Active Report Report ID: EDU-434496-2026

Strand College of Hair Design

Myrtle Beach, SC 29572

Avg. net price$9,998After aid
Graduation rate75.00%150% time
Median salary$21,30110yr post-entry
ROI433%10yr vs net cost

About Strand College of Hair Design

Strand College of Hair Design is a private for-profit trade school in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, enrolling about 70 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 75.00% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $21,301 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 75.00%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $21,301.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Strand College of Hair Design is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 433% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Strand College of Hair Design$9,9981
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
South Carolina (state median)$12,978$11,37663
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Strand College of Hair Design really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Average net price runs below the South Carolina median net price.

Evidence: average net price at Strand College of Hair Design versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Strand College of Hair Design is $9,998.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,998 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,378 below the South Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $4,973 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Strand College of Hair Design: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Strand College of Hair Design—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$9,998

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,650
$30,001–$48,000$8,617
$48,001–$75,000$10,720
$75,001–$110,000$13,681
$110,001+$13,811

Student outcomes

First-year retention82.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$25,974Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Strand College of Hair Design a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Strand College of Hair Design is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Strand College of Hair Design.

Campus

Location

Myrtle Beach, SC

City / state

ZIP
29572
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 33% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southeast

Size

Enrollment

70

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
109
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$6,333

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
37.33%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$39,992Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,998Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Strand College of Hair Design.

Financial Aid by Income Level

37.33% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
36.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Strand College of Hair Design was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Strand College of Hair Design in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$12,243
2014$11,076
2015$12,275
2016$11,407
2017$11,989
2018$12,319
2019$12,433
2020$12,643
2021$11,960
2022$10,522
2023$11,077

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Strand College of Hair Design reported total enrollment of about 70 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 1% male and 99% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (72.9%), Black or African American (15.7%), and Two or More Races (4.3%). About 37.33% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Strand College of Hair Design in 2024 is 70 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 109 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

82.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

72.9%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian72.9%
  • Black or African American15.7%
  • Two or More Races4.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.9%
  • Asian1.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

75.00% 100% Completion Time

75.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 75.00% of students graduating from Strand College of Hair Design completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist: 0% male / 100% female
  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 4% male / 96% female
  • Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage: 22% male / 78% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

47White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian47
  • Black or African American9
  • Hispanic or Latino9
  • Asian3
  • Two or More Races2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Strand College of Hair Design graduates earn a median of $21,301 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Strand College of Hair Design.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $21,301. Median federal loan debt: $6,333. Average net price used in cost models: $9,998.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Strand College of Hair Design graduates report median earnings of $21,301 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

433%Modeled return on investment
$6,333Median student debt
$21,301Median annual earnings (10 years)
29.73%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Strand College of Hair Design.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Strand College of Hair Design.

Employment Outcomes

$21,301Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$25,974Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$17,359Median earnings (8 years after entry)
78.05%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Strand College of Hair Design graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Strand College of Hair Design—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,674
    • South Carolina median 0.70× the median ($8,125)
    • Southeast median 0.86× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.78× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Strand College of Hair Design at a glance

Institution snapshot

Strand College of Hair Design

Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 · Private For-profit · Southeast

Strand College of Hair Design is a private for-profit institution in Myrtle Beach, SC.

Avg. net price$9,998
Enrollment70
Completion (150%)75.00%
Pell Grant share37.33%
First-generation46.5%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care SpecialistCosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralMassage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian72.9%
Black or African American15.7%
Two or More Races4.3%
Nearby

Schools near Strand College of Hair Design

Other campuses in Myrtle Beach, SC when available, plus nearby institutions in South Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within South Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Strand College of Hair Design located?

Strand College of Hair Design is located in Myrtle Beach, SC.

How much does Strand College of Hair Design cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $9,998 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Strand College of Hair Design's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,998), completion (75.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($21,301). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Strand College of Hair Design?

Strand College of Hair Design reports undergraduate enrollment of about 109 students, White (72.9%), Black or African American (15.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Strand College of Hair Design?

About 46.5% of students at Strand College of Hair Design are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Strand College of Hair Design earn?

Median earnings are $25,974 six years after entry and $21,301 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Strand College of Hair Design?

The 150%-time completion rate is 75.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Strand College of Hair Design students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,333.

Is Strand College of Hair Design public or private?

Strand College of Hair Design is a private for-profit institution located in Myrtle Beach, SC.

Is Strand College of Hair Design an HBCU?

No. Strand College of Hair Design is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Strand College of Hair Design a tribal college?

No. Strand College of Hair Design is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Strand College of Hair Design a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Strand College of Hair Design does not meet that proxy (reported share 2.9%).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.