Active Report Report ID: EDU-400080-2026

Summit College

San Bernardino, CA 92408

Avg. net price$29,926After aid
Graduation rate62.16%150% time
Median salary$40,18710yr post-entry
ROI236%10yr vs net cost

About Summit College

Summit College is a private for-profit trade school in San Bernardino, California, enrolling about 989 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 62.16% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,187 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,187.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Summit College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 236% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Summit College$29,9261
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Summit College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Summit College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Summit College is $29,926.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $29,926 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $21,583 above the California median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $11,878 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Summit College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Summit College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$29,926

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$30,066
$30,001–$48,000$28,829
$48,001–$75,000$28,347
$75,001–$110,000$30,392
$110,001+$33,137

Student outcomes

First-year retention80.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$43,362Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Summit College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Summit College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Summit College.

Campus

Location

San Bernardino, CA

City / state

ZIP
92408
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 66% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Far West

Size

Enrollment

989

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,476
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$7,600

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
68.99%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$119,704Estimated 4-year total cost
$29,926Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Summit College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

68.99% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
60.54% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Summit College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Summit College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$20,366
2014$21,247
2015$23,296
2016$23,997
2017$23,154
2018$22,990
2019$24,777
2020$30,271
2021$31,028
2022$29,771
2023$24,161

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Summit College reported total enrollment of about 989 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 77% male and 23% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (58.1%), White (16.6%), and Black or African American (16.5%). About 68.99% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 57.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Summit College in 2024 is 989 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,476 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

80.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

58.1%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino58.1%
  • White or Caucasian16.6%
  • Black or African American16.5%
  • Asian5.2%
  • Two or More Races2.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

42.29% 100% Completion Time

62.16% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 42.29% of students graduating from Summit College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Electrician: 98% male / 2% female
  • Welding Technology/Welder: 91% male / 9% female
  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other: 25% male / 75% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

510Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino510
  • White or Caucasian154
  • Black or African American82
  • Two or More Races56
  • Asian18
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander11
  • American Indian or Alaska Native4

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Summit College graduates earn a median of $40,187 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Summit College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,187. Median federal loan debt: $7,600. Average net price used in cost models: $29,926.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Summit College graduates report median earnings of $40,187 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

236%Modeled return on investment
$7,600Median student debt
$40,187Median annual earnings (10 years)
18.91%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Summit College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 7 programs by IPEDS completions (8 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electrician 313
  2. Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other 166
  3. Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services, Other 10

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Summit College.

Employment Outcomes

$40,187Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$43,362Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,244Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.90%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Summit College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Summit College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,512
    • California median 0.54× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.50× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.48× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Summit College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Summit College

San Bernardino, CA 92408 · Private For-profit · Far West

Summit College is a private for-profit institution in San Bernardino, CA.

Avg. net price$29,926
Enrollment989
Completion (150%)62.16%
Pell Grant share68.99%
First-generation57.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
ElectricianWelding Technology/WelderPractical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino58.1%
White or Caucasian16.6%
Black or African American16.5%
Nearby

Schools near Summit College

Other campuses in San Bernardino, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Summit College located?

Summit College is located in San Bernardino, CA.

How much does Summit College cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $29,926 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Summit College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($29,926), completion (62.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,187). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Summit College?

Summit College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,476 students, Hispanic or Latino (58.1%), White (16.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Summit College?

About 57.0% of students at Summit College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Summit College earn?

Median earnings are $43,362 six years after entry and $40,187 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Summit College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 62.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Summit College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $7,600.

Is Summit College public or private?

Summit College is a private for-profit institution located in San Bernardino, CA.

Is Summit College an HBCU?

No. Summit College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Summit College a tribal college?

No. Summit College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Summit College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Summit College reports 58.1% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.