Active Report Report ID: EDU-117894-2026

Los Medanos College

Pittsburg, CA 94565

Tuition$1,312Published sticker
Avg. net price$7,443After aid
Graduation rate41.04%150% time
Median salary$42,45410yr post-entry
ROI1,326%10yr vs net cost

About Los Medanos College

Los Medanos College is a public community college in Pittsburg, California, serving roughly 7,320 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $7,443 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,312. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (46.7%) and White (18.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Los Medanos College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,312).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 41.04%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,454.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Los Medanos College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1326% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Los Medanos College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 52 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Los Medanos College$1,312$7,4431
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Los Medanos College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Los Medanos College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,312).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
Published sticker

Los Medanos College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,312

Finding Los Medanos College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,312. That is about 0.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Los Medanos College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Los Medanos College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Los Medanos College is $7,443.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,443 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $900 below the California median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $11,257 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Los Medanos College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Los Medanos College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Los Medanos College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$1,312

Out-of-state tuition

$10,320

Avg. net price

$7,443

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$5,958
$30,001–$48,000$6,455
$48,001–$75,000$9,521
$75,001–$110,000$11,863
$110,001+$7,051

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $5,248. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention74.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$35,606Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Los Medanos College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Los Medanos College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Los Medanos College.

Campus

Location

Pittsburg, CA

City / state

ZIP
94565
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.4× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

7,320

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
12,355
Full-time share
39%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
29.15%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$29,772Estimated 4-year total cost
$7,443Average annual net price (after aid)
$5,2484-year in-state tuition
$41,2804-year out-of-state tuition
$23,238Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,220Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$25,770Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$103,080Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Los Medanos College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

29.15% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
1.48% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Los Medanos College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Los Medanos College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$1,298$7,038$8,387
2014$1,298$7,038$8,321
2015$1,298$7,542$4,875
2016$1,308$7,944$4,450
2017$1,312$8,424$5,253
2018$1,312$8,564$4,883
2019$1,312$8,564$5,162
2020$1,312$8,328$6,154
2021$1,312$9,012$4,323
2022$1,312$9,012$5,306
2023$1,312$9,012$5,692

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Los Medanos College reported total enrollment of about 7,320 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (46.7%), White (18.5%), and Black or African American (12.9%). About 29.15% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 51.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

39.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Los Medanos College in 2024 is 7,320 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 12,355 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

74.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

46.7%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino46.7%
  • White or Caucasian18.5%
  • Black or African American12.9%
  • Asian12.8%
  • Two or More Races6.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

11.69% 100% Completion Time

41.04% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 11.69% of students graduating from Los Medanos College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 31% male / 69% female
  • Biological and Physical Sciences: 26% male / 74% female
  • Humanities/Humanistic Studies: 36% male / 64% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,022Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino1,022
  • White or Caucasian366
  • Asian303
  • Black or African American234
  • Two or More Races165
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander11
  • American Indian or Alaska Native7

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Los Medanos College graduates earn a median of $42,454 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Los Medanos College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,454. Average net price used in cost models: $7,443.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Los Medanos College graduates report median earnings of $42,454 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,326%Modeled return on investment
$42,454Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Los Medanos College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (52 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Los Medanos College.

Employment Outcomes

$42,454Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$35,606Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$39,218Median earnings (8 years after entry)
82.23%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Los Medanos College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Los Medanos College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.4M

Year change: -$52,765

  • California median 0.07× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 0.08× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.05× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $272

  • California median 0.04× the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median 0.04× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.02× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 43.2%
    • California median 3.9 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 2.4 pp below median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 14.7 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,989
    • California median 1.1× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.1× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,679
    • California median 1.3× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 1.2× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Los Medanos College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Los Medanos College

Pittsburg, CA 94565 · Public · Far West

Los Medanos College is a public institution in Pittsburg, CA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional.

Tuition$1,312
Avg. net price$7,443
Enrollment7,320
Completion (150%)41.04%
Pell Grant share29.15%
First-generation51.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBiological and Physical SciencesHumanities/Humanistic Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino46.7%
White or Caucasian18.5%
Black or African American12.9%
Nearby

Schools near Los Medanos College

Other campuses in Pittsburg, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Los Medanos College located?

Los Medanos College is located in Pittsburg, CA.

What is Los Medanos College's tuition?

Los Medanos College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,312 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $7,443 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Los Medanos College cost?

Reported tuition is $1,312 and average net price is $7,443 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $23,238 annually.

What explains Los Medanos College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,443), completion (41.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,454). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Los Medanos College?

Los Medanos College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 12,355 students, Hispanic or Latino (46.7%), White (18.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Los Medanos College?

About 51.3% of students at Los Medanos College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Los Medanos College earn?

Median earnings are $35,606 six years after entry and $42,454 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Los Medanos College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 41.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Los Medanos College public or private?

Los Medanos College is a public institution located in Pittsburg, CA.

Is Los Medanos College an HBCU?

No. Los Medanos College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Los Medanos College a tribal college?

No. Los Medanos College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Los Medanos College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Los Medanos College reports 46.7% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.