Active Report Report ID: EDU-459967-2026

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville

Brownsville, TX 78520

Avg. net price$17,864After aid
Graduation rate68.05%150% time
Median salary$27,03510yr post-entry
ROI278%10yr vs net cost

About Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is a private for-profit trade school in Brownsville, Texas, enrolling about 631 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 68.05% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $27,035 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $27,035.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 278% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville$17,8641
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Texas (state median)$9,940$8,031184
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is $17,864.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,864 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,833 above the Texas median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $184 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$17,864

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$17,716
$30,001–$48,000$17,283
$48,001–$75,000$18,620
$75,001–$110,000$20,687
$110,001+$19,346

Student outcomes

First-year retention74.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$24,849Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville.

Campus

Location

Brownsville, TX

City / state

ZIP
78520
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 1% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southwest

Size

Enrollment

631

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,080
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$8,708

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
72.88%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$71,456Estimated 4-year total cost
$17,864Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville.

Financial Aid by Income Level

72.88% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
69.25% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$14,264
2014$22,401
2015$23,127
2016$19,231
2017$18,629
2018$17,376
2019$17,751
2020$20,137
2021$15,749
2022$16,408
2023$16,706

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville reported total enrollment of about 631 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 49% male and 51% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (71.0%), White (26.9%), and Two or More Races (0.9%). About 72.88% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 63.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville in 2024 is 631 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,080 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

74.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

71.0%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino71.0%
  • White or Caucasian26.9%
  • Two or More Races0.9%
  • Black or African American0.5%
  • Asian0.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

44.37% 100% Completion Time

68.05% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 44.37% of students graduating from Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Electrician: 97% male / 3% female
  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 3% male / 97% female
  • Medical/Clinical Assistant: 15% male / 85% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

368Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino368
  • White or Caucasian108
  • Black or African American2
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville graduates earn a median of $27,035 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $27,035. Median federal loan debt: $8,708. Average net price used in cost models: $17,864.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville graduates report median earnings of $27,035 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

278%Modeled return on investment
$8,708Median student debt
$27,035Median annual earnings (10 years)
32.21%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 9 programs by IPEDS completions (10 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electrician 186

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville.

Employment Outcomes

$27,035Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$24,849Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$26,123Median earnings (8 years after entry)
82.94%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 60.0%
    • Texas median 0.1 pp below median (60.1%)
    • Southwest median 0.3 pp above median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 2.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $4,665
    • Texas median 0.65× the median ($7,150)
    • Southwest median 0.66× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 0.61× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,830
    • Texas median 0.56× the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 0.50× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.39× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville at a glance

Institution snapshot

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville

Brownsville, TX 78520 · Private For-profit · Southwest

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is a private for-profit institution in Brownsville, TX.

Avg. net price$17,864
Enrollment631
Completion (150%)68.05%
Pell Grant share72.88%
First-generation63.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
ElectricianCosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralMedical/Clinical Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino71.0%
White or Caucasian26.9%
Two or More Races0.9%
Nearby

Schools near Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville

Other campuses in Brownsville, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville located?

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is located in Brownsville, TX.

How much does Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $17,864 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,864), completion (68.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($27,035). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville?

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,080 students, Hispanic or Latino (71.0%), White (26.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville?

About 63.7% of students at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville earn?

Median earnings are $24,849 six years after entry and $27,035 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville?

The 150%-time completion rate is 68.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $8,708.

Is Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville public or private?

Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is a private for-profit institution located in Brownsville, TX.

Is Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville an HBCU?

No. Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville a tribal college?

No. Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Southern Careers Institute-Brownsville reports 71.0% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.