San Diego State University
San Diego, CA 92182-0001
About San Diego State University
San Diego State University is a public research university in San Diego, California, enrolling about 35,377 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 36.19% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $64,909 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- San Diego State University charges 58% above the national public median tuition ($8,728).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 8% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 76.43%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $64,909.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at San Diego State University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 956% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
San Diego State University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 134 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| San Diego State University | $8,728 | $15,364 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is San Diego State University really?
Key findings
- San Diego State University charges 58% above the national public median tuition ($8,728).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 8% above.
San Diego State University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,728
Finding San Diego State University charges 58% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,728. That is 58% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is 8% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 27% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at San Diego State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at San Diego State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at San Diego State University is $15,364.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,364 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,021 above the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $4,689 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At San Diego State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
San Diego State University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for San Diego State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$8,728
Out-of-state tuition
$21,328
Avg. net price
$15,364
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $9,910 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $10,017 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $12,697 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $15,891 |
| $110,001+ | $23,821 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $34,912. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What San Diego State University is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General2,399
- Psychology, General707
- Criminal Justice/Safety Studies547
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General406
- Speech Communication and Rhetoric321
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
- Yield: 22% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is San Diego State University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
San Diego State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for San Diego State University.
Campus
Location
San Diego, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 92182-0001
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 23% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
35,377
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 38,492
- Graduate
- 5,355
- Full-time share
- 91%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$15,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 31.74%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for San Diego State University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at San Diego State University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for San Diego State University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,766 | $17,926 | $11,724 |
| 2014 | $6,866 | $18,026 | $12,567 |
| 2015 | $6,976 | $18,136 | $13,475 |
| 2016 | $7,084 | $18,244 | $14,585 |
| 2017 | $7,460 | $19,340 | $14,030 |
| 2018 | $7,488 | $19,340 | $15,287 |
| 2019 | $7,510 | $19,390 | $14,788 |
| 2020 | $7,720 | $19,600 | $13,845 |
| 2021 | $8,136 | $20,016 | $6,488 |
| 2022 | $8,174 | $20,054 | $12,721 |
| 2023 | $8,290 | $20,170 | $16,174 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
San Diego State University reported total enrollment of about 35,377 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (36.7%), White (33.8%), and Asian (13.2%). About 31.74% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 41.2% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
90.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at San Diego State University in 2024 is 35,377 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 38,492 students. Graduate enrollment is about 5,355 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
90.6%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
56.27% 100% Completion Time
76.43% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 56.27% of students graduating from San Diego State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 53% male / 47% female
- Psychology, General: 18% male / 82% female
- Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 37% male / 63% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
San Diego State University graduates earn a median of $64,909 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of San Diego State University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $64,909. Median federal loan debt: $15,000. Average net price used in cost models: $15,364.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway San Diego State University graduates report median earnings of $64,909 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for San Diego State University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (134 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at San Diego State University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for San Diego State University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for San Diego State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$433.9M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 22× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 26× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 16× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 1.7× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 1.7× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median near the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 50.0%
- California median 10.7 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 4.4 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 7.9 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,042
- California median 1.3× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 1.4× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,619
- California median 1.3× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 1.2× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
San Diego State University at a glance
San Diego State University
San Diego State University is a public institution in San Diego, CA, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, GeneralCriminal Justice/Safety Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino36.7%White or Caucasian33.8%Asian13.2%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near San Diego State University
Other campuses in San Diego, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is San Diego State University located?
San Diego State University is located in San Diego, CA.
What is San Diego State University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at San Diego State University is 36.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 82,800 applicants and 28,517 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is San Diego State University's tuition?
San Diego State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,728 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $15,364 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does San Diego State University cost?
Reported tuition is $8,728 and average net price is $15,364 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $23,030 annually.
What explains San Diego State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($15,364), completion (76.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($64,909). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at San Diego State University?
San Diego State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 38,492 students, Hispanic or Latino (36.7%), White (33.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend San Diego State University?
About 41.2% of students at San Diego State University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of San Diego State University earn?
Median earnings are $52,620 six years after entry and $64,909 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at San Diego State University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 76.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do San Diego State University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $15,000.
Is San Diego State University public or private?
San Diego State University is a public institution located in San Diego, CA.
Is San Diego State University an HBCU?
No. San Diego State University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.