The Chicago School at San Diego
San Diego, CA 92101-7903
About The Chicago School at San Diego
The Chicago School at San Diego is a private research university in San Diego, California, enrolling about 2 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 100.00% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $56,899 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.7×.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $56,899.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Chicago School at San Diego | $21,780 | — | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is The Chicago School at San Diego really?
Key findings
- The Chicago School at San Diego charges 26% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($21,780).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.7×.
The Chicago School at San Diego tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $21,780
Finding The Chicago School at San Diego charges 26% below the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $21,780. That is 26% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 2.7×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 1.8×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at The Chicago School at San Diego versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
The Chicago School at San Diego: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The Chicago School at San Diego—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$21,780
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $87,120. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What The Chicago School at San Diego is known for
Top program completions
- Marriage and Family Therapy/Counseling23
- Clinical Psychology7
- Industrial and Organizational Psychology5
- Psychology, General3
- Applied Behavior Analysis3
See earnings & programs for more.
Is The Chicago School at San Diego a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
The Chicago School at San Diego is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The Chicago School at San Diego.
Campus
Location
San Diego, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 92101-7903
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, tuition is 43% above the median for Urban (City) campuses.
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management
Size
Enrollment
2
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 4
- Graduate
- 110
- Full-time share
- 0%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$20,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 60.00%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for The Chicago School at San Diego.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The Chicago School at San Diego was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The Chicago School at San Diego in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2021–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $12,712 | $12,712 | — |
| 2022 | $13,224 | $13,224 | — |
| 2023 | $20,844 | $20,844 | — |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
The Chicago School at San Diego reported total enrollment of about 2 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 0% male and 100% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (50.0%), Race/ethnicity unknown (50.0%), and White (0.0%). About 60.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
0.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at The Chicago School at San Diego in 2024 is 2 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 4 students. Graduate enrollment is about 110 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from The Chicago School at San Diego completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Marriage and Family Therapy/Counseling: 17% male / 83% female
- Clinical Psychology: 14% male / 86% female
- Industrial and Organizational Psychology: 20% male / 80% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
The Chicago School at San Diego graduates earn a median of $56,899 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of The Chicago School at San Diego.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $56,899. Median federal loan debt: $20,000.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway The Chicago School at San Diego graduates report median earnings of $56,899 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The Chicago School at San Diego.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 5 programs by IPEDS completions (6 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The Chicago School at San Diego.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The Chicago School at San Diego graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The Chicago School at San Diego—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,854
- California median 0.77× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 0.82× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,381
- California median 1.3× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 1.2× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
The Chicago School at San Diego at a glance
The Chicago School at San Diego
The Chicago School at San Diego is a private non-profit institution in San Diego, CA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Marriage and Family Therapy/CounselingClinical PsychologyIndustrial and Organizational Psychology
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino50.0%Race/ethnicity unknown50.0%White or Caucasian0.0%
Schools near The Chicago School at San Diego
Other campuses in San Diego, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is The Chicago School at San Diego located?
The Chicago School at San Diego is located in San Diego, CA.
What is The Chicago School at San Diego's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at The Chicago School at San Diego is 100.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1 applicants and 1 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is The Chicago School at San Diego's tuition?
The Chicago School at San Diego tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $21,780 in the latest College Scorecard data.
How much does The Chicago School at San Diego cost?
Reported tuition is $21,780 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,536 annually.
What is the student body demographics at The Chicago School at San Diego?
The Chicago School at San Diego reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4 students, Hispanic or Latino (50.0%), Race/ethnicity unknown (50.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend The Chicago School at San Diego?
About 46.4% of students at The Chicago School at San Diego are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of The Chicago School at San Diego earn?
Median earnings are $51,817 six years after entry and $56,899 ten years after entry.
How much debt do The Chicago School at San Diego students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,000.
Is The Chicago School at San Diego public or private?
The Chicago School at San Diego is a private nonprofit institution located in San Diego, CA.
Is The Chicago School at San Diego an HBCU?
No. The Chicago School at San Diego is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is The Chicago School at San Diego a tribal college?
No. The Chicago School at San Diego is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is The Chicago School at San Diego a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—The Chicago School at San Diego reports 50.0% Hispanic enrollment share.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.