Active Report Report ID: EDU-227757-2026

Rice University

Houston, TX 77005-1827

Acceptance rate8.00%Extremely selective
Tuition$64,144Published sticker
Avg. net price$13,370After aid
Graduation rate94.64%150% time
Median salary$89,71810yr post-entry

About Rice University

Rice University is a highly selective private research university in Houston, Texas, serving roughly 4,776 students. Admission is highly selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 8.00% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $89,718 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Rice University charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($64,144).
  • Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 6.5×.
  • Rice University admits about 8.00% of applicants (extremely selective).
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 94.64%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $89,718.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Rice University is about 79% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $64,144; average net price is $13,370 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Rice University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1578% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

03

Finding

Rice University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 79 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Rice University$64,144$13,3701
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Texas (state median)$9,940$8,031184
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 79% below published tuition at Rice University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Rice University's average net price ($13,370) is 79% below published tuition ($64,144).
  • Rice University charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($64,144).
  • Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 6.5×.
Published sticker

Rice University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $64,144

Finding Rice University charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $64,144. That is about 2.2× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 6.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Rice University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Rice University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Rice University is $13,370.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,370 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,339 above the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $6,683 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Rice University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 79% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Rice University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Rice University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$64,144

Avg. net price

$13,370

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$5,827
$30,001–$48,000$563
$48,001–$75,000$3,217
$75,001–$110,000$17,755
$110,001+$48,466

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $256,576. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention97.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$79,751Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Extremely selective — fewer than 1 in 10 applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 46% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1553
  • Midpoint ACT: 35

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Rice University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Rice University is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 79% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomesNet price well below stickerHighly selective
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Rice University.

Campus

Location

Houston, TX

City / state

ZIP
77005-1827
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 33% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

4,776

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
5,048
Graduate
4,172
Full-time share
98%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$11,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
17.03%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$53,480Estimated 4-year total cost
$13,370Average annual net price (after aid)
$256,5764-year tuition
$18,100Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,440Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$83,684Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$334,736Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Rice University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

17.03% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
6.47% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Rice University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Rice University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$38,941$38,941$16,730
2014$40,566$40,566$16,466
2015$42,253$42,253$21,024
2016$43,918$43,918$19,232
2017$45,608$45,608$20,237
2018$47,350$47,350$20,879
2019$49,112$49,112$16,999
2020$51,107$51,107$16,076
2021$52,895$52,895$17,805
2022$54,960$54,960$15,091
2023$58,128$58,128$12,640

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

8.00%Acceptance rate
31,059Total applicants
2,447Students admitted
1,125First-time students enrolled
45.97%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is extremely selective, accepting fewer than 1 in 10 applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1553SAT average
35ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

4.00Estimated median GPA
3.9–4.0Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Rice University reported total enrollment of about 4,776 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 50% male and 50% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (29.1%), White (25.6%), and Hispanic or Latino (16.7%). About 17.03% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 14.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

97.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Rice University in 2024 is 4,776 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,048 students. Graduate enrollment is about 4,172 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

97.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

29.1%Asian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Asian29.1%
  • White or Caucasian25.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino16.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien12.8%
  • Black or African American7.9%
  • Two or More Races5.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

86.97% 100% Completion Time

94.64% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 86.97% of students graduating from Rice University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods, Other: 64% male / 36% female
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General: 76% male / 24% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 39% male / 61% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

794White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian794
  • Asian558
  • Hispanic or Latino313
  • Black or African American175
  • Two or More Races94
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Rice University graduates earn a median of $89,718 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Rice University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $89,718. Median federal loan debt: $11,000. Average net price used in cost models: $13,370.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Rice University graduates report median earnings of $89,718 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,578%Modeled return on investment
$11,000Median student debt
$89,718Median annual earnings (10 years)
12.26%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Rice University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (79 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electrical and Computer Engineering 93
  2. Bioengineering and Biomedical Engineering 85

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Rice University.

Employment Outcomes

$89,718Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$79,751Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$78,690Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.56%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Rice University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Rice University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$7.70B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $7.84B

Year change: -$144.3M

  • Texas median 215× the median ($35.8M)
  • Southwest median 332× the median ($23.2M)
  • U.S. median 292× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $861,272

  • Texas median 66× the median ($13,085)
  • Southwest median 85× the median ($10,113)
  • U.S. median 71× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 83.8%
    • Texas median 23.8 pp above median (60.1%)
    • Southwest median 24.1 pp above median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 25.9 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $18,454
    • Texas median 2.6× the median ($7,150)
    • Southwest median 2.6× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 2.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $47,816
    • Texas median 9.5× the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 8.4× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 6.6× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Rice University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Rice University

Houston, TX 77005-1827 · Private Non-profit · Southwest

Rice University is a private non-profit institution in Houston, TX, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$64,144
Avg. net price$13,370
Enrollment4,776
Acceptance rate8.00%
Completion (150%)94.64%
Average SAT1553
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods, OtherComputer and Information Sciences, GeneralBiology/Biological Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
Asian29.1%
White or Caucasian25.6%
Hispanic or Latino16.7%
Nearby

Schools near Rice University

Other campuses in Houston, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Rice University located?

Rice University is located in Houston, TX.

What is Rice University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Rice University is 8.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 31,059 applicants and 2,447 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Rice University's tuition?

Rice University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $64,144 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,370 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Rice University cost?

Reported tuition is $64,144 and average net price is $13,370 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,100 annually.

Why is Rice University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Rice University, published tuition is $64,144 while average net price is $13,370—about 79% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Rice University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,370), completion (94.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($89,718). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

Why is Rice University's acceptance rate so low?

The acceptance rate at Rice University is 8.0% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.

What is the student body demographics at Rice University?

Rice University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,048 students, Asian (29.1%), White (25.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Rice University?

About 14.5% of students at Rice University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Rice University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Rice University reports midpoint SAT about 1553 and midpoint ACT about 35.

What do graduates of Rice University earn?

Median earnings are $79,751 six years after entry and $89,718 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Rice University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 94.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.