |
| 2021 | $2,160 | $6,168 | $8,654 |
| 2022 | $2,880 | $8,070 | $9,598 |
| 2023 | $3,090 | $8,700 | $9,322 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Lone Star College System reported total enrollment of about 45,188 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 41% male and 59% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (46.2%), White (21.4%), and Black or African American (14.9%). About 23.31% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.5% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
36.1% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Lone Star College System in 2024 is 45,188 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 111,144 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
21.14% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Lone Star College System completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 36% male / 64% female
- Business/Commerce, General: 44% male / 56% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 42% male / 58% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Lone Star College System graduates earn a median of $42,466 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Lone Star College System.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,466. Median federal loan debt: $8,600. Average net price used in cost models: $11,252.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Lone Star College System graduates report median earnings of $42,466 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Lone Star College System.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (69 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Lone Star College System.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Lone Star College System graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Lone Star College System—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$22.9M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 0.64× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median near the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 0.87× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 0.04× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 0.05× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 0.04× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
- Texas median 39.9 pp above median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 40.3 pp above median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,339
- Texas median 1.2× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 1.2× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,998
- Texas median 0.79× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 0.70× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 0.55× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Lone Star College System at a glance
Lone Star College System
Lone Star College System is a public institution in The Woodlands, TX, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBusiness/Commerce, GeneralBusiness Administration and Management, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino46.2%White or Caucasian21.4%Black or African American14.9%
Schools near Lone Star College System
Other campuses in The Woodlands, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Lone Star College System located?
Lone Star College System is located in The Woodlands, TX.
What is Lone Star College System's tuition?
Lone Star College System tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,330 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $11,252 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Lone Star College System cost?
Reported tuition is $3,330 and average net price is $11,252 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,756 annually.
What explains Lone Star College System's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($11,252), completion (21.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,466). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Lone Star College System?
Lone Star College System reports undergraduate enrollment of about 111,144 students, Hispanic or Latino (46.2%), White (21.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Lone Star College System?
About 50.5% of students at Lone Star College System are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Lone Star College System earn?
Median earnings are $32,889 six years after entry and $42,466 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Lone Star College System?
The 150%-time completion rate is 21.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Lone Star College System students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $8,600.
Is Lone Star College System public or private?
Lone Star College System is a public institution located in The Woodlands, TX.
Is Lone Star College System an HBCU?
No. Lone Star College System is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Lone Star College System a tribal college?
No. Lone Star College System is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.