Texas A&M University-College Station
College Station, TX 77843-1246
About Texas A&M University-College Station
Texas A&M University-College Station (Texas A&M) is a public research university in College Station, Texas, enrolling about 59,615 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 57.43% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $72,097 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Texas A&M University-College Station charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition ($13,154).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is 32% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 83.91%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $72,097.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Texas A&M University-College Station is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 746% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Texas A&M University-College Station awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 234 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas A&M University-College Station | $13,154 | $21,315 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Texas A&M University-College Station really?
Key findings
- Texas A&M University-College Station charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition ($13,154).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is 32% above.
Texas A&M University-College Station tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $13,154
Finding Texas A&M University-College Station charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $13,154. That is about 2.4× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is 32% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 11% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Texas A&M University-College Station versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Texas A&M University-College Station versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Texas A&M University-College Station is $21,315.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $21,315 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $13,284 above the Texas median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $3,267 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Texas A&M University-College Station, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Texas A&M University-College Station: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Texas A&M University-College Station—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$13,154
Out-of-state tuition
$40,124
Avg. net price
$21,315
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $12,784 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $13,317 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $17,435 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $26,520 |
| $110,001+ | $30,660 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $52,616. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Texas A&M University-College Station is known for
Top program completions
- Biomedical Sciences, General685
- Mechanical Engineering668
- Communication and Media Studies648
- Industrial Engineering618
- Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other616
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
- Yield: 43% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1280
- Midpoint ACT: 28
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Texas A&M University-College Station a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Texas A&M University-College Station is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Texas A&M University-College Station.
Campus
Location
College Station, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 77843-1246
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 18% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
59,615
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 63,121
- Graduate
- 17,611
- Full-time share
- 90%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$17,804
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 19.64%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Texas A&M University-College Station.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Texas A&M University-College Station was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Texas A&M University-College Station in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $8,506 | $25,126 | $10,912 |
| 2014 | $9,685 | $26,583 | $11,315 |
| 2015 | $10,176 | $28,768 | $13,426 |
| 2016 | $11,036 | $31,214 | $15,440 |
| 2017 | $11,234 | $36,606 | $20,282 |
| 2018 | $11,870 | $37,495 | $18,944 |
| 2019 | $12,153 | $38,602 | $19,057 |
| 2020 | $12,783 | $39,340 | $18,919 |
| 2021 | $13,239 | $40,134 | $20,976 |
| 2022 | $13,239 | $40,139 | $20,257 |
| 2023 | $13,099 | $40,328 | $20,924 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1280 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 28 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.40
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Texas A&M University-College Station reported total enrollment of about 59,615 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 53% male and 47% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (52.4%), Hispanic or Latino (25.6%), and Asian (13.7%). About 19.64% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 30.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
89.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Texas A&M University-College Station in 2024 is 59,615 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 63,121 students. Graduate enrollment is about 17,611 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
94.3%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
61.15% 100% Completion Time
83.91% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 61.15% of students graduating from Texas A&M University-College Station completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Biomedical Sciences, General: 31% male / 69% female
- Mechanical Engineering: 83% male / 17% female
- Communication and Media Studies: 18% male / 82% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Texas A&M University-College Station graduates earn a median of $72,097 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Texas A&M University-College Station.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $72,097. Median federal loan debt: $17,804. Average net price used in cost models: $21,315.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Texas A&M University-College Station graduates report median earnings of $72,097 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Texas A&M University-College Station.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (234 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Texas A&M University-College Station.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Texas A&M University-College Station graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Texas A&M University-College Station—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$18.13B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 506× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median 781× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 687× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 21× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 28× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 23× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 88.8%
- Texas median 28.8 pp above median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 29.1 pp above median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 30.9 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $14,776
- Texas median 2.1× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 2.1× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $19,596
- Texas median 3.9× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 3.4× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 2.7× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Texas A&M University-College Station at a glance
Texas A&M University-College Station
Texas A&M University-College Station is a public institution in College Station, TX, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Biomedical Sciences, GeneralMechanical EngineeringCommunication and Media Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian52.4%Hispanic or Latino25.6%Asian13.7%
Schools near Texas A&M University-College Station
Other campuses in College Station, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Texas A&M located?
Texas A&M University-College Station is located in College Station, TX. The institution is also known as Texas A&M.
What is Texas A&M's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Texas A&M University-College Station (Texas A&M) is 57.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 50,832 applicants and 32,149 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Texas A&M's tuition?
Texas A&M University-College Station tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $13,154 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $21,315 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Texas A&M cost?
Reported tuition is $13,154 and average net price is $21,315 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,008 annually.
What explains Texas A&M's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($21,315), completion (83.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($72,097). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Texas A&M?
Texas A&M University-College Station reports undergraduate enrollment of about 63,121 students, White (52.4%), Hispanic or Latino (25.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Texas A&M?
About 30.0% of students at Texas A&M University-College Station are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Texas A&M University-College Station?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Texas A&M University-College Station reports midpoint SAT about 1280 and midpoint ACT about 28.
What do graduates of Texas A&M University-College Station earn?
Median earnings are $59,386 six years after entry and $72,097 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Texas A&M University-College Station?
The 150%-time completion rate is 83.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Texas A&M University-College Station students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $17,804.
Is Texas A&M University-College Station public or private?
Texas A&M University-College Station is a public institution located in College Station, TX.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Texas college profile
- Texas college costs
- Texas colleges by ROI
- The University of Texas at Austin vs Texas A&M University-College Station vs The University of Texas at Arlington
- Southwest regional profile
- Suburban college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Texas
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.