Active Report Report ID: EDU-379782-2026

Center for Advanced Legal Studies

Houston, TX 77042-1912

Avg. net price$13,959After aid
Graduation rate61.54%150% time
Median salary$56,56110yr post-entry
ROI913%10yr vs net cost

About Center for Advanced Legal Studies

Center for Advanced Legal Studies is a private for-profit trade school in Houston, Texas, enrolling about 271 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 61.54% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $56,561 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $56,561.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Center for Advanced Legal Studies is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 913% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Center for Advanced Legal Studies$13,9591
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Texas (state median)$9,940$8,031184
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Center for Advanced Legal Studies really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Center for Advanced Legal Studies versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Center for Advanced Legal Studies is $13,959.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,959 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,928 above the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $6,094 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Center for Advanced Legal Studies: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Center for Advanced Legal Studies—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$13,959

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$13,901
$48,001–$75,000$15,069

Student outcomes

$43,827Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Center for Advanced Legal Studies a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Center for Advanced Legal Studies is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Center for Advanced Legal Studies.

Campus

Location

Houston, TX

City / state

ZIP
77042-1912
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 30% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Baccalaureate/Associate's Colleges

Size

Enrollment

271

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
415
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
44.39%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$55,836Estimated 4-year total cost
$13,959Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Center for Advanced Legal Studies.

Financial Aid by Income Level

44.39% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
63.32% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Center for Advanced Legal Studies was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Center for Advanced Legal Studies in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$17,629
2014$18,772
2015$16,882
2016$14,603
2017$15,715
2018$14,825
2019$15,625
2020$13,750
2021$12,955
2022$11,923
2023$10,914

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Center for Advanced Legal Studies reported total enrollment of about 271 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 10% male and 90% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (38.4%), White (28.8%), and Hispanic or Latino (28.4%). About 44.39% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 48.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Center for Advanced Legal Studies in 2024 is 271 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 415 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

38.4%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American38.4%
  • White or Caucasian28.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino28.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.8%
  • Asian1.5%
  • Two or More Races0.7%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

53.33% 100% Completion Time

61.54% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 53.33% of students graduating from Center for Advanced Legal Studies completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Legal Assistant/Paralegal: 12% male / 88% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

84Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American84
  • White or Caucasian58
  • Hispanic or Latino57
  • Asian6
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Center for Advanced Legal Studies graduates earn a median of $56,561 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Center for Advanced Legal Studies.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $56,561. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $13,959.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Center for Advanced Legal Studies graduates report median earnings of $56,561 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

913%Modeled return on investment
$9,500Median student debt
$56,561Median annual earnings (10 years)
16.80%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Center for Advanced Legal Studies.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Center for Advanced Legal Studies.

Employment Outcomes

$56,561Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$43,827Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$53,418Median earnings (8 years after entry)
82.98%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Center for Advanced Legal Studies graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Center for Advanced Legal Studies—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $4,901
    • Texas median 0.69× the median ($7,150)
    • Southwest median 0.69× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 0.64× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,045
    • Texas median 0.40× the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 0.36× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.28× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Center for Advanced Legal Studies at a glance

Institution snapshot

Center for Advanced Legal Studies

Houston, TX 77042-1912 · Private For-profit · Southwest

Center for Advanced Legal Studies is a private for-profit institution in Houston, TX, classified as Baccalaureate/Associate's Colleges.

Avg. net price$13,959
Enrollment271
Completion (150%)61.54%
Pell Grant share44.39%
First-generation48.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Legal Assistant/Paralegal
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American38.4%
White or Caucasian28.8%
Hispanic or Latino28.4%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Center for Advanced Legal Studies

Other campuses in Houston, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Center for Advanced Legal Studies located?

Center for Advanced Legal Studies is located in Houston, TX.

How much does Center for Advanced Legal Studies cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $13,959 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Center for Advanced Legal Studies's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,959), completion (61.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($56,561). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Center for Advanced Legal Studies?

Center for Advanced Legal Studies reports undergraduate enrollment of about 415 students, Black or African American (38.4%), White (28.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Center for Advanced Legal Studies?

About 48.7% of students at Center for Advanced Legal Studies are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Center for Advanced Legal Studies earn?

Median earnings are $43,827 six years after entry and $56,561 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Center for Advanced Legal Studies?

The 150%-time completion rate is 61.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Center for Advanced Legal Studies students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.

Is Center for Advanced Legal Studies public or private?

Center for Advanced Legal Studies is a private for-profit institution located in Houston, TX.

Is Center for Advanced Legal Studies an HBCU?

No. Center for Advanced Legal Studies is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Center for Advanced Legal Studies a tribal college?

No. Center for Advanced Legal Studies is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Center for Advanced Legal Studies a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Center for Advanced Legal Studies reports 28.4% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.