Active Report Report ID: EDU-199795-2026

Tri-County Community College

Murphy, NC 28906

Tuition$2,636Published sticker
Avg. net price$7,799After aid
Graduation rate54.29%150% time
Median salary$32,23210yr post-entry
ROI933%10yr vs net cost

About Tri-County Community College

Tri-County Community College is a public community college in Murphy, North Carolina, enrolling about 472 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $7,799 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $2,636. Student demographics in federal data include White (82.0%) and Hispanic or Latino (5.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Tri-County Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,636).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 54.29%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $32,232.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Tri-County Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 933% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Tri-County Community College$2,636$7,7991
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
North Carolina (state median)$6,906$6,820133
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Tri-County Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Tri-County Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,636).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
Published sticker

Tri-County Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $2,636

Finding Tri-County Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $2,636. That is about 0.5× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the North Carolina median ($6,906), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Tri-County Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Tri-County Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Tri-County Community College is $7,799.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,799 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $978 above the North Carolina median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Tri-County Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Tri-County Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Tri-County Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$2,636

Out-of-state tuition

$8,780

Avg. net price

$7,799

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$7,220
$30,001–$48,000$7,224
$48,001–$75,000$8,984
$75,001–$110,000$10,013

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $10,544. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention76.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$27,374Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Tri-County Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Tri-County Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Tri-County Community College.

Campus

Location

Murphy, NC

City / state

ZIP
28906

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

472

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,409
Full-time share
41%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
28.90%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$31,196Estimated 4-year total cost
$7,799Average annual net price (after aid)
$10,5444-year in-state tuition
$35,1204-year out-of-state tuition
$17,488Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,470Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$21,594Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$86,376Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Tri-County Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

28.90% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Tri-County Community College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Tri-County Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,346$8,490$7,003
2014$2,363$8,507$7,358
2015$2,363$8,507$8,735
2016$2,363$8,507$7,875
2017$2,363$8,507$7,418
2018$2,363$8,507$6,409
2019$2,363$8,507$7,431
2020$2,363$8,507$6,156
2021$2,363$8,507$6,334
2022$2,363$8,507$4,721
2023$2,363$8,507$4,584

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Tri-County Community College reported total enrollment of about 472 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 31% male and 69% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (82.0%), Hispanic or Latino (5.9%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (3.2%). About 28.90% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

40.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Tri-County Community College in 2024 is 472 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,409 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

76.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

82.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian82.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.2%
  • Black or African American2.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2.3%
  • Two or More Races2.3%
  • Asian1.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

44.29% 100% Completion Time

54.29% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 44.29% of students graduating from Tri-County Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 38% male / 62% female
  • Welding Technology/Welder: 85% male / 15% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 15% male / 85% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

246White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian246
  • Hispanic or Latino21
  • Two or More Races10
  • Black or African American3
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Tri-County Community College graduates earn a median of $32,232 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Tri-County Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $32,232. Average net price used in cost models: $7,799.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Tri-County Community College graduates report median earnings of $32,232 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

933%Modeled return on investment
$32,232Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Tri-County Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (25 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians, Other 6

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Tri-County Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$32,232Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$27,374Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$30,263Median earnings (8 years after entry)
78.04%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Tri-County Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Tri-County Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$241,038

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $0

Year change: $241,038

  • North Carolina median 0.02× the median ($12M)
  • Southeast median 0.01× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $339

  • North Carolina median 0.04× the median ($8,184)
  • Southeast median 0.04× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.03× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 18.4%
    • North Carolina median 30.7 pp below median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 41.1 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 39.6 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,534
    • North Carolina median 0.84× the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median 0.81× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.73× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,263
    • North Carolina median 1.1× the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Tri-County Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Tri-County Community College

Murphy, NC 28906 · Public · Southeast

Tri-County Community College is a public institution in Murphy, NC, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$2,636
Avg. net price$7,799
Enrollment472
Completion (150%)54.29%
Pell Grant share28.90%
First-generation45.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesWelding Technology/WelderRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian82.0%
Hispanic or Latino5.9%
Race/ethnicity unknown3.2%
Nearby

Schools near Tri-County Community College

Other campuses in Murphy, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Tri-County Community College located?

Tri-County Community College is located in Murphy, NC.

What is Tri-County Community College's tuition?

Tri-County Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,636 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $7,799 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Tri-County Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $2,636 and average net price is $7,799 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,488 annually.

What explains Tri-County Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,799), completion (54.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($32,232). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Tri-County Community College?

Tri-County Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,409 students, White (82.0%), Hispanic or Latino (5.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Tri-County Community College?

About 45.9% of students at Tri-County Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Tri-County Community College earn?

Median earnings are $27,374 six years after entry and $32,232 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Tri-County Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 54.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Tri-County Community College public or private?

Tri-County Community College is a public institution located in Murphy, NC.

Is Tri-County Community College an HBCU?

No. Tri-County Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Tri-County Community College a tribal college?

No. Tri-County Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Tri-County Community College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Tri-County Community College does not meet that proxy (reported share 5.9%).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.