Active Report Report ID: EDU-493132-2026

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield

Bloomfield, NJ 07003-3002

Avg. net price$28,042After aid
Graduation rate66.79%150% time
Median salary$51,22210yr post-entry
ROI357%10yr vs net cost

About Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is a private for-profit trade school in Bloomfield, New Jersey, enrolling about 1,428 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 66.79% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $51,222 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $51,222.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 357% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield$28,0421
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
New Jersey (state median)$12,950$11,02484
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is $28,042.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $28,042 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $17,018 above the New Jersey median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $9,342 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$28,042

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$26,232
$30,001–$48,000$26,372
$48,001–$75,000$28,567
$75,001–$110,000$31,526
$110,001+$32,889

Student outcomes

First-year retention87.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$47,254Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield.

Campus

Location

Bloomfield, NJ

City / state

ZIP
07003-3002
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 50% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

1,428

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,921
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$14,267

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
55.54%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$112,168Estimated 4-year total cost
$28,042Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield.

Financial Aid by Income Level

55.54% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
69.04% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20192023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2019$21,715
2020$23,763
2021$24,156
2022$24,030
2023$26,052

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield reported total enrollment of about 1,428 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 96% male and 4% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (51.3%), White (16.5%), and Black or African American (10.6%). About 55.54% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 56.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield in 2024 is 1,428 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,921 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

87.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

51.3%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino51.3%
  • White or Caucasian16.5%
  • Black or African American10.6%
  • Two or More Races10.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown8.1%
  • Asian2.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

29.13% 100% Completion Time

66.79% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 29.13% of students graduating from Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician: 96% male / 4% female
  • Welding Technology/Welder: 93% male / 7% female
  • Diesel Mechanics Technology/Technician: 95% male / 5% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

274Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino274
  • White or Caucasian131
  • Black or African American67
  • Two or More Races62
  • Asian18
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield graduates earn a median of $51,222 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $51,222. Median federal loan debt: $14,267. Average net price used in cost models: $28,042.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield graduates report median earnings of $51,222 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

357%Modeled return on investment
$14,267Median student debt
$51,222Median annual earnings (10 years)
27.85%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield.

Employment Outcomes

$51,222Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$47,254Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$49,933Median earnings (8 years after entry)
85.54%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,929
    • New Jersey median 0.54× the median ($7,319)
    • Mid East median 0.43× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 0.54× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield at a glance

Institution snapshot

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield

Bloomfield, NJ 07003-3002 · Private For-profit · Mid East

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is a private for-profit institution in Bloomfield, NJ.

Avg. net price$28,042
Enrollment1,428
Completion (150%)66.79%
Pell Grant share55.54%
First-generation56.6%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/TechnicianWelding Technology/WelderDiesel Mechanics Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino51.3%
White or Caucasian16.5%
Black or African American10.6%
Nearby

Schools near Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield

Other campuses in Bloomfield, NJ when available, plus nearby institutions in New Jersey.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New Jersey, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield located?

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is located in Bloomfield, NJ.

How much does Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $28,042 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($28,042), completion (66.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($51,222). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield?

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,921 students, Hispanic or Latino (51.3%), White (16.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield?

About 56.6% of students at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield earn?

Median earnings are $47,254 six years after entry and $51,222 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield?

The 150%-time completion rate is 66.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,267.

Is Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield public or private?

Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is a private for-profit institution located in Bloomfield, NJ.

Is Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield an HBCU?

No. Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield a tribal college?

No. Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield reports 51.3% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.