Morgan State University
Baltimore, MD 21251-0001
About Morgan State University
Morgan State University is a public research university in Baltimore, Maryland, serving roughly 9,019 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 82.23% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $50,698 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Morgan State University charges 49% above the national public median tuition ($8,229).
- Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 21% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 40.87%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $50,698.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Morgan State University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 746% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Morgan State University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 73 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Morgan State University | $8,229 | $14,985 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Maryland (state median) | $10,410 | $10,555 | 48 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Morgan State University really?
Key findings
- Morgan State University charges 49% above the national public median tuition ($8,229).
- Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 21% below.
Morgan State University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,229
Finding Morgan State University charges 49% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,229. That is 49% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maryland median ($10,410), sticker tuition is 21% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 31% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Morgan State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Morgan State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Morgan State University is $14,985.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $14,985 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,430 above the Maryland median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $5,068 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Morgan State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Morgan State University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Morgan State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$8,229
Out-of-state tuition
$19,124
Avg. net price
$14,985
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $9,585 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $13,420 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $16,147 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $19,981 |
| $110,001+ | $21,323 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $32,916. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Morgan State University is known for
Top program completions
- Social Work128
- Business Administration and Management, General118
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies97
- Psychology, General77
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General55
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 971
- Midpoint ACT: 18
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Morgan State University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Morgan State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Morgan State University.
Campus
Location
Baltimore, MD
City / state
- ZIP
- 21251-0001
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 25% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
9,019
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 9,612
- Graduate
- 1,712
- Full-time share
- 93%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$27,250
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 56.55%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Morgan State University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Morgan State University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Morgan State University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,218 | $16,632 | $14,502 |
| 2014 | $7,378 | $16,862 | $15,926 |
| 2015 | $7,508 | $17,182 | $16,225 |
| 2016 | $7,636 | $17,504 | $16,918 |
| 2017 | $7,766 | $17,832 | $16,658 |
| 2018 | $7,900 | $18,167 | $16,991 |
| 2019 | $8,008 | $18,480 | $17,619 |
| 2020 | $7,628 | $20,251 | $17,351 |
| 2021 | $8,008 | $18,479 | $16,645 |
| 2022 | $8,008 | $18,479 | $13,669 |
| 2023 | $8,118 | $18,800 | $15,015 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 971 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 18 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Morgan State University reported total enrollment of about 9,019 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 39% male and 61% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (76.4%), Race/ethnicity unknown (7.1%), and Non-Resident Alien (6.3%). About 56.55% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 33.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
92.9% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Morgan State University in 2024 is 9,019 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 9,612 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,712 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
73.3%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
18.85% 100% Completion Time
40.87% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 18.85% of students graduating from Morgan State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Social Work: 23% male / 77% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 34% male / 66% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 32% male / 68% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Morgan State University graduates earn a median of $50,698 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Morgan State University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $50,698. Median federal loan debt: $27,250. Average net price used in cost models: $14,985.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Morgan State University graduates report median earnings of $50,698 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Morgan State University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (73 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Morgan State University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Morgan State University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Morgan State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$94M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Maryland median 2.1× the median ($44.9M)
- Mid East median 2.2× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 3.6× the median ($26.4M)
- Maryland median 0.86× the median ($13,247)
- Mid East median 0.70× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 0.95× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 59.5%
- Maryland median 9.5 pp above median (50.0%)
- Mid East median 2.6 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 1.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,634
- Maryland median 1.3× the median ($8,806)
- Mid East median 1.4× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,759
- Maryland median near the median ($10,120)
- Mid East median 1.1× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Morgan State University at a glance
Morgan State University
Morgan State University is a public institution in Baltimore, MD, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Social WorkBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American76.4%Race/ethnicity unknown7.1%Non-Resident Alien6.3%
Schools near Morgan State University
Other campuses in Baltimore, MD when available, plus nearby institutions in Maryland.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Maryland, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Morgan State University located?
Morgan State University is located in Baltimore, MD.
What is Morgan State University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Morgan State University is 82.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 22,741 applicants and 18,865 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Morgan State University's tuition?
Morgan State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,229 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $14,985 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Morgan State University cost?
Reported tuition is $8,229 and average net price is $14,985 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,320 annually.
What explains Morgan State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($14,985), completion (40.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($50,698). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Morgan State University?
Morgan State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 9,612 students, Black or African American (76.4%), Race/ethnicity unknown (7.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Morgan State University?
About 33.1% of students at Morgan State University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Morgan State University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Morgan State University reports midpoint SAT about 971 and midpoint ACT about 18.
What do graduates of Morgan State University earn?
Median earnings are $40,065 six years after entry and $50,698 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Morgan State University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 40.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Morgan State University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,250.
Is Morgan State University public or private?
Morgan State University is a public institution located in Baltimore, MD.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.