United States University
San Diego, CA 92108
About United States University
United States University is a private for-profit university in San Diego, California, enrolling about 153 students. United States University awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $6,780 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $80,980 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- United States University charges about 0.4× the national private for-profit median tuition ($6,780).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 16% below.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $80,980.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at United States University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 839% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States University | $6,780 | $21,557 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is United States University really?
Key findings
- United States University charges about 0.4× the national private for-profit median tuition ($6,780).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 16% below.
United States University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $6,780
Finding United States University charges about 0.4× the national private for-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $6,780. That is about 0.4× the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is 16% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.6×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at United States University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at United States University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at United States University is $21,557.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $21,557 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $13,214 above the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $1,504 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At United States University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
United States University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for United States University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$6,780
Avg. net price
$21,557
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $27,120. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What United States University is known for
Top program completions
- Family Practice Nurse/Nursing758
- Teacher Education, Multiple Levels55
- Nursing Administration35
- Nursing Education30
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse28
See earnings & programs for more.
Is United States University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
United States University is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for United States University.
Campus
Location
San Diego, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 92108
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 8% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management
Size
Enrollment
153
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 187
- Graduate
- 2,295
- Full-time share
- 42%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$15,244
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 15.73%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for United States University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at United States University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for United States University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $8,060 | $8,060 | $16,704 |
| 2014 | $10,140 | $10,140 | $11,126 |
| 2015 | $9,440 | $9,980 | $20,863 |
| 2016 | $11,880 | $12,980 | $19,272 |
| 2017 | $12,020 | $12,020 | $20,498 |
| 2018 | $10,800 | $10,800 | — |
| 2019 | $6,480 | $6,480 | — |
| 2020 | $6,480 | $6,480 | $16,260 |
| 2021 | $6,480 | $6,480 | $13,529 |
| 2022 | $6,630 | $6,630 | — |
| 2023 | $6,600 | $6,600 | $21,557 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
United States University reported total enrollment of about 153 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 32% male and 68% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (45.1%), Hispanic or Latino (32.7%), and Black or African American (9.2%). About 15.73% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
41.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at United States University in 2024 is 153 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 187 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,295 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from United States University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Family Practice Nurse/Nursing: 17% male / 83% female
- Teacher Education, Multiple Levels: 29% male / 71% female
- Nursing Administration: 14% male / 86% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
United States University graduates earn a median of $80,980 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of United States University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $80,980. Median federal loan debt: $15,244. Average net price used in cost models: $21,557.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway United States University graduates report median earnings of $80,980 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for United States University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 9 programs by IPEDS completions (10 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at United States University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for United States University graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for United States University—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
- California median 60.7 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 54.3 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,532
- California median 0.74× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 0.78× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,939
- California median 0.61× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 0.56× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 0.54× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
United States University at a glance
United States University
United States University is a private for-profit institution in San Diego, CA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Family Practice Nurse/NursingTeacher Education, Multiple LevelsNursing Administration
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian45.1%Hispanic or Latino32.7%Black or African American9.2%
Schools near United States University
Other campuses in San Diego, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is United States University located?
United States University is located in San Diego, CA.
What is United States University's tuition?
United States University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,780 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $21,557 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does United States University cost?
Reported tuition is $6,780 and average net price is $21,557 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,632 annually.
What is the student body demographics at United States University?
United States University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 187 students, White (45.1%), Hispanic or Latino (32.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend United States University?
About 53.0% of students at United States University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of United States University earn?
Median earnings are $34,909 six years after entry and $80,980 ten years after entry.
How much debt do United States University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $15,244.
Is United States University public or private?
United States University is a private for-profit institution located in San Diego, CA.
Is United States University an HBCU?
No. United States University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is United States University a tribal college?
No. United States University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is United States University a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—United States University reports 32.7% Hispanic enrollment share.
Is United States University religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for United States University in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.