Active Report Report ID: EDU-199209-2026

North Carolina Wesleyan University

Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Acceptance rate80.23%Broad access
Tuition$37,856Published sticker
Avg. net price$20,318After aid
Graduation rate44.93%150% time
Median salary$49,26410yr post-entry

About North Carolina Wesleyan University

North Carolina Wesleyan University is a private research university in Rocky Mount, North Carolina, enrolling about 1,214 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 80.23% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $49,264 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • North Carolina Wesleyan University charges 25% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($37,856).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 5.4×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 44.93%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $49,264.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at North Carolina Wesleyan University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 506% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
North Carolina Wesleyan University$37,856$20,3181
Private Non-profit (national median)$30,216—1,451
North Carolina (state median)$7,040$6,250132
Town (locale median)$9,824$15,7451,516
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 46% below published tuition at North Carolina Wesleyan University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • North Carolina Wesleyan University's average net price ($20,318) is 46% below published tuition ($37,856).
  • North Carolina Wesleyan University charges 25% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($37,856).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 5.4×.
Published sticker

North Carolina Wesleyan University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $37,856

Finding North Carolina Wesleyan University charges 25% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $37,856. That is 25% above the national private non-profit median ($30,216). Versus the North Carolina median ($7,040), sticker tuition is about 5.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 3.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at North Carolina Wesleyan University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at North Carolina Wesleyan University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at North Carolina Wesleyan University is $20,318.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,318 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $14,068 above the North Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $4,573 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway North Carolina Wesleyan University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 46% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

North Carolina Wesleyan University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for North Carolina Wesleyan University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$37,856

Avg. net price

$20,318

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$26,413
$30,001–$48,000$13,100
$48,001–$75,000$14,952
$75,001–$110,000$19,696
$110,001+$22,017

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $151,424. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention58.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$43,006Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 13% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Midpoint ACT: 18

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is North Carolina Wesleyan University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

North Carolina Wesleyan University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for North Carolina Wesleyan University.

Campus

Location

Rocky Mount, NC

City / state

ZIP
27804
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 29% above the median for Town campuses ($15,745 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

1,214

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
1,464
Graduate
157
Full-time share
85%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$25,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
52.29%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$81,272Estimated 4-year total cost
$20,318Average annual net price (after aid)
$151,4244-year tuition
$13,608Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$51,864Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$207,456Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for North Carolina Wesleyan University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

52.29% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
62.18% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at North Carolina Wesleyan University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for North Carolina Wesleyan University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$26,632$26,632$19,532
2014$27,400$27,400$21,365
2015$28,150$28,150$13,540
2016$29,150$29,150$17,960
2017$29,900$29,900$16,205
2018$30,750$30,750$15,723
2019$31,650$31,650$14,023
2020$32,750$32,750$16,679
2021$33,371$33,371$18,119
2022$34,352$34,352$17,801
2023$35,536$35,536$18,165

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

80.23%Acceptance rate
2,417Total applicants
1,884Students admitted
250First-time students enrolled
13.27%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

18ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

North Carolina Wesleyan University reported total enrollment of about 1,214 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (36.2%), Race/ethnicity unknown (20.6%), and White (20.4%). About 52.29% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

85.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at North Carolina Wesleyan University in 2024 is 1,214 students.

Over a full year, about 1,464 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 157 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

58.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

36.2%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American36.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown20.6%
  • White or Caucasian20.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien14.2%
  • Two or More Races4.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.8%
  • Asian0.5%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

32.25% 100% Completion Time

44.93% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 32.25% of students graduating from North Carolina Wesleyan University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 42% male / 58% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 48% male / 52% female
  • Organizational Leadership: 23% male / 77% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

170Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American170
  • White or Caucasian112
  • Two or More Races28
  • American Indian or Alaska Native11
  • Hispanic or Latino8
  • Asian4
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

North Carolina Wesleyan University graduates earn a median of $49,264 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of North Carolina Wesleyan University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $49,264. Median federal loan debt: $25,000. Average net price used in cost models: $20,318.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway North Carolina Wesleyan University graduates report median earnings of $49,264 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

506%Modeled return on investment
$25,000Median student debt
$49,264Median annual earnings (10 years)
50.75%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for North Carolina Wesleyan University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (30 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Accounting 10

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at North Carolina Wesleyan University.

Employment Outcomes

$49,264Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$50,899Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$43,006Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$46,185Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.66%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for North Carolina Wesleyan University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for North Carolina Wesleyan University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$12.8M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $13.3M

Year change: -$566,799

  • North Carolina median 1.1× the median ($12M)
  • Southeast median 0.66× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.48× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $9,960

  • North Carolina median 1.2× the median ($8,184)
  • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.82× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 41.4%
    • North Carolina median 7.7 pp below median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 18.1 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 16.6 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,597
    • North Carolina median near the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.87× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,633
    • North Carolina median 0.70× the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 0.85× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.77× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

North Carolina Wesleyan University at a glance

Institution snapshot

North Carolina Wesleyan University

Rocky Mount, NC 27804 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

North Carolina Wesleyan University is a private non-profit institution in Rocky Mount, NC, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$37,856
Avg. net price$20,318
Enrollment1,214
Acceptance rate80.23%
Completion (150%)44.93%
Average ACT18
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement AdministrationOrganizational Leadership
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American36.2%
Race/ethnicity unknown20.6%
White or Caucasian20.4%
Nearby

Schools near North Carolina Wesleyan University

Other campuses in Rocky Mount, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is North Carolina Wesleyan University located?

North Carolina Wesleyan University is located in Rocky Mount, NC.

What is North Carolina Wesleyan University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at North Carolina Wesleyan University is 80.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,417 applicants and 1,884 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is North Carolina Wesleyan University's tuition?

North Carolina Wesleyan University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $37,856 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $20,318 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does North Carolina Wesleyan University cost?

Reported tuition is $37,856 and average net price is $20,318 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,608 annually.

Why is North Carolina Wesleyan University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At North Carolina Wesleyan University, published tuition is $37,856 while average net price is $20,318—about 46% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains North Carolina Wesleyan University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,318), completion (44.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($49,264). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at North Carolina Wesleyan University?

North Carolina Wesleyan University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,464 students, Black or African American (36.2%), Race/ethnicity unknown (20.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend North Carolina Wesleyan University?

About 46.8% of students at North Carolina Wesleyan University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for North Carolina Wesleyan University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, North Carolina Wesleyan University reports midpoint ACT about 18.

What do graduates of North Carolina Wesleyan University earn?

Median earnings are $43,006 six years after entry and $49,264 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at North Carolina Wesleyan University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 44.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do North Carolina Wesleyan University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.