University of Maine at Augusta
Augusta, ME 04330-9410
About University of Maine at Augusta
University of Maine at Augusta is a public research university in Augusta, Maine, serving roughly 2,659 students. University of Maine at Augusta awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $8,888 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,342 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Maine at Augusta charges 61% above the national public median tuition ($8,888).
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 32% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 26.98%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,342.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Maine at Augusta is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 823% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Maine at Augusta | $8,888 | $10,924 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Maine (state median) | $12,983 | $8,205 | 28 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Maine at Augusta really?
Key findings
- University of Maine at Augusta charges 61% above the national public median tuition ($8,888).
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 32% below.
University of Maine at Augusta tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,888
Finding University of Maine at Augusta charges 61% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,888. That is 61% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is 32% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 25% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Maine at Augusta versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Maine at Augusta versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Maine at Augusta is $10,924.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $10,924 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,719 above the Maine median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $4,047 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At University of Maine at Augusta, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
University of Maine at Augusta: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Maine at Augusta—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$8,888
Out-of-state tuition
$22,178
Avg. net price
$10,924
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $9,421 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $9,175 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $11,228 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $14,037 |
| $110,001+ | $15,371 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $35,552. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Maine at Augusta is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies139
- Psychiatric/Mental Health Services Technician71
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse61
- Community Organization and Advocacy39
- Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance31
See earnings & programs for more.
Is University of Maine at Augusta a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Maine at Augusta is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Maine at Augusta.
Campus
Location
Augusta, ME
City / state
- ZIP
- 04330-9410
- NCES locale
- Town distant
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 27% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- New England
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions
Size
Enrollment
2,659
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 5,722
- Graduate
- 99
- Full-time share
- 46%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$22,734
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 32.96%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Maine at Augusta.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Maine at Augusta was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Maine at Augusta in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,500 | $16,740 | $10,256 |
| 2014 | $7,448 | $16,688 | $10,864 |
| 2015 | $7,448 | $16,688 | $10,405 |
| 2016 | $7,448 | $17,048 | $9,673 |
| 2017 | $7,808 | $17,498 | $12,011 |
| 2018 | $7,988 | $17,918 | $10,917 |
| 2019 | $8,168 | $18,338 | $10,631 |
| 2020 | $8,378 | $18,788 | $10,811 |
| 2021 | $8,378 | $19,238 | $9,889 |
| 2022 | $8,378 | $19,778 | $10,142 |
| 2023 | $8,618 | $21,548 | $11,353 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Maine at Augusta reported total enrollment of about 2,659 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 33% male and 67% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (78.8%), Hispanic or Latino (5.3%), and Two or More Races (4.5%). About 32.96% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
45.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Maine at Augusta in 2024 is 2,659 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,722 students. Graduate enrollment is about 99 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
60.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
16.22% 100% Completion Time
26.98% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 16.22% of students graduating from University of Maine at Augusta completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 27% male / 73% female
- Psychiatric/Mental Health Services Technician: 15% male / 85% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 3% male / 97% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Maine at Augusta graduates earn a median of $40,342 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Maine at Augusta.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,342. Median federal loan debt: $22,734. Average net price used in cost models: $10,924.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Maine at Augusta graduates report median earnings of $40,342 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Maine at Augusta.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (39 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Maine at Augusta.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Maine at Augusta graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Maine at Augusta—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$8.5M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Maine median 0.55× the median ($15.4M)
- New England median 0.20× the median ($42.9M)
- U.S. median 0.32× the median ($26.4M)
- Maine median 0.30× the median ($12,087)
- New England median 0.16× the median ($23,268)
- U.S. median 0.30× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 41.0%
- Maine median 12.1 pp below median (53.1%)
- New England median 12.2 pp below median (53.3%)
- U.S. median 16.9 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,060
- Maine median 1.1× the median ($7,625)
- New England median 0.87× the median ($9,262)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,925
- Maine median near the median ($9,650)
- New England median near the median ($10,182)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of Maine at Augusta at a glance
University of Maine at Augusta
University of Maine at Augusta is a public institution in Augusta, ME, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesPsychiatric/Mental Health Services TechnicianRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian78.8%Hispanic or Latino5.3%Two or More Races4.5%
Schools near University of Maine at Augusta
Other campuses in Augusta, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of Maine at Augusta located?
University of Maine at Augusta is located in Augusta, ME.
What is University of Maine at Augusta's tuition?
University of Maine at Augusta tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,888 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $10,924 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of Maine at Augusta cost?
Reported tuition is $8,888 and average net price is $10,924 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,546 annually.
What explains University of Maine at Augusta's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($10,924), completion (27.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,342). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of Maine at Augusta?
University of Maine at Augusta reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,722 students, White (78.8%), Hispanic or Latino (5.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of Maine at Augusta?
About 50.9% of students at University of Maine at Augusta are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of University of Maine at Augusta earn?
Median earnings are $36,467 six years after entry and $40,342 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Maine at Augusta?
The 150%-time completion rate is 27.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Maine at Augusta students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,734.
Is University of Maine at Augusta public or private?
University of Maine at Augusta is a public institution located in Augusta, ME.
Is University of Maine at Augusta an HBCU?
No. University of Maine at Augusta is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is University of Maine at Augusta a tribal college?
No. University of Maine at Augusta is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Maine college profile
- Maine college costs
- Maine colleges by ROI
- University of Maine vs University of Maine at Augusta vs University of Maine at Presque Isle
- Augusta, Maine city profile
- New England regional profile
- Town college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Maine
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.