Active Report Report ID: EDU-205027-2026

Pontifical College Josephinum

Columbus, OH 43235-1499

Acceptance rate95.83%Broad access
Tuition$31,105Published sticker
Avg. net price$47,298After aid
Graduation rate57.14%150% time
Median salary$58,36910yr post-entry

About Pontifical College Josephinum

Pontifical College Josephinum is a private research university in Columbus, Ohio, enrolling about 60 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 95.83% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $58,369 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Pontifical College Josephinum charges 3% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($31,105).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 57.14%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $58,369.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Pontifical College Josephinum is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 209% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Pontifical College Josephinum$31,105$47,2981
Private Non-profit (national median)$30,216—1,451
Ohio (state median)$15,312$10,728154
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Pontifical College Josephinum really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Pontifical College Josephinum charges 3% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($31,105).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
Published sticker

Pontifical College Josephinum tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $31,105

Finding Pontifical College Josephinum charges 3% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $31,105. That is 3% above the national private non-profit median ($30,216). Versus the Ohio median ($15,312), sticker tuition is about 2.0×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 2.5×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Pontifical College Josephinum versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Pontifical College Josephinum versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Pontifical College Josephinum is $47,298.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $47,298 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $36,570 above the Ohio median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $26,638 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Pontifical College Josephinum, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Pontifical College Josephinum: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Pontifical College Josephinum—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$31,105

Avg. net price

$47,298

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$47,923
$30,001–$48,000$45,423
$48,001–$75,000$47,923

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $124,420. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention100.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 80% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Pontifical College Josephinum a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Pontifical College Josephinum is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Pontifical College Josephinum.

Campus

Location

Columbus, OH

City / state

ZIP
43235-1499
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 2.3× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus

Size

Enrollment

60

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
60
Graduate
28
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
11.67%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$189,192Estimated 4-year total cost
$47,298Average annual net price (after aid)
$124,4204-year tuition
$13,474Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$46,579Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$186,316Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Pontifical College Josephinum.

Financial Aid by Income Level

11.67% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
15.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Pontifical College Josephinum was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Pontifical College Josephinum in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$20,614$20,614$33,904
2014$21,038$21,038$34,977
2015$21,748$21,748$35,948
2016$22,092$22,092$33,440
2017$22,092$22,092$34,557
2018$22,300$22,300$37,217
2019$24,182$24,182$37,212
2020$25,262$25,262$38,460
2021$27,900$27,900—
2022$26,763$26,763—
2023$27,829$27,829—

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

95.83%Acceptance rate
6Total applicants
5Students admitted
4First-time students enrolled
80.00%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Pontifical College Josephinum reported total enrollment of about 60 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 100% male and 0% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (86.7%), Race/ethnicity unknown (5.0%), and Black or African American (3.3%). About 11.67% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Pontifical College Josephinum in 2024 is 60 students.

Over a full year, about 60 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 28 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

100.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

86.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian86.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.0%
  • Black or African American3.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.3%
  • Two or More Races1.7%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

57.14% 100% Completion Time

57.14% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 57.14% of students graduating from Pontifical College Josephinum completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Philosophy and Religious Studies, General: 100% male / 0% female
  • Philosophy: 100% male / 0% female
  • Theology/Theological Studies: 100% male / 0% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

15White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian15
  • Hispanic or Latino4
  • Black or African American1
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Pontifical College Josephinum graduates earn a median of $58,369 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Pontifical College Josephinum.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $58,369. Average net price used in cost models: $47,298.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Pontifical College Josephinum graduates report median earnings of $58,369 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

209%Modeled return on investment
$58,369Median annual earnings (10 years)

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 6 programs by IPEDS completions (7 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Philosophy and Religious Studies, General 5
  2. Theological and Ministerial Studies, Other 3

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Pontifical College Josephinum.

Employment Outcomes

$58,369Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$53,841Median earnings (8 years after entry)
100.00%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Pontifical College Josephinum graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Pontifical College Josephinum—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$30.6M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $29.2M

Year change: $1.4M

  • Ohio median 1.3× the median ($24.2M)
  • Great Lakes median near the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $363,764

  • Ohio median 24× the median ($15,287)
  • Great Lakes median 22× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 30× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Ohio median 45.1 pp above median (54.9%)
    • Great Lakes median 41.9 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,595
    • Ohio median 0.75× the median ($7,463)
    • Great Lakes median 0.70× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 0.73× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $38,872
    • Ohio median 5.1× the median ($7,640)
    • Great Lakes median 5.1× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 5.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Pontifical College Josephinum at a glance

Institution snapshot

Pontifical College Josephinum

Columbus, OH 43235-1499 · Private Non-profit · Great Lakes

Pontifical College Josephinum is a private non-profit institution in Columbus, OH, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.

Tuition$31,105
Avg. net price$47,298
Enrollment60
Acceptance rate95.83%
Completion (150%)57.14%
Pell Grant share11.67%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralPhilosophyTheology/Theological Studies
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian86.7%
Race/ethnicity unknown5.0%
Black or African American3.3%
Nearby

Schools near Pontifical College Josephinum

Other campuses in Columbus, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Pontifical College Josephinum located?

Pontifical College Josephinum is located in Columbus, OH.

What is Pontifical College Josephinum's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Pontifical College Josephinum is 95.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 6 applicants and 5 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Pontifical College Josephinum's tuition?

Pontifical College Josephinum tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $31,105 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $47,298 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Pontifical College Josephinum cost?

Reported tuition is $31,105 and average net price is $47,298 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,474 annually.

What explains Pontifical College Josephinum's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($47,298), completion (57.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($58,369). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Pontifical College Josephinum?

Pontifical College Josephinum reports undergraduate enrollment of about 60 students, White (86.7%), Race/ethnicity unknown (5.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What do graduates of Pontifical College Josephinum earn?

Median earnings are N/A six years after entry and $58,369 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Pontifical College Josephinum?

The 150%-time completion rate is 57.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Pontifical College Josephinum public or private?

Pontifical College Josephinum is a private nonprofit institution located in Columbus, OH.

Is Pontifical College Josephinum an HBCU?

No. Pontifical College Josephinum is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Pontifical College Josephinum a tribal college?

No. Pontifical College Josephinum is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Pontifical College Josephinum religiously affiliated?

Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for Pontifical College Josephinum: Roman Catholic.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.