Active Report Report ID: EDU-110705-2026

University of California-Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA 93106

Acceptance rate32.97%Selective
Tuition$16,414Published sticker
Avg. net price$16,109After aid
Graduation rate83.03%150% time
Median salary$74,91510yr post-entry

About University of California-Santa Barbara

University of California-Santa Barbara is a public research university in Santa Barbara, California, with about 23,113 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 32.97% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $74,915 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of California-Santa Barbara charges about 3.0× the national public median tuition ($16,414).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 83.03%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $74,915.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of California-Santa Barbara is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1063% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of California-Santa Barbara awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 82 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of California-Santa Barbara$16,414$16,1091
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 2% below published tuition at University of California-Santa Barbara

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of California-Santa Barbara's average net price ($16,109) is 2% below published tuition ($16,414).
  • University of California-Santa Barbara charges about 3.0× the national public median tuition ($16,414).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
Published sticker

University of California-Santa Barbara tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $16,414

Finding University of California-Santa Barbara charges about 3.0× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $16,414. That is about 3.0× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 2.0×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 38% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of California-Santa Barbara versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of California-Santa Barbara versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of California-Santa Barbara is $16,109.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,109 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,766 above the California median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $2,591 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of California-Santa Barbara’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 2% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of California-Santa Barbara: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of California-Santa Barbara—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$16,414

Out-of-state tuition

$50,614

Avg. net price

$16,109

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$9,231
$30,001–$48,000$9,992
$48,001–$75,000$12,588
$75,001–$110,000$17,136
$110,001+$31,863

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $65,656. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention93.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$56,852Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 16% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of California-Santa Barbara a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of California-Santa Barbara is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of California-Santa Barbara.

Campus

Location

Santa Barbara, CA

City / state

ZIP
93106
NCES locale
Rural distant

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 14% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

23,113

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
24,637
Graduate
2,952
Full-time share
98%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$13,993

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
27.85%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$64,436Estimated 4-year total cost
$16,109Average annual net price (after aid)
$65,6564-year in-state tuition
$202,4564-year out-of-state tuition
$20,279Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,381Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$38,074Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$152,296Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of California-Santa Barbara.

Financial Aid by Income Level

27.85% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
18.11% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of California-Santa Barbara was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of California-Santa Barbara in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$13,746$36,624$14,142
2014$13,865$36,743$15,755
2015$13,968$38,676$14,748
2016$14,073$40,755$14,900
2017$14,451$42,465$15,801
2018$14,391$43,383$16,236
2019$14,391$44,145$15,884
2020$14,406$44,160$16,252
2021$14,417$44,171$15,458
2022$14,617$44,689$15,482
2023$14,965$45,742$13,825

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

32.97%Acceptance rate
110,871Total applicants
30,804Students admitted
5,043First-time students enrolled
16.37%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of California-Santa Barbara reported total enrollment of about 23,113 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 42% male and 58% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (31.8%), Hispanic or Latino (27.2%), and Asian (17.9%). About 27.85% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 42.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

98.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of California-Santa Barbara in 2024 is 23,113 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 24,637 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,952 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

93.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

31.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian31.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino27.2%
  • Asian17.9%
  • Two or More Races9.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien8.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.7%
  • Black or African American2.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

70.00% 100% Completion Time

83.03% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 70.00% of students graduating from University of California-Santa Barbara completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Econometrics and Quantitative Economics: 62% male / 38% female
  • Sociology, General: 27% male / 73% female
  • Communication and Media Studies: 30% male / 70% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

2,782White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian2,782
  • Hispanic or Latino1,743
  • Asian1,425
  • Two or More Races607
  • Black or African American124
  • American Indian or Alaska Native14
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander12

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of California-Santa Barbara graduates earn a median of $74,915 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of California-Santa Barbara.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $74,915. Median federal loan debt: $13,993. Average net price used in cost models: $16,109.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of California-Santa Barbara graduates report median earnings of $74,915 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,063%Modeled return on investment
$13,993Median student debt
$74,915Median annual earnings (10 years)
18.68%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of California-Santa Barbara.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (82 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Econometrics and Quantitative Economics 729
  2. Communication and Media Studies 649
  3. Computer Science 245

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of California-Santa Barbara.

Employment Outcomes

$74,915Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$56,852Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$68,092Median earnings (8 years after entry)
90.90%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of California-Santa Barbara graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of California-Santa Barbara—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$377M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $352.4M

Year change: $24.7M

  • California median 19× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 22× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 14× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $14,322

  • California median 1.9× the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median 2.0× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 89.9%
    • California median 50.6 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 44.3 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 32.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $20,677
    • California median 2.0× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 2.1× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 2.7× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $17,118
    • California median 2.6× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 2.4× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 2.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of California-Santa Barbara at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of California-Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA 93106 · Public · Far West

University of California-Santa Barbara is a public institution in Santa Barbara, CA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$16,414
Avg. net price$16,109
Enrollment23,113
Acceptance rate32.97%
Completion (150%)83.03%
Pell Grant share27.85%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Econometrics and Quantitative EconomicsSociology, GeneralCommunication and Media Studies
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian31.8%
Hispanic or Latino27.2%
Asian17.9%
Nearby

Schools near University of California-Santa Barbara

Other campuses in Santa Barbara, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of California-Santa Barbara located?

University of California-Santa Barbara is located in Santa Barbara, CA.

What is University of California-Santa Barbara's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of California-Santa Barbara is 33.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 110,871 applicants and 30,804 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of California-Santa Barbara's tuition?

University of California-Santa Barbara tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,414 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,109 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of California-Santa Barbara cost?

Reported tuition is $16,414 and average net price is $16,109 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $20,279 annually.

Why is University of California-Santa Barbara's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of California-Santa Barbara, published tuition is $16,414 while average net price is $16,109—about 2% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of California-Santa Barbara's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,109), completion (83.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($74,915). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of California-Santa Barbara?

University of California-Santa Barbara reports undergraduate enrollment of about 24,637 students, White (31.8%), Hispanic or Latino (27.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of California-Santa Barbara?

About 42.4% of students at University of California-Santa Barbara are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of California-Santa Barbara earn?

Median earnings are $56,852 six years after entry and $74,915 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of California-Santa Barbara?

The 150%-time completion rate is 83.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of California-Santa Barbara students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,993.

Is University of California-Santa Barbara public or private?

University of California-Santa Barbara is a public institution located in Santa Barbara, CA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.