Unity Environmental University
New Gloucester, ME 04260
About Unity Environmental University
Unity Environmental University is a private research university in New Gloucester, Maine, serving roughly 6,483 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 81.80% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $37,852 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Unity Environmental University charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($12,640).
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 3% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 28.67%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,852.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Unity Environmental University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 395% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unity Environmental University | $12,640 | $19,104 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Maine (state median) | $12,983 | $8,205 | 28 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Unity Environmental University really?
Key findings
- Unity Environmental University charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($12,640).
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 3% below.
Unity Environmental University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $12,640
Finding Unity Environmental University charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $12,640. That is about 0.4× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is 3% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 6% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Unity Environmental University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Unity Environmental University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Unity Environmental University is $19,104.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $19,104 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $10,899 above the Maine median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Unity Environmental University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Unity Environmental University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Unity Environmental University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$12,640
Avg. net price
$19,104
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $18,370 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $19,288 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $20,079 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $21,408 |
| $110,001+ | $21,931 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $50,560. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Unity Environmental University is known for
Top program completions
- Conservation Biology181
- Animal Sciences, Other117
- Environmental Science108
- Animal Training102
- Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography67
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 10% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Unity Environmental University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Unity Environmental University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Unity Environmental University.
Campus
Location
New Gloucester, ME
City / state
- ZIP
- 04260
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- New England
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
Size
Enrollment
6,483
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 9,452
- Graduate
- 658
- Full-time share
- 97%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$25,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 63.91%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Unity Environmental University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Unity Environmental University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Unity Environmental University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $25,000 | $25,000 | $21,733 |
| 2014 | $25,820 | $25,820 | $21,556 |
| 2015 | $26,800 | $26,800 | $21,336 |
| 2016 | $27,570 | $27,570 | $24,848 |
| 2017 | $28,350 | $28,350 | $24,842 |
| 2018 | $29,160 | $29,160 | $26,463 |
| 2019 | $30,000 | $30,000 | $26,080 |
| 2020 | $12,640 | $12,640 | $26,261 |
| 2021 | $12,640 | $12,640 | $16,719 |
| 2022 | $12,640 | $12,640 | $19,016 |
| 2023 | $12,640 | $12,640 | $18,217 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Unity Environmental University reported total enrollment of about 6,483 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 23% male and 77% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (70.4%), Hispanic or Latino (12.5%), and Black or African American (6.8%). About 63.91% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 32.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
97.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Unity Environmental University in 2024 is 6,483 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 9,452 students. Graduate enrollment is about 658 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
36.1%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
24.00% 100% Completion Time
28.67% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 24.00% of students graduating from Unity Environmental University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Conservation Biology: 35% male / 65% female
- Animal Sciences, Other: 15% male / 85% female
- Environmental Science: 18% male / 82% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Unity Environmental University graduates earn a median of $37,852 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Unity Environmental University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $37,852. Median federal loan debt: $25,000. Average net price used in cost models: $19,104.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Unity Environmental University graduates report median earnings of $37,852 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Unity Environmental University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (18 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Unity Environmental University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Unity Environmental University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Unity Environmental University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$15.9M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Maine median near the median ($15.4M)
- New England median 0.37× the median ($42.9M)
- U.S. median 0.60× the median ($26.4M)
- Maine median 0.32× the median ($12,087)
- New England median 0.16× the median ($23,268)
- U.S. median 0.32× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 4.7%
- Maine median 48.4 pp below median (53.1%)
- New England median 48.6 pp below median (53.3%)
- U.S. median 53.2 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,415
- Maine median 0.71× the median ($7,625)
- New England median 0.58× the median ($9,262)
- U.S. median 0.71× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,999
- Maine median 0.21× the median ($9,650)
- New England median 0.20× the median ($10,182)
- U.S. median 0.27× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Unity Environmental University at a glance
Unity Environmental University
Unity Environmental University is a private non-profit institution in New Gloucester, ME, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Conservation BiologyAnimal Sciences, OtherEnvironmental Science
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian70.4%Hispanic or Latino12.5%Black or African American6.8%
Schools near Unity Environmental University
Other campuses in New Gloucester, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Unity Environmental University located?
Unity Environmental University is located in New Gloucester, ME.
What is Unity Environmental University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Unity Environmental University is 81.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 8,865 applicants and 7,252 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Unity Environmental University's tuition?
Unity Environmental University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $12,640 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $19,104 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Unity Environmental University cost?
Reported tuition is $12,640 and average net price is $19,104 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,800 annually.
What explains Unity Environmental University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($19,104), completion (28.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($37,852). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Unity Environmental University?
Unity Environmental University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 9,452 students, White (70.4%), Hispanic or Latino (12.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Unity Environmental University?
About 32.1% of students at Unity Environmental University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Unity Environmental University earn?
Median earnings are $31,698 six years after entry and $37,852 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Unity Environmental University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 28.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Unity Environmental University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,000.
Is Unity Environmental University public or private?
Unity Environmental University is a private nonprofit institution located in New Gloucester, ME.
Is Unity Environmental University an HBCU?
No. Unity Environmental University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.