Active Report Report ID: EDU-139986-2026

Southern Crescent Technical College

Griffin, GA 30223-2042

Tuition$3,516Published sticker
Avg. net price$5,661After aid
Graduation rate58.28%150% time
Median salary$36,10410yr post-entry
ROI1,494%10yr vs net cost

About Southern Crescent Technical College

Southern Crescent Technical College is a public community college in Griffin, Georgia, serving roughly 4,098 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,661 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,516. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (56.0%) and White (29.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Southern Crescent Technical College charges 36% below the national public median tuition ($3,516).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Georgia median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 58.28%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,104.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Southern Crescent Technical College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1494% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Southern Crescent Technical College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 76 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Southern Crescent Technical College$3,516$5,6611
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Georgia (state median)$8,492$9,196117
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Southern Crescent Technical College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Southern Crescent Technical College charges 36% below the national public median tuition ($3,516).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Georgia median net price.
Published sticker

Southern Crescent Technical College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $3,516

Finding Southern Crescent Technical College charges 36% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $3,516. That is 36% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Georgia median ($8,492), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Southern Crescent Technical College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Southern Crescent Technical College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Southern Crescent Technical College is $5,661.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,661 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,536 below the Georgia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $9,310 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Southern Crescent Technical College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Southern Crescent Technical College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southern Crescent Technical College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$3,516

Out-of-state tuition

$6,084

Avg. net price

$5,661

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$4,265
$30,001–$48,000$5,034
$48,001–$75,000$8,589
$75,001–$110,000$9,872
$110,001+$14,117

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $14,064. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention62.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$30,708Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Southern Crescent Technical College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Southern Crescent Technical College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southern Crescent Technical College.

Campus

Location

Griffin, GA

City / state

ZIP
30223-2042
NCES locale
Town fringe

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.4× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

4,098

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
9,361
Full-time share
36%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
48.28%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$22,644Estimated 4-year total cost
$5,661Average annual net price (after aid)
$14,0644-year in-state tuition
$24,3364-year out-of-state tuition
$17,656Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,346Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$22,518Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$90,072Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southern Crescent Technical College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

48.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
10.35% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southern Crescent Technical College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southern Crescent Technical College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$4,593$8,418$9,577
2014$4,017$7,221$8,390
2015$4,122$7,326$8,313
2016$2,758$4,894$7,218
2017$2,840$4,974$6,781
2018$2,842$4,982$5,112
2019$3,126$5,526$5,568
2020$3,126$5,526$5,956
2021$3,126$5,526$7,412
2022$3,126$5,526$4,216
2023$3,126$5,526$4,652

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Southern Crescent Technical College reported total enrollment of about 4,098 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 31% male and 69% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (56.0%), White (29.8%), and Hispanic or Latino (8.0%). About 48.28% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

35.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Southern Crescent Technical College in 2024 is 4,098 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 9,361 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

62.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

56.0%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American56.0%
  • White or Caucasian29.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino8.0%
  • Two or More Races3.9%
  • Asian1.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

37.59% 100% Completion Time

58.28% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 37.59% of students graduating from Southern Crescent Technical College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other: 24% male / 76% female
  • Professional, Technical, Business, and Scientific Writing: 11% male / 89% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 27% male / 73% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

2,080Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American2,080
  • White or Caucasian1,560
  • Hispanic or Latino339
  • Two or More Races136
  • Asian83
  • American Indian or Alaska Native6
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander6

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Southern Crescent Technical College graduates earn a median of $36,104 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southern Crescent Technical College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,104. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $5,661.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Southern Crescent Technical College graduates report median earnings of $36,104 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,494%Modeled return on investment
$9,500Median student debt
$36,104Median annual earnings (10 years)
26.31%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southern Crescent Technical College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (76 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Professional, Technical, Business, and Scientific Writing 298

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southern Crescent Technical College.

Employment Outcomes

$36,104Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$30,708Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$34,147Median earnings (8 years after entry)
80.71%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southern Crescent Technical College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southern Crescent Technical College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,444
    • Georgia median 0.88× the median ($6,152)
    • Southeast median 0.80× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.71× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,273
    • Georgia median 0.74× the median ($5,760)
    • Southeast median 0.65× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.59× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Southern Crescent Technical College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Southern Crescent Technical College

Griffin, GA 30223-2042 · Public · Southeast

Southern Crescent Technical College is a public institution in Griffin, GA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.

Tuition$3,516
Avg. net price$5,661
Enrollment4,098
Completion (150%)58.28%
Pell Grant share48.28%
First-generation49.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, OtherProfessional, Technical, Business, and Scientific WritingBusiness Administration and Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American56.0%
White or Caucasian29.8%
Hispanic or Latino8.0%
Nearby

Schools near Southern Crescent Technical College

Other campuses in Griffin, GA when available, plus nearby institutions in Georgia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Georgia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Southern Crescent Technical College located?

Southern Crescent Technical College is located in Griffin, GA.

What is Southern Crescent Technical College's tuition?

Southern Crescent Technical College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,516 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,661 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Southern Crescent Technical College cost?

Reported tuition is $3,516 and average net price is $5,661 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,656 annually.

What explains Southern Crescent Technical College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,661), completion (58.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,104). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Southern Crescent Technical College?

Southern Crescent Technical College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 9,361 students, Black or African American (56.0%), White (29.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Southern Crescent Technical College?

About 49.3% of students at Southern Crescent Technical College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Southern Crescent Technical College earn?

Median earnings are $30,708 six years after entry and $36,104 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Southern Crescent Technical College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 58.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Southern Crescent Technical College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.

Is Southern Crescent Technical College public or private?

Southern Crescent Technical College is a public institution located in Griffin, GA.

Is Southern Crescent Technical College an HBCU?

No. Southern Crescent Technical College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Southern Crescent Technical College a tribal college?

No. Southern Crescent Technical College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.