Active Report Report ID: EDU-196121-2026

SUNY Brockport

Brockport, NY 14420-2919

Acceptance rate70.68%Broad access
Tuition$8,752Published sticker
Avg. net price$16,353After aid
Graduation rate55.13%150% time
Median salary$54,49610yr post-entry

About SUNY Brockport

SUNY Brockport is a public research university in Brockport, New York, serving roughly 5,784 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 70.68% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $54,496 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • SUNY Brockport charges 59% above the national public median tuition ($8,752).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 37% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 55.13%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $54,496.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at SUNY Brockport is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 733% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

SUNY Brockport awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 74 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
SUNY Brockport$8,752$16,3531
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New York (state median)$13,810$9,373272
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is SUNY Brockport really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • SUNY Brockport charges 59% above the national public median tuition ($8,752).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 37% below.
Published sticker

SUNY Brockport tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $8,752

Finding SUNY Brockport charges 59% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $8,752. That is 59% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is 37% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 26% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at SUNY Brockport versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at SUNY Brockport versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at SUNY Brockport is $16,353.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,353 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,980 above the New York median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,382 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At SUNY Brockport, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

SUNY Brockport: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for SUNY Brockport—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$8,752

Out-of-state tuition

$15,822

Avg. net price

$16,353

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$10,911
$30,001–$48,000$12,699
$48,001–$75,000$16,609
$75,001–$110,000$17,818
$110,001+$20,625

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $35,008. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention71.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$47,164Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 16% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1193
  • Midpoint ACT: 26

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is SUNY Brockport a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

SUNY Brockport is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for SUNY Brockport.

Campus

Location

Brockport, NY

City / state

ZIP
14420-2919
NCES locale
Town fringe

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 9% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

5,784

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
6,615
Graduate
1,666
Full-time share
91%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
40.19%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$65,412Estimated 4-year total cost
$16,353Average annual net price (after aid)
$35,0084-year in-state tuition
$63,2884-year out-of-state tuition
$16,418Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$890Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$26,060Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$104,240Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for SUNY Brockport.

Financial Aid by Income Level

40.19% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
60.01% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at SUNY Brockport was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for SUNY Brockport in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,222$16,672$14,612
2014$7,562$17,212$14,949
2015$7,904$17,254$15,165
2016$7,928$17,778$15,305
2017$8,154$17,804$16,211
2018$8,412$18,192$15,837
2019$8,680$18,590$15,882
2020$8,624$18,534$16,532
2021$8,678$18,588$16,720
2022$8,620$18,530$16,738
2023$8,678$15,748$15,844

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

70.68%Acceptance rate
10,855Total applicants
7,738Students admitted
1,267First-time students enrolled
16.37%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1193SAT average
26ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

SUNY Brockport reported total enrollment of about 5,784 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 42% male and 58% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (68.3%), Black or African American (11.7%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.8%). About 40.19% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 31.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

90.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at SUNY Brockport in 2024 is 5,784 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 6,615 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,666 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

71.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

68.3%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian68.3%
  • Black or African American11.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.4%
  • Asian2.3%
  • Two or More Races2.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

41.17% 100% Completion Time

55.13% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 41.17% of students graduating from SUNY Brockport completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 13% male / 87% female
  • Social Work: 22% male / 78% female
  • Psychology, General: 18% male / 82% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,387White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,387
  • Black or African American188
  • Hispanic or Latino143
  • Two or More Races52
  • Asian51
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

SUNY Brockport graduates earn a median of $54,496 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of SUNY Brockport.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $54,496. Median federal loan debt: $20,000. Average net price used in cost models: $16,353.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway SUNY Brockport graduates report median earnings of $54,496 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

733%Modeled return on investment
$20,000Median student debt
$54,496Median annual earnings (10 years)
36.70%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for SUNY Brockport.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (74 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 125
  2. Physical Education Teaching and Coaching 95
  3. Health Teacher Education 66

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at SUNY Brockport.

Employment Outcomes

$54,496Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$47,164Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$51,404Median earnings (8 years after entry)
42.97%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for SUNY Brockport graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for SUNY Brockport—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$24.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $21.9M

Year change: $2.5M

  • New York median 0.64× the median ($38.1M)
  • Mid East median 0.57× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 0.92× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $4,274

  • New York median 0.28× the median ($15,424)
  • Mid East median 0.26× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 0.35× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 53.4%
    • New York median 0.4 pp below median (53.8%)
    • Mid East median 3.5 pp below median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 4.6 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,645
    • New York median 1.1× the median ($8,068)
    • Mid East median 1.1× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $14,329
    • New York median 1.3× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 1.6× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 2.0× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

SUNY Brockport at a glance

Institution snapshot

SUNY Brockport

Brockport, NY 14420-2919 · Public · Mid East

SUNY Brockport is a public institution in Brockport, NY, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$8,752
Avg. net price$16,353
Enrollment5,784
Acceptance rate70.68%
Completion (150%)55.13%
Average SAT1193
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseSocial WorkPsychology, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian68.3%
Black or African American11.7%
Hispanic or Latino9.8%
Nearby

Schools near SUNY Brockport

Other campuses in Brockport, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is SUNY Brockport located?

SUNY Brockport is located in Brockport, NY.

What is SUNY Brockport's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at SUNY Brockport is 70.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 10,855 applicants and 7,738 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is SUNY Brockport's tuition?

SUNY Brockport tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,752 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,353 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does SUNY Brockport cost?

Reported tuition is $8,752 and average net price is $16,353 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,418 annually.

What explains SUNY Brockport's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,353), completion (55.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($54,496). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at SUNY Brockport?

SUNY Brockport reports undergraduate enrollment of about 6,615 students, White (68.3%), Black or African American (11.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend SUNY Brockport?

About 31.5% of students at SUNY Brockport are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for SUNY Brockport?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, SUNY Brockport reports midpoint SAT about 1193 and midpoint ACT about 26.

What do graduates of SUNY Brockport earn?

Median earnings are $47,164 six years after entry and $54,496 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at SUNY Brockport?

The 150%-time completion rate is 55.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do SUNY Brockport students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,000.

Is SUNY Brockport public or private?

SUNY Brockport is a public institution located in Brockport, NY.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.