Active Report Report ID: EDU-199449-2026

Richmond Community College

Hamlet, NC 28345-1189

Tuition$1,956Published sticker
Graduation rate57.01%150% time
Median salary$36,31810yr post-entry

About Richmond Community College

Richmond Community College is a public community college in Hamlet, North Carolina, enrolling about 1,352 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Published tuition for full-time study starts near $1,956 before fees and financial aid. Student demographics in federal data include White (36.8%) and Black or African American (35.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 57.01%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,318.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Richmond Community College$1,956—1
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
North Carolina (state median)$7,040$6,250132
Town (locale median)$9,824$15,7451,516
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Richmond Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Richmond Community College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition ($1,956).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
Published sticker

Richmond Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,956

Finding Richmond Community College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,956. That is about 0.3× the national public median ($5,700). Versus the North Carolina median ($7,040), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 0.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Richmond Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

School guide

Richmond Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Richmond Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$1,956

Out-of-state tuition

$6,564

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$75,001–$110,000$821

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $7,824. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention70.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,559Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Richmond Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Richmond Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Richmond Community College.

Campus

Location

Hamlet, NC

City / state

ZIP
28345-1189
NCES locale
Town distant

Compared with Town campuses nationally, tuition is about 0.2× the median for Town campuses.

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

1,352

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
3,197
Full-time share
34%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
35.11%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$7,8244-year in-state tuition
$26,2564-year out-of-state tuition
$17,497Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$20,453Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$81,812Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Richmond Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

35.11% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Richmond Community College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Richmond Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,366$8,510$6,532
2014$2,382$8,526$5,194
2015$2,446$8,590$4,604
2016$2,510$8,654$5,619
2017$2,516$8,660$4,046
2018$2,516$8,660$4,439
2019$2,516$8,660$2,598
2020$2,536$8,680$4,388
2021$2,536$8,680$4,100
2022$2,536$8,680$3,296
2023$2,552$8,696$6,042

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Richmond Community College reported total enrollment of about 1,352 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 26% male and 74% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (36.8%), Black or African American (35.6%), and American Indian or Alaska Native (12.8%). About 35.11% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

34.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Richmond Community College in 2024 is 1,352 students.

Over a full year, about 3,197 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

70.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

36.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian36.8%
  • Black or African American35.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native12.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino6.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown4.5%
  • Two or More Races3.4%
  • Asian0.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

42.06% 100% Completion Time

57.01% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 42.06% of students graduating from Richmond Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 34% male / 66% female
  • Nursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide: 11% male / 89% female
  • Information Technology: 98% male / 2% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

341White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian341
  • Black or African American184
  • American Indian or Alaska Native94
  • Hispanic or Latino69
  • Two or More Races24
  • Asian7
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Richmond Community College graduates earn a median of $36,318 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Richmond Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,318.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Richmond Community College graduates report median earnings of $36,318 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

$36,318Median annual earnings (10 years)

Employment Outcomes

$36,318Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$42,638Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$33,559Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$32,776Median earnings (8 years after entry)
82.55%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Richmond Community College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Richmond Community College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 48.2%
    • North Carolina median 0.9 pp below median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 11.2 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 9.7 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,827
    • North Carolina median near the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.90× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,222
    • North Carolina median near the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Richmond Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Richmond Community College

Hamlet, NC 28345-1189 · Public · Southeast

Richmond Community College is a public institution in Hamlet, NC, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.

Tuition$1,956
Enrollment1,352
Completion (150%)57.01%
Pell Grant share35.11%
First-generation49.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesNursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/AideInformation Technology
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian36.8%
Black or African American35.6%
American Indian or Alaska Native12.8%
Nearby

Schools near Richmond Community College

Other campuses in Hamlet, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Richmond Community College located?

Richmond Community College is located in Hamlet, NC.

What is Richmond Community College's tuition?

Richmond Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,956 in the latest College Scorecard data.

How much does Richmond Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $1,956 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,497 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Richmond Community College?

Richmond Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,197 students, White (36.8%), Black or African American (35.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Richmond Community College?

About 49.9% of students at Richmond Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Richmond Community College earn?

Median earnings are $33,559 six years after entry and $36,318 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Richmond Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 57.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Richmond Community College public or private?

Richmond Community College is a public institution located in Hamlet, NC.

Is Richmond Community College an HBCU?

No. Richmond Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Richmond Community College a tribal college?

No. Richmond Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Richmond Community College religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Richmond Community College in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.