Active Report Report ID: EDU-228653-2026

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Galveston, TX 77555-0129

Median salary$92,96110yr post-entry
Enrollment545Total students

About The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston is a public research university in Galveston, Texas, enrolling about 545 students. The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $92,961 among students who received federal aid.

School guide

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.

Student outcomes

$82,535Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Campus

Location

Galveston, TX

City / state

ZIP
77555-0129
NCES locale
Town

See Town college profile for median costs and outcomes at similar campuses.

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Arts, Music, and Design

Size

Enrollment

545

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
904
Graduate
2,696
Full-time share
88%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$13,396

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
33.63%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Financial Aid by Income Level

33.63% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
62.08% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in that year.

Multi-year history is not in this profile yet. It is added when the institution cost history CSV has been collected and merged into school JSON.

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston reported total enrollment of about 545 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 20% male and 80% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (39.5%), White (25.7%), and Asian (19.3%). About 33.63% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 37.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

87.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in 2024 is 545 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 904 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,696 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

39.5%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino39.5%
  • White or Caucasian25.7%
  • Asian19.3%
  • Black or African American10.6%
  • Two or More Races2.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

0.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 17% male / 83% female
  • Medicine: 46% male / 54% female
  • Family Practice Nurse/Nursing: 10% male / 90% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

493White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian493
  • Hispanic or Latino269
  • Asian242
  • Black or African American99
  • Two or More Races40
  • American Indian or Alaska Native5
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston graduates earn a median of $92,961 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $92,961. Median federal loan debt: $13,396.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston graduates report median earnings of $92,961 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

$92,961Median annual earnings (10 years)
$13,396Median student debt
14.41%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (29 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Medicine 219
  2. Epidemiology 39

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Employment Outcomes

$92,961Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$82,535Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$89,220Median earnings (8 years after entry)
94.83%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$789.6M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $779.2M

Year change: $10.4M

  • Texas median 22× the median ($35.8M)
  • Southwest median 34× the median ($23.2M)
  • U.S. median 30× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $331,886

  • Texas median 25× the median ($13,085)
  • Southwest median 33× the median ($10,113)
  • U.S. median 27× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 97.2%
    • Texas median 37.2 pp above median (60.1%)
    • Southwest median 37.5 pp above median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 39.3 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,237
    • Texas median 1.6× the median ($7,150)
    • Southwest median 1.6× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $166,036
    • Texas median 33× the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 29× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 23× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston at a glance

Institution snapshot

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Galveston, TX 77555-0129 · Public · Southwest

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston is a public institution in Galveston, TX, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Arts, Music, and Design.

Enrollment545
Pell Grant share33.63%
First-generation37.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseMedicineFamily Practice Nurse/Nursing
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino39.5%
White or Caucasian25.7%
Asian19.3%
Nearby

Schools near The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Other campuses in Galveston, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston located?

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston is located in Galveston, TX.

How much does The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston?

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston reports undergraduate enrollment of about 904 students, Hispanic or Latino (39.5%), White (25.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston?

About 37.7% of students at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston earn?

Median earnings are $82,535 six years after entry and $92,961 ten years after entry.

How much debt do The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,396.

Is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston public or private?

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston is a public institution located in Galveston, TX.

Is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston an HBCU?

No. The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston a tribal college?

No. The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston reports 39.5% Hispanic enrollment share.

Is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.