St. Mary's University
San Antonio, TX 78228
About St. Mary's University
St. Mary's University is a private research university in San Antonio, Texas, enrolling about 1,951 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 97.76% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data.
Key findings
- St. Mary's University charges 28% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($37,434).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 3.8×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 58.93%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $56,955.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at St. Mary's University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 573% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
St. Mary's University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 52 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Mary's University | $37,434 | $21,145 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 44% below published tuition at St. Mary's University
Key findings
- St. Mary's University's average net price ($21,145) is 44% below published tuition ($37,434).
- St. Mary's University charges 28% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($37,434).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 3.8×.
St. Mary's University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $37,434
Finding St. Mary's University charges 28% above the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $37,434. That is 28% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 3.8×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.1×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at St. Mary's University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at St. Mary's University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at St. Mary's University is $21,145.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $21,145 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $13,114 above the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $1,092 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway St. Mary's University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 44% lower after grants and scholarships.
St. Mary's University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for St. Mary's University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$37,434
Avg. net price
$21,145
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $18,352 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $21,470 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $20,553 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $22,331 |
| $110,001+ | $24,649 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $149,736. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What St. Mary's University is known for
Top program completions
- Law240
- Business Administration and Management, General74
- American/U.S. Law/Legal Studies/Jurisprudence41
- Mental Health Counseling/Counselor36
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General35
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 11% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1089
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is St. Mary's University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
St. Mary's University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for St. Mary's University.
Campus
Location
San Antonio, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 78228
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 5% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
1,951
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,257
- Graduate
- 1,307
- Full-time share
- 97%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$25,563
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 38.61%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for St. Mary's University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at St. Mary's University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for St. Mary's University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $25,126 | $25,126 | $18,791 |
| 2014 | $26,186 | $26,186 | $18,059 |
| 2015 | $27,160 | $27,160 | $17,691 |
| 2016 | $28,200 | $28,200 | $16,947 |
| 2017 | $29,300 | $29,300 | $17,522 |
| 2018 | $30,650 | $30,650 | $17,850 |
| 2019 | $32,140 | $32,140 | $19,276 |
| 2020 | $33,720 | $33,720 | $18,658 |
| 2021 | $34,564 | $34,564 | $17,120 |
| 2022 | $35,226 | $35,226 | $21,798 |
| 2023 | $36,242 | $36,242 | $21,352 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1089 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
St. Mary's University reported total enrollment of about 1,951 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (53.5%), Race/ethnicity unknown (23.6%), and White (10.3%). About 38.61% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 38.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
97.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at St. Mary's University in 2024 is 1,951 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,257 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,307 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
73.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
48.90% 100% Completion Time
58.93% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 48.90% of students graduating from St. Mary's University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Law: 42% male / 58% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 58% male / 42% female
- American/U.S. Law/Legal Studies/Jurisprudence: 46% male / 54% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
St. Mary's University graduates earn a median of $56,955 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of St. Mary's University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $56,955. Median federal loan debt: $25,563. Average net price used in cost models: $21,145.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway St. Mary's University graduates report median earnings of $56,955 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for St. Mary's University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (52 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at St. Mary's University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for St. Mary's University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for St. Mary's University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$235.4M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 6.6× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median 10× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 8.9× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 5.5× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 7.1× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 5.9× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 63.3%
- Texas median 3.3 pp above median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 3.6 pp above median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 5.4 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,724
- Texas median 1.5× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 1.5× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $13,146
- Texas median 2.6× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 2.3× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
St. Mary's University at a glance
St. Mary's University
St. Mary's University is a private non-profit institution in San Antonio, TX, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- LawBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralAmerican/U.S. Law/Legal Studies/Jurisprudence
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino53.5%Race/ethnicity unknown23.6%White or Caucasian10.3%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near St. Mary's University
Other campuses in San Antonio, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is St. Mary's University located?
St. Mary's University is located in San Antonio, TX.
What is St. Mary's University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at St. Mary's University is 97.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,203 applicants and 4,628 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is St. Mary's University's tuition?
St. Mary's University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $37,434 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $21,145 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does St. Mary's University cost?
Reported tuition is $37,434 and average net price is $21,145 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,894 annually.
Why is St. Mary's University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At St. Mary's University, published tuition is $37,434 while average net price is $21,145—about 44% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains St. Mary's University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($21,145), completion (58.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($56,955). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at St. Mary's University?
St. Mary's University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,257 students, Hispanic or Latino (53.5%), Race/ethnicity unknown (23.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend St. Mary's University?
About 38.7% of students at St. Mary's University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for St. Mary's University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, St. Mary's University reports midpoint SAT about 1089.
What do graduates of St. Mary's University earn?
Median earnings are $44,130 six years after entry and $56,955 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at St. Mary's University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 58.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do St. Mary's University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,563.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.