Active Report Report ID: EDU-199786-2026

Alamance Community College

Graham, NC 27253-8000

Tuition$2,592Published sticker
Avg. net price$6,109After aid
Graduation rate39.34%150% time
Median salary$34,24110yr post-entry
ROI1,301%10yr vs net cost

About Alamance Community College

Alamance Community College is a public community college in Graham, North Carolina, serving roughly 3,080 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $6,109 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $2,592. Student demographics in federal data include White (45.2%) and Black or African American (22.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Alamance Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,592).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the North Carolina median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 39.34%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,241.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Alamance Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1301% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Alamance Community College$2,592$6,1091
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
North Carolina (state median)$6,906$6,820133
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Alamance Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Alamance Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,592).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the North Carolina median net price.
Published sticker

Alamance Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $2,592

Finding Alamance Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $2,592. That is about 0.5× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the North Carolina median ($6,906), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Alamance Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Alamance Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Alamance Community College is $6,109.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $6,109 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $712 below the North Carolina median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $12,591 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Alamance Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Alamance Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Alamance Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$2,592

Out-of-state tuition

$8,736

Avg. net price

$6,109

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$4,914
$30,001–$48,000$5,328
$48,001–$75,000$8,374
$75,001–$110,000$10,344

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $10,368. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention72.1%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$29,841Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Alamance Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Alamance Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Alamance Community College.

Campus

Location

Graham, NC

City / state

ZIP
27253-8000
NCES locale
Rural distant

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

3,080

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
6,179
Full-time share
42%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
28.64%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$24,436Estimated 4-year total cost
$6,109Average annual net price (after aid)
$10,3684-year in-state tuition
$34,9444-year out-of-state tuition
$10,095Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,265Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$14,952Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$59,808Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Alamance Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

28.64% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Alamance Community College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Alamance Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,175$7,935$10,311
2014$2,175$7,935$7,182
2015$2,190$7,950$9,443
2016$2,190$8,070$8,894
2017$2,036$7,028$11,955
2018$2,036$7,028$10,142
2019$2,492$7,028$15,869
2020$2,492$8,636$14,724
2021$2,492$8,636$15,431
2022$2,528$8,672$14,745
2023$2,528$8,642$14,047

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Alamance Community College reported total enrollment of about 3,080 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 37% male and 63% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (45.2%), Black or African American (22.3%), and Hispanic or Latino (21.4%). About 28.64% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

42.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Alamance Community College in 2024 is 3,080 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 6,179 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

72.1%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

45.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian45.2%
  • Black or African American22.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino21.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien3.5%
  • Two or More Races2.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.2%
  • Asian2.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

26.23% 100% Completion Time

39.34% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 26.23% of students graduating from Alamance Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 36% male / 64% female
  • Commercial and Advertising Art: 48% male / 52% female
  • Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

871White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian871
  • Hispanic or Latino288
  • Black or African American272
  • Two or More Races31
  • Asian30
  • American Indian or Alaska Native12
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Alamance Community College graduates earn a median of $34,241 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Alamance Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $34,241. Average net price used in cost models: $6,109.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Alamance Community College graduates report median earnings of $34,241 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,301%Modeled return on investment
$34,241Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Alamance Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (47 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 80
  2. Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services, Other 57

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Alamance Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$34,241Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$29,841Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$32,465Median earnings (8 years after entry)
78.78%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Alamance Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Alamance Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$15.1M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $13.9M

Year change: $1.2M

  • North Carolina median 1.3× the median ($12M)
  • Southeast median 0.77× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.57× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $6,913

  • North Carolina median 0.84× the median ($8,184)
  • Southeast median 0.74× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.57× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 12.4%
    • North Carolina median 36.7 pp below median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 47.0 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 45.5 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,608
    • North Carolina median near the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.87× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,258
    • North Carolina median 0.90× the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Alamance Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Alamance Community College

Graham, NC 27253-8000 · Public · Southeast

Alamance Community College is a public institution in Graham, NC, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$2,592
Avg. net price$6,109
Enrollment3,080
Completion (150%)39.34%
Pell Grant share28.64%
First-generation46.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesCommercial and Advertising ArtEarly Childhood Education & Teaching
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian45.2%
Black or African American22.3%
Hispanic or Latino21.4%
Nearby

Schools near Alamance Community College

Other campuses in Graham, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Alamance Community College located?

Alamance Community College is located in Graham, NC.

What is Alamance Community College's tuition?

Alamance Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,592 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $6,109 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Alamance Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $2,592 and average net price is $6,109 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,095 annually.

What explains Alamance Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($6,109), completion (39.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($34,241). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Alamance Community College?

Alamance Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 6,179 students, White (45.2%), Black or African American (22.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Alamance Community College?

About 46.3% of students at Alamance Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Alamance Community College earn?

Median earnings are $29,841 six years after entry and $34,241 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Alamance Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 39.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Alamance Community College public or private?

Alamance Community College is a public institution located in Graham, NC.

Is Alamance Community College an HBCU?

No. Alamance Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Alamance Community College a tribal college?

No. Alamance Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Alamance Community College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Alamance Community College does not meet that proxy (reported share 21.4%).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.