Active Report Report ID: EDU-167835-2026

Smith College

Northampton, MA 01063

Acceptance rate21.00%Highly competitive
Tuition$65,178Published sticker
Avg. net price$27,579After aid
Graduation rate89.05%150% time
Median salary$64,02710yr post-entry

About Smith College

Smith College is a selective private research university in Northampton, Massachusetts, serving roughly 2,544 students. Admission is selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 21.00% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $64,027 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Smith College charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($65,178).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 1.9×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 89.05%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $64,027.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Smith College is about 58% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $65,178; average net price is $27,579 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Smith College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 480% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

03

Finding

Smith College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 55 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Smith College$65,178$27,5791
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Massachusetts (state median)$34,256$12,24493
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 58% below published tuition at Smith College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Smith College's average net price ($27,579) is 58% below published tuition ($65,178).
  • Smith College charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($65,178).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 1.9×.
Published sticker

Smith College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $65,178

Finding Smith College charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $65,178. That is about 2.2× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Massachusetts median ($34,256), sticker tuition is about 1.9×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.5×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Smith College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Smith College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Smith College is $27,579.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,579 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $15,335 above the Massachusetts median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $12,608 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Smith College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 58% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Smith College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Smith College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$65,178

Avg. net price

$27,579

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$1,363
$30,001–$48,000$3,737
$48,001–$75,000$6,559
$75,001–$110,000$11,750
$110,001+$40,477

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $260,712. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention94.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$45,731Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Highly selective — fewer than 3 in 10 applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 33% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1500
  • Midpoint ACT: 33

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Smith College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Smith College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 58% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomesNet price well below sticker
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Smith College.

Campus

Location

Northampton, MA

City / state

ZIP
01063
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 1.8× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

2,544

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,657
Graduate
308
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$17,550

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
17.88%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$110,316Estimated 4-year total cost
$27,579Average annual net price (after aid)
$260,7124-year tuition
$22,570Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$800Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$88,548Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$354,192Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Smith College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

17.88% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
14.09% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Smith College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Smith College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$43,114$43,114$24,603
2014$44,724$44,724$27,406
2015$46,288$46,288$27,880
2016$47,904$47,904$26,321
2017$50,044$50,044$24,829
2018$52,404$52,404$28,193
2019$54,224$54,224$28,305
2020$54,224$54,224$29,615
2021$56,114$56,114$29,814
2022$58,768$58,768$31,087
2023$61,568$61,568$26,181

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

21.00%Acceptance rate
9,869Total applicants
1,947Students admitted
649First-time students enrolled
33.33%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is highly selective, accepting fewer than 3 in 10 applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1500SAT average
33ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

4.00Estimated median GPA
3.9–4.0Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Smith College reported total enrollment of about 2,544 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 4% male and 100% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (50.4%), Non-Resident Alien (13.7%), and Hispanic or Latino (12.2%). About 17.88% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 18.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Smith College in 2024 is 2,544 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,657 students. Graduate enrollment is about 308 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

94.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

50.4%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian50.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien13.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino12.2%
  • Asian9.2%
  • Two or More Races6.5%
  • Black or African American5.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.8%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

69.77% 100% Completion Time

89.05% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 69.77% of students graduating from Smith College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Social Work: 12% male / 88% female
  • Research and Experimental Psychology, Other: 0% male / 100% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

512White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian512
  • Asian115
  • Hispanic or Latino111
  • Black or African American50
  • Two or More Races49
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Smith College graduates earn a median of $64,027 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Smith College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $64,027. Median federal loan debt: $17,550. Average net price used in cost models: $27,579.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Smith College graduates report median earnings of $64,027 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

480%Modeled return on investment
$17,550Median student debt
$64,027Median annual earnings (10 years)
27.41%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Smith College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (55 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 138
  2. English Language and Literature, General 46
  3. Computer Science 41
  4. Engineering Science 39
  5. Mathematics, General 28
  6. Neuroscience 25

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Smith College.

Employment Outcomes

$64,027Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$45,731Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$57,322Median earnings (8 years after entry)
51.10%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Smith College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Smith College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$2.47B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $2.47B

Year change: $2.4M

  • Massachusetts median 40× the median ($62.1M)
  • New England median 58× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 94× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $780,296

  • Massachusetts median 26× the median ($30,011)
  • New England median 34× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 64× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 87.0%
    • Massachusetts median 35.9 pp above median (51.1%)
    • New England median 33.7 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 29.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,076
    • Massachusetts median 1.4× the median ($9,649)
    • New England median 1.4× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $31,466
    • Massachusetts median 2.8× the median ($11,192)
    • New England median 3.1× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 4.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Smith College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Smith College

Northampton, MA 01063 · Private Non-profit · New England

Smith College is a private non-profit institution in Northampton, MA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$65,178
Avg. net price$27,579
Enrollment2,544
Acceptance rate21.00%
Completion (150%)89.05%
Average SAT1500
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Social WorkResearch and Experimental Psychology, OtherBiology/Biological Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian50.4%
Non-Resident Alien13.7%
Hispanic or Latino12.2%
Nearby

Schools near Smith College

Other campuses in Northampton, MA when available, plus nearby institutions in Massachusetts.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Massachusetts, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Smith College located?

Smith College is located in Northampton, MA.

What is Smith College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Smith College is 21.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 9,869 applicants and 1,947 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Smith College's tuition?

Smith College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $65,178 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $27,579 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Smith College cost?

Reported tuition is $65,178 and average net price is $27,579 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,570 annually.

Why is Smith College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Smith College, published tuition is $65,178 while average net price is $27,579—about 58% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Smith College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($27,579), completion (89.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($64,027). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Smith College?

Smith College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,657 students, White (50.4%), Non-Resident Alien (13.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Smith College?

About 18.5% of students at Smith College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Smith College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Smith College reports midpoint SAT about 1500 and midpoint ACT about 33.

What do graduates of Smith College earn?

Median earnings are $45,731 six years after entry and $64,027 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Smith College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 89.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Smith College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $17,550.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.