Active Report Report ID: EDU-218830-2026

Spartanburg Community College

Spartanburg, SC 29303

Tuition$5,071Published sticker
Avg. net price$2,405After aid
Graduation rate28.24%150% time
Median salary$37,09710yr post-entry
ROI3,756%10yr vs net cost

About Spartanburg Community College

Spartanburg Community College is a public community college in Spartanburg, South Carolina, serving roughly 5,006 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $2,405 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,071. Student demographics in federal data include White (52.1%) and Black or African American (25.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Spartanburg Community College charges 8% below the national public median tuition ($5,071).
  • Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the South Carolina median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 28.24%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,097.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Spartanburg Community College is about 53% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $5,071; average net price is $2,405 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Spartanburg Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 3756% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Spartanburg Community College$5,071$2,4051
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
South Carolina (state median)$12,978$11,37663
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 53% below published tuition at Spartanburg Community College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Spartanburg Community College's average net price ($2,405) is 53% below published tuition ($5,071).
  • Spartanburg Community College charges 8% below the national public median tuition ($5,071).
  • Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the South Carolina median net price.
Published sticker

Spartanburg Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,071

Finding Spartanburg Community College charges 8% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,071. That is 8% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the South Carolina median ($12,978), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Spartanburg Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Spartanburg Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Spartanburg Community College is $2,405.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,405 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,971 below the South Carolina median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $16,295 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Spartanburg Community College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 53% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Spartanburg Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Spartanburg Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,071

Out-of-state tuition

$10,135

Avg. net price

$2,405

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$2,669
$30,001–$48,000$1,595
$48,001–$75,000$2,132
$75,001–$110,000$3,583
$110,001+$6,046

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $20,284. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention63.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,460Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Spartanburg Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Spartanburg Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 53% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Spartanburg Community College.

Campus

Location

Spartanburg, SC

City / state

ZIP
29303
NCES locale
Rural distant

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.1× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

5,006

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
8,788
Full-time share
43%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$6,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
41.22%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$9,620Estimated 4-year total cost
$2,405Average annual net price (after aid)
$20,2844-year in-state tuition
$40,5404-year out-of-state tuition
$6,070Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$954Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$12,095Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$48,380Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Spartanburg Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

41.22% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
4.38% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Spartanburg Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Spartanburg Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,880$7,844$4,542
2014$3,940$7,956$4,838
2015$4,192$8,472$2,226
2016$4,300$8,692$2,107
2017$4,494$9,006$1,497
2018$4,662$9,342$3,860
2019$4,782$9,582$2,804
2020$4,902$9,822$3,177
2021$4,902$9,822$2,565
2022$4,902$9,822$5,616
2023$5,046$10,110$6,531

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Spartanburg Community College reported total enrollment of about 5,006 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 36% male and 64% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (52.1%), Black or African American (25.3%), and Hispanic or Latino (13.1%). About 41.22% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 48.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

43.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Spartanburg Community College in 2024 is 5,006 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 8,788 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

63.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

52.1%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian52.1%
  • Black or African American25.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino13.1%
  • Two or More Races5.2%
  • Asian2.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

18.71% 100% Completion Time

28.24% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 18.71% of students graduating from Spartanburg Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 29% male / 71% female
  • Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Other: 92% male / 8% female
  • Data Processing and Data Processing Technology/Technician: 67% male / 33% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,022White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,022
  • Black or African American245
  • Hispanic or Latino155
  • Two or More Races77
  • Asian62
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Spartanburg Community College graduates earn a median of $37,097 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Spartanburg Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $37,097. Median federal loan debt: $6,500. Average net price used in cost models: $2,405.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Spartanburg Community College graduates report median earnings of $37,097 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

3,756%Modeled return on investment
$6,500Median student debt
$37,097Median annual earnings (10 years)
17.52%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Spartanburg Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (38 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Other 176
  2. Data Processing and Data Processing Technology/Technician 100
  3. Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 72

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Spartanburg Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$37,097Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,460Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$35,589Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.88%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Spartanburg Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Spartanburg Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$7.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $7.6M

Year change: $266,408

  • South Carolina median 0.62× the median ($12.8M)
  • Southeast median 0.41× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.30× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,753

  • South Carolina median 0.25× the median ($7,041)
  • Southeast median 0.19× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.14× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 40.1%
    • South Carolina median 20.7 pp below median (60.7%)
    • Southeast median 19.4 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 17.9 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,461
    • South Carolina median 0.95× the median ($6,831)
    • Southeast median 0.95× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.85× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,438
    • South Carolina median 0.92× the median ($8,125)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Spartanburg Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Spartanburg Community College

Spartanburg, SC 29303 · Public · Southeast

Spartanburg Community College is a public institution in Spartanburg, SC, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.

Tuition$5,071
Avg. net price$2,405
Enrollment5,006
Completion (150%)28.24%
Pell Grant share41.22%
First-generation48.4%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesElectromechanical Technologies/Technicians, OtherData Processing and Data Processing Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian52.1%
Black or African American25.3%
Hispanic or Latino13.1%
Nearby

Schools near Spartanburg Community College

Other campuses in Spartanburg, SC when available, plus nearby institutions in South Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within South Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Spartanburg Community College located?

Spartanburg Community College is located in Spartanburg, SC.

What is Spartanburg Community College's tuition?

Spartanburg Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,071 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $2,405 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Spartanburg Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,071 and average net price is $2,405 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $6,070 annually.

Why is Spartanburg Community College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Spartanburg Community College, published tuition is $5,071 while average net price is $2,405—about 53% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Spartanburg Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($2,405), completion (28.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($37,097). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Spartanburg Community College?

Spartanburg Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 8,788 students, White (52.1%), Black or African American (25.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Spartanburg Community College?

About 48.4% of students at Spartanburg Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Spartanburg Community College earn?

Median earnings are $33,460 six years after entry and $37,097 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Spartanburg Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 28.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Spartanburg Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,500.

Is Spartanburg Community College public or private?

Spartanburg Community College is a public institution located in Spartanburg, SC.

Is Spartanburg Community College an HBCU?

No. Spartanburg Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.