Active Report Report ID: EDU-227377-2026

Texas Southmost College

Brownsville, TX 78520

Tuition$3,148Published sticker
Avg. net price$3,085After aid
Graduation rate29.84%150% time
Median salary$41,90010yr post-entry
ROI3,295%10yr vs net cost

About Texas Southmost College

Texas Southmost College is a public community college in Brownsville, Texas, serving roughly 3,372 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $3,085 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,148. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (92.8%) and Race/ethnicity unknown (4.1%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Texas Southmost College charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,148).
  • Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 29.84%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,900.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Texas Southmost College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 3295% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Texas Southmost College$3,148$3,0851
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Texas (state median)$9,940$8,031184
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 2% below published tuition at Texas Southmost College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Texas Southmost College's average net price ($3,085) is 2% below published tuition ($3,148).
  • Texas Southmost College charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,148).
  • Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
Published sticker

Texas Southmost College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $3,148

Finding Texas Southmost College charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $3,148. That is about 0.6× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Texas Southmost College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Texas Southmost College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Texas Southmost College is $3,085.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $3,085 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,946 below the Texas median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $14,963 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Texas Southmost College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 2% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Texas Southmost College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Texas Southmost College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$3,148

Out-of-state tuition

$4,948

Avg. net price

$3,085

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$1,696
$30,001–$48,000$3,295
$48,001–$75,000$6,051
$75,001–$110,000$10,002
$110,001+$10,999

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $12,592. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention67.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,992Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Texas Southmost College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Texas Southmost College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Texas Southmost College.

Campus

Location

Brownsville, TX

City / state

ZIP
78520
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

3,372

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
12,630
Full-time share
47%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
28.42%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$12,340Estimated 4-year total cost
$3,085Average annual net price (after aid)
$12,5924-year in-state tuition
$19,7924-year out-of-state tuition
$12,801Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,470Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$17,419Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$69,676Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Texas Southmost College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

28.42% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
6.29% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Texas Southmost College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Texas Southmost College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$5,372$14,834$7,793
2014$5,282$14,744$6,425
2015$3,198$5,598$2,889
2016$3,198$5,598$4,413
2017$3,198$5,598$4,453
2018$3,198$5,598$4,863
2019$3,148$4,948$5,175
2020$3,148$4,948$3,896
2021$3,148$4,948$4,661
2022$3,148$4,948$5,143
2023$3,148$4,948$5,458

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Texas Southmost College reported total enrollment of about 3,372 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (92.8%), Race/ethnicity unknown (4.1%), and White (1.9%). About 28.42% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 56.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

47.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Texas Southmost College in 2024 is 3,372 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 12,630 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

67.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

92.8%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino92.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown4.1%
  • White or Caucasian1.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.6%
  • Asian0.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Black or African American0.1%
  • Two or More Races0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

11.19% 100% Completion Time

29.84% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 11.19% of students graduating from Texas Southmost College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • General Studies: 36% male / 64% female
  • Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 43% male / 57% female
  • Criminal Justice/Police Science: 86% male / 14% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,354Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino1,354
  • White or Caucasian30
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Asian2
  • Two or More Races1
  • Black or African American0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Texas Southmost College graduates earn a median of $41,900 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Texas Southmost College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,900. Median federal loan debt: $9,000. Average net price used in cost models: $3,085.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Texas Southmost College graduates report median earnings of $41,900 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

3,295%Modeled return on investment
$9,000Median student debt
$41,900Median annual earnings (10 years)
21.48%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Texas Southmost College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (37 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Building/Construction Site Management/Manager 46
  2. Social Work 35
  3. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 30

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Texas Southmost College.

Employment Outcomes

$41,900Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,992Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$37,377Median earnings (8 years after entry)
88.57%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Texas Southmost College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Texas Southmost College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$181,778

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $169,698

Year change: $12,080

  • Texas median 0.01× the median ($35.8M)
  • Southwest median 0.01× the median ($23.2M)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $42

  • Texas median 0.00× the median ($13,085)
  • Southwest median 0.00× the median ($10,113)
  • U.S. median 0.00× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 30.0%
    • Texas median 30.1 pp below median (60.1%)
    • Southwest median 29.7 pp below median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 28.0 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,323
    • Texas median 0.88× the median ($7,150)
    • Southwest median 0.89× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 0.83× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,703
    • Texas median 0.53× the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 0.47× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.37× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Texas Southmost College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Texas Southmost College

Brownsville, TX 78520 · Public · Southwest

Texas Southmost College is a public institution in Brownsville, TX, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$3,148
Avg. net price$3,085
Enrollment3,372
Completion (150%)29.84%
Pell Grant share28.42%
First-generation56.2%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
General StudiesCriminal Justice/Safety StudiesCriminal Justice/Police Science
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino92.8%
Race/ethnicity unknown4.1%
White or Caucasian1.9%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Texas Southmost College

Other campuses in Brownsville, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Texas Southmost College located?

Texas Southmost College is located in Brownsville, TX.

What is Texas Southmost College's tuition?

Texas Southmost College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,148 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $3,085 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Texas Southmost College cost?

Reported tuition is $3,148 and average net price is $3,085 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,801 annually.

Why is Texas Southmost College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Texas Southmost College, published tuition is $3,148 while average net price is $3,085—about 2% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Texas Southmost College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($3,085), completion (29.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,900). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Texas Southmost College?

Texas Southmost College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 12,630 students, Hispanic or Latino (92.8%), Race/ethnicity unknown (4.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Texas Southmost College?

About 56.2% of students at Texas Southmost College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Texas Southmost College earn?

Median earnings are $33,992 six years after entry and $41,900 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Texas Southmost College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 29.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Texas Southmost College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,000.

Is Texas Southmost College public or private?

Texas Southmost College is a public institution located in Brownsville, TX.

Is Texas Southmost College an HBCU?

No. Texas Southmost College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.