University of Maine - Machias
Machias, ME 046541397
About University of Maine - Machias
University of Maine - Machias is a public four-year university in Machias, Maine. University of Maine - Machias awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $10,050 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $48,653 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 23% below.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,653.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Maine - Machias | $10,050 | — | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Maine (state median) | $12,983 | $8,205 | 28 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Maine - Machias really?
Key findings
- University of Maine - Machias charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($10,050).
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is 23% below.
University of Maine - Machias tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $10,050
Finding University of Maine - Machias charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $10,050. That is about 1.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is 23% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 16% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Maine - Machias versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
University of Maine - Machias: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Maine - Machias—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$10,050
Out-of-state tuition
$18,540
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $40,200. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
Is University of Maine - Machias a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Maine - Machias is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Maine - Machias.
Campus
Location
Machias, ME
City / state
- ZIP
- 046541397
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- New England
Student aid
Debt & aid
$25,000
Median federal loan debt
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Maine - Machias.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Maine - Machias was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Maine - Machias in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2021–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $8,910 | $16,650 | — |
| 2022 | $8,910 | $16,650 | — |
| 2023 | $9,420 | $17,670 | — |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Roughly 23.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
N/A% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Maine - Machias in 2024 is N/A students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from University of Maine - Machias completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
University of Maine - Machias graduates earn a median of $48,653 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Maine - Machias.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $48,653. Median federal loan debt: $25,000.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Maine - Machias graduates report median earnings of $48,653 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Maine - Machias.
Program completion data is not available for this institution.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Maine - Machias graduates.
University of Maine - Machias at a glance
University of Maine - Machias
University of Maine - Machias is a public institution in Machias, ME.
Schools near University of Maine - Machias
Other campuses in Machias, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of Maine - Machias located?
University of Maine - Machias is located in Machias, ME.
What is University of Maine - Machias's tuition?
University of Maine - Machias tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $10,050 in the latest College Scorecard data.
How much does University of Maine - Machias cost?
Reported tuition is $10,050 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of Maine - Machias?
About 23.4% of students at University of Maine - Machias are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of University of Maine - Machias earn?
Median earnings are $43,124 six years after entry and $48,653 ten years after entry.
How much debt do University of Maine - Machias students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,000.
Is University of Maine - Machias public or private?
University of Maine - Machias is a public institution located in Machias, ME.
Is University of Maine - Machias an HBCU?
No. University of Maine - Machias is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is University of Maine - Machias a tribal college?
No. University of Maine - Machias is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is University of Maine - Machias religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for University of Maine - Machias in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.