Active Report Report ID: EDU-164739-2026

Bentley University

Waltham, MA 02452-4705

Acceptance rate45.05%Selective
Tuition$61,000Published sticker
Avg. net price$37,930After aid
Graduation rate86.79%150% time
Median salary$120,95910yr post-entry

About Bentley University

Bentley University is a private research university in Waltham, Massachusetts, serving roughly 4,474 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 45.05% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $120,959 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Bentley University charges about 2.1× the national private non-profit median tuition ($61,000).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 1.8×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 86.79%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $120,959.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Bentley University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 697% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Bentley University$61,000$37,9301
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Massachusetts (state median)$34,256$12,24493
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 38% below published tuition at Bentley University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Bentley University's average net price ($37,930) is 38% below published tuition ($61,000).
  • Bentley University charges about 2.1× the national private non-profit median tuition ($61,000).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 1.8×.
Published sticker

Bentley University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $61,000

Finding Bentley University charges about 2.1× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $61,000. That is about 2.1× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Massachusetts median ($34,256), sticker tuition is about 1.8×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Bentley University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Bentley University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Bentley University is $37,930.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $37,930 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $25,686 above the Massachusetts median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $22,959 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Bentley University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 38% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Bentley University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Bentley University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$61,000

Avg. net price

$37,930

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$21,196
$30,001–$48,000$18,587
$48,001–$75,000$26,164
$75,001–$110,000$33,653
$110,001+$49,190

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $244,000. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention92.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$86,679Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 22% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1352
  • Midpoint ACT: 30

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Bentley University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Bentley University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Bentley University.

Campus

Location

Waltham, MA

City / state

ZIP
02452-4705
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 2.5× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

4,474

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,653
Graduate
807
Full-time share
99%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$25,023

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
16.07%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$151,720Estimated 4-year total cost
$37,930Average annual net price (after aid)
$244,0004-year tuition
$20,140Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$82,340Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$329,360Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Bentley University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

16.07% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
43.17% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Bentley University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Bentley University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$41,110$41,110$29,886
2014$42,511$42,511$31,616
2015$44,085$44,085$32,713
2016$45,760$45,760$34,207
2017$48,000$48,000$35,671
2018$49,880$49,880$36,919
2019$51,830$51,830$38,986
2020$53,790$53,790$41,334
2021$54,910$54,910$39,437
2022$56,500$56,500$39,699
2023$58,150$58,150$38,787

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

45.05%Acceptance rate
10,482Total applicants
5,077Students admitted
1,120First-time students enrolled
22.06%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1352SAT average
30ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.60Estimated median GPA
3.5–3.7Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Bentley University reported total enrollment of about 4,474 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 61% male and 39% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (52.5%), Non-Resident Alien (14.6%), and Hispanic or Latino (14.3%). About 16.07% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 15.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Bentley University in 2024 is 4,474 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,653 students. Graduate enrollment is about 807 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

92.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

52.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian52.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien14.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino14.3%
  • Asian10.0%
  • Black or African American4.5%
  • Two or More Races3.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

80.57% 100% Completion Time

86.79% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 80.57% of students graduating from Bentley University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Finance, General: 72% male / 28% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 48% male / 52% female
  • Marketing/Marketing Management, General: 36% male / 64% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

820White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian820
  • Asian150
  • Hispanic or Latino138
  • Black or African American59
  • Two or More Races41
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Bentley University graduates earn a median of $120,959 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Bentley University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $120,959. Median federal loan debt: $25,023. Average net price used in cost models: $37,930.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Bentley University graduates report median earnings of $120,959 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

697%Modeled return on investment
$25,023Median student debt
$120,959Median annual earnings (10 years)
20.69%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Bentley University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (30 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other 104
  2. Accounting 72
  3. Human Computer Interaction 42
  4. Financial Mathematics 38

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Bentley University.

Employment Outcomes

$120,959Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$86,679Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$102,857Median earnings (8 years after entry)
25.46%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Bentley University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Bentley University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$333.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $333.1M

Year change: $839,000

  • Massachusetts median 5.4× the median ($62.1M)
  • New England median 7.8× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 13× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $71,438

  • Massachusetts median 2.4× the median ($30,011)
  • New England median 3.1× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 5.9× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 66.7%
    • Massachusetts median 15.5 pp above median (51.1%)
    • New England median 13.4 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 8.7 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $15,847
    • Massachusetts median 1.6× the median ($9,649)
    • New England median 1.7× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $16,265
    • Massachusetts median 1.5× the median ($11,192)
    • New England median 1.6× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Bentley University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Bentley University

Waltham, MA 02452-4705 · Private Non-profit · New England

Bentley University is a private non-profit institution in Waltham, MA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$61,000
Avg. net price$37,930
Enrollment4,474
Acceptance rate45.05%
Completion (150%)86.79%
Average SAT1352
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Finance, GeneralBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralMarketing/Marketing Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian52.5%
Non-Resident Alien14.6%
Hispanic or Latino14.3%
Nearby

Schools near Bentley University

Other campuses in Waltham, MA when available, plus nearby institutions in Massachusetts.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Massachusetts, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Bentley University located?

Bentley University is located in Waltham, MA.

What is Bentley University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Bentley University is 45.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 10,482 applicants and 5,077 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Bentley University's tuition?

Bentley University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $61,000 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $37,930 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Bentley University cost?

Reported tuition is $61,000 and average net price is $37,930 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $20,140 annually.

Why is Bentley University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Bentley University, published tuition is $61,000 while average net price is $37,930—about 38% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Bentley University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($37,930), completion (86.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($120,959). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Bentley University?

Bentley University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,653 students, White (52.5%), Non-Resident Alien (14.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Bentley University?

About 15.6% of students at Bentley University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Bentley University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Bentley University reports midpoint SAT about 1352 and midpoint ACT about 30.

What do graduates of Bentley University earn?

Median earnings are $86,679 six years after entry and $120,959 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Bentley University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 86.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Bentley University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,023.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.