Active Report Report ID: EDU-197869-2026

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC 28608

Acceptance rate90.14%Broad access
Tuition$7,579Published sticker
Avg. net price$16,836After aid
Graduation rate74.53%150% time
Median salary$51,83610yr post-entry

About Appalachian State University

Appalachian State University is a public research university in Boone, North Carolina, with about 19,444 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 90.14% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $51,836 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Appalachian State University charges 38% above the national public median tuition ($7,579).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is 10% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 74.53%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $51,836.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Appalachian State University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 670% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Appalachian State University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 109 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Appalachian State University$7,579$16,8361
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
North Carolina (state median)$6,906$6,820133
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Appalachian State University really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Appalachian State University charges 38% above the national public median tuition ($7,579).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is 10% above.
Published sticker

Appalachian State University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $7,579

Finding Appalachian State University charges 38% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $7,579. That is 38% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the North Carolina median ($6,906), sticker tuition is 10% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 36% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Appalachian State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Appalachian State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Appalachian State University is $16,836.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,836 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $10,016 above the North Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,865 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Appalachian State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Appalachian State University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Appalachian State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$7,579

Out-of-state tuition

$25,212

Avg. net price

$16,836

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$9,325
$30,001–$48,000$11,600
$48,001–$75,000$15,204
$75,001–$110,000$20,840
$110,001+$22,382

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $30,316. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention83.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$43,663Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 20% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1214
  • Midpoint ACT: 27

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Appalachian State University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Appalachian State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Appalachian State University.

Campus

Location

Boone, NC

City / state

ZIP
28608
NCES locale
Town distant

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 12% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

19,444

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
21,253
Graduate
2,010
Full-time share
93%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,231

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
26.42%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$67,344Estimated 4-year total cost
$16,836Average annual net price (after aid)
$30,3164-year in-state tuition
$100,8484-year out-of-state tuition
$12,868Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$800Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$21,247Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$84,988Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Appalachian State University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

26.42% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
36.60% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Appalachian State University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Appalachian State University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$6,462$18,670$12,725
2014$6,553$19,720$14,165
2015$6,852$20,677$14,686
2016$7,136$21,652$13,171
2017$7,302$22,109$13,691
2018$7,364$22,171$14,018
2019$7,409$22,216$13,920
2020$7,410$22,217$13,989
2021$7,410$23,017$13,897
2022$7,450$23,454$14,765
2023$7,541$24,537$16,487

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

90.14%Acceptance rate
24,001Total applicants
21,275Students admitted
4,227First-time students enrolled
19.87%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1214SAT average
27ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Appalachian State University reported total enrollment of about 19,444 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (78.5%), Hispanic or Latino (9.4%), and Two or More Races (4.8%). About 26.42% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 25.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

93.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Appalachian State University in 2024 is 19,444 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 21,253 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,010 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

83.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

78.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian78.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.4%
  • Two or More Races4.8%
  • Black or African American3.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.8%
  • Asian1.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

58.72% 100% Completion Time

74.53% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 58.72% of students graduating from Appalachian State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 21% male / 79% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 59% male / 41% female
  • Marketing/Marketing Management, General: 53% male / 47% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

4,439White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian4,439
  • Hispanic or Latino390
  • Two or More Races198
  • Black or African American188
  • Asian102
  • American Indian or Alaska Native10
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Appalachian State University graduates earn a median of $51,836 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Appalachian State University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $51,836. Median federal loan debt: $20,231. Average net price used in cost models: $16,836.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Appalachian State University graduates report median earnings of $51,836 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

670%Modeled return on investment
$20,231Median student debt
$51,836Median annual earnings (10 years)
39.03%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Appalachian State University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (109 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 163
  2. Construction Management, General 143
  3. Accounting 131

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Appalachian State University.

Employment Outcomes

$51,836Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$43,663Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$48,423Median earnings (8 years after entry)
89.13%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Appalachian State University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Appalachian State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$192.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $190.7M

Year change: $1.5M

  • North Carolina median 16× the median ($12M)
  • Southeast median 9.9× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 7.3× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $9,706

  • North Carolina median 1.2× the median ($8,184)
  • Southeast median near the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.80× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 77.7%
    • North Carolina median 28.6 pp above median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 18.3 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 19.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,281
    • North Carolina median 1.4× the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,690
    • North Carolina median 1.1× the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Appalachian State University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC 28608 · Public · Southeast

Appalachian State University is a public institution in Boone, NC, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$7,579
Avg. net price$16,836
Enrollment19,444
Acceptance rate90.14%
Completion (150%)74.53%
Average SAT1214
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralMarketing/Marketing Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian78.5%
Hispanic or Latino9.4%
Two or More Races4.8%
Nearby

Schools near Appalachian State University

Other campuses in Boone, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Appalachian State University located?

Appalachian State University is located in Boone, NC.

What is Appalachian State University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Appalachian State University is 90.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 24,001 applicants and 21,275 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Appalachian State University's tuition?

Appalachian State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,579 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,836 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Appalachian State University cost?

Reported tuition is $7,579 and average net price is $16,836 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,868 annually.

What explains Appalachian State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,836), completion (74.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($51,836). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Appalachian State University?

Appalachian State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 21,253 students, White (78.5%), Hispanic or Latino (9.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Appalachian State University?

About 25.0% of students at Appalachian State University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Appalachian State University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Appalachian State University reports midpoint SAT about 1214 and midpoint ACT about 27.

What do graduates of Appalachian State University earn?

Median earnings are $43,663 six years after entry and $51,836 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Appalachian State University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 74.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Appalachian State University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,231.

Is Appalachian State University public or private?

Appalachian State University is a public institution located in Boone, NC.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.