Active Report Report ID: EDU-161341-2026

University of Maine at Presque Isle

Presque Isle, ME 04769-2888

Acceptance rate99.87%Broad access
Tuition$9,402Published sticker
Avg. net price$7,035After aid
Graduation rate51.55%150% time
Median salary$40,95610yr post-entry

About University of Maine at Presque Isle

University of Maine at Presque Isle is a public research university in Presque Isle, Maine, enrolling about 1,913 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 99.87% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,956 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Maine at Presque Isle charges 71% above the national public median tuition ($9,402).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 28% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Maine median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 51.55%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,956.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Maine at Presque Isle is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1355% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Maine at Presque Isle$9,402$7,0351
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Maine (state median)$12,983$8,20528
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 25% below published tuition at University of Maine at Presque Isle

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Maine at Presque Isle's average net price ($7,035) is 25% below published tuition ($9,402).
  • University of Maine at Presque Isle charges 71% above the national public median tuition ($9,402).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 28% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Maine median net price.
Published sticker

University of Maine at Presque Isle tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $9,402

Finding University of Maine at Presque Isle charges 71% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $9,402. That is 71% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is 28% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 21% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Maine at Presque Isle versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Maine at Presque Isle versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Maine at Presque Isle is $7,035.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,035 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,170 below the Maine median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Maine at Presque Isle’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 25% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Maine at Presque Isle: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Maine at Presque Isle—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$9,402

Out-of-state tuition

$14,862

Avg. net price

$7,035

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$5,934
$30,001–$48,000$4,492
$48,001–$75,000$6,564
$75,001–$110,000$10,229
$110,001+$9,758

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $37,608. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention58.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,793Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 18% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Maine at Presque Isle a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Maine at Presque Isle is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Maine at Presque Isle.

Campus

Location

Presque Isle, ME

City / state

ZIP
04769-2888

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

1,913

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,608
Graduate
115
Full-time share
67%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$16,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
24.35%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$28,140Estimated 4-year total cost
$7,035Average annual net price (after aid)
$37,6084-year in-state tuition
$59,4484-year out-of-state tuition
$10,710Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$21,112Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$84,448Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Maine at Presque Isle.

Financial Aid by Income Level

24.35% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
23.14% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Maine at Presque Isle was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Maine at Presque Isle in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,300$17,260$10,867
2014$7,300$10,600$10,247
2015$7,300$10,600$10,470
2016$7,436$11,066$10,172
2017$7,885$11,995$9,892
2018$8,035$12,235$10,405
2019$8,330$12,620$10,637
2020$8,585$12,995$10,823
2021$8,495$12,905$9,266
2022$8,750$13,160$8,948
2023$8,990$14,270$10,028

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

99.87%Acceptance rate
755Total applicants
733Students admitted
132First-time students enrolled
18.01%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Maine at Presque Isle reported total enrollment of about 1,913 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (52.5%), Black or African American (13.0%), and Hispanic or Latino (11.3%). About 24.35% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 36.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

66.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Maine at Presque Isle in 2024 is 1,913 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,608 students. Graduate enrollment is about 115 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

58.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

52.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian52.5%
  • Black or African American13.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino11.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien10.8%
  • Two or More Races4.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.9%
  • Asian2.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

23.90% 100% Completion Time

51.55% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 23.90% of students graduating from University of Maine at Presque Isle completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 55% male / 45% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 64% male / 36% female
  • Social Sciences, Other: 60% male / 40% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

322White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian322
  • Hispanic or Latino75
  • Black or African American70
  • Asian26
  • Two or More Races25
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Maine at Presque Isle graduates earn a median of $40,956 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Maine at Presque Isle.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,956. Median federal loan debt: $16,000. Average net price used in cost models: $7,035.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Maine at Presque Isle graduates report median earnings of $40,956 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,355%Modeled return on investment
$16,000Median student debt
$40,956Median annual earnings (10 years)
39.07%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Maine at Presque Isle.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (23 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Sciences, Other 35
  2. Accounting 25
  3. Corrections and Criminal Justice, Other 20
  4. Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 16

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Maine at Presque Isle.

Employment Outcomes

$40,956Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,793Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$37,342Median earnings (8 years after entry)
9.53%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Maine at Presque Isle graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Maine at Presque Isle—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.3M

Year change: $73,000

  • Maine median 0.09× the median ($15.4M)
  • New England median 0.03× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 0.05× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,042

  • Maine median 0.09× the median ($12,087)
  • New England median 0.04× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 0.09× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 48.1%
    • Maine median 5.0 pp below median (53.1%)
    • New England median 5.2 pp below median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 9.9 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,782
    • Maine median near the median ($7,625)
    • New England median 0.84× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,285
    • Maine median 0.55× the median ($9,650)
    • New England median 0.52× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 0.73× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Maine at Presque Isle at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Maine at Presque Isle

Presque Isle, ME 04769-2888 · Public · New England

University of Maine at Presque Isle is a public institution in Presque Isle, ME, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$9,402
Avg. net price$7,035
Enrollment1,913
Acceptance rate99.87%
Completion (150%)51.55%
Pell Grant share24.35%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralSocial Sciences, Other
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian52.5%
Black or African American13.0%
Hispanic or Latino11.3%
Nearby

Schools near University of Maine at Presque Isle

Other campuses in Presque Isle, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Maine at Presque Isle located?

University of Maine at Presque Isle is located in Presque Isle, ME.

What is University of Maine at Presque Isle's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Maine at Presque Isle is 99.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 755 applicants and 733 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Maine at Presque Isle's tuition?

University of Maine at Presque Isle tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,402 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $7,035 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Maine at Presque Isle cost?

Reported tuition is $9,402 and average net price is $7,035 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,710 annually.

Why is University of Maine at Presque Isle's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Maine at Presque Isle, published tuition is $9,402 while average net price is $7,035—about 25% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of Maine at Presque Isle's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,035), completion (51.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,956). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Maine at Presque Isle?

University of Maine at Presque Isle reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,608 students, White (52.5%), Black or African American (13.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Maine at Presque Isle?

About 36.7% of students at University of Maine at Presque Isle are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of Maine at Presque Isle earn?

Median earnings are $33,793 six years after entry and $40,956 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Maine at Presque Isle?

The 150%-time completion rate is 51.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Maine at Presque Isle students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $16,000.

Is University of Maine at Presque Isle public or private?

University of Maine at Presque Isle is a public institution located in Presque Isle, ME.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.