Active Report Report ID: EDU-171137-2026

University of Michigan-Dearborn

Dearborn, MI 48128-1491

Acceptance rate55.61%Selective
Tuition$15,640Published sticker
Avg. net price$9,492After aid
Graduation rate57.98%150% time
Median salary$59,64910yr post-entry

About University of Michigan-Dearborn

University of Michigan-Dearborn is a public research university in Dearborn, Michigan, serving roughly 5,952 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 55.61% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $59,649 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Michigan-Dearborn charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,640).
  • Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is 3% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 57.98%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $59,649.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Michigan-Dearborn is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1471% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Michigan-Dearborn awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 94 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Michigan-Dearborn$15,640$9,4921
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Michigan (state median)$15,221$7,36896
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 39% below published tuition at University of Michigan-Dearborn

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Michigan-Dearborn's average net price ($9,492) is 39% below published tuition ($15,640).
  • University of Michigan-Dearborn charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,640).
  • Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is 3% above.
Published sticker

University of Michigan-Dearborn tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $15,640

Finding University of Michigan-Dearborn charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $15,640. That is about 2.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Michigan median ($15,221), sticker tuition is 3% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 31% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Michigan-Dearborn versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Michigan-Dearborn versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Michigan-Dearborn is $9,492.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,492 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,124 above the Michigan median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $8,556 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Michigan-Dearborn’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 39% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Michigan-Dearborn: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Michigan-Dearborn—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$15,640

Out-of-state tuition

$32,896

Avg. net price

$9,492

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$7,211
$30,001–$48,000$6,284
$48,001–$75,000$7,997
$75,001–$110,000$13,630
$110,001+$17,529

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $62,560. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention82.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$50,389Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 16% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1115
  • Midpoint ACT: 25

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Michigan-Dearborn a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Michigan-Dearborn is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Campus

Location

Dearborn, MI

City / state

ZIP
48128-1491
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

5,952

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
6,897
Graduate
1,917
Full-time share
85%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$22,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
46.24%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$37,968Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,492Average annual net price (after aid)
$62,5604-year in-state tuition
$131,5844-year out-of-state tuition
$11,241Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,300Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$28,181Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$112,724Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Financial Aid by Income Level

46.24% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
36.34% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Michigan-Dearborn was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Michigan-Dearborn in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$10,614$23,124$9,800
2014$10,952$23,150$12,227
2015$11,304$23,520$12,220
2016$12,032$24,272$12,200
2017$12,472$24,706$10,940
2018$12,930$25,158$11,208
2019$13,304$26,420$11,473
2020$13,552$27,520$12,855
2021$13,816$28,048$11,905
2022$14,320$29,584$12,102
2023$14,944$31,360$10,904

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

55.61%Acceptance rate
12,373Total applicants
7,254Students admitted
1,157First-time students enrolled
15.95%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1115SAT average
25ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Michigan-Dearborn reported total enrollment of about 5,952 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 52% male and 48% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (63.4%), Asian (10.7%), and Black or African American (8.2%). About 46.24% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 38.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

84.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Michigan-Dearborn in 2024 is 5,952 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 6,897 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,917 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

82.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

63.4%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian63.4%
  • Asian10.7%
  • Black or African American8.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino6.8%
  • Two or More Races5.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien3.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

32.58% 100% Completion Time

57.98% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 32.58% of students graduating from University of Michigan-Dearborn completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Computer and Information Sciences, General: 67% male / 33% female
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering: 87% male / 13% female
  • Mechanical Engineering: 83% male / 17% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,293White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,293
  • Asian149
  • Black or African American109
  • Hispanic or Latino108
  • Two or More Races82
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Michigan-Dearborn graduates earn a median of $59,649 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $59,649. Median federal loan debt: $22,500. Average net price used in cost models: $9,492.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Michigan-Dearborn graduates report median earnings of $59,649 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,471%Modeled return on investment
$22,500Median student debt
$59,649Median annual earnings (10 years)
37.72%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (94 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Engineering, Other 96
  2. Computational Science 88

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Employment Outcomes

$59,649Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$50,389Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$57,847Median earnings (8 years after entry)
88.11%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Michigan-Dearborn graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Michigan-Dearborn—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$85.8M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $86.8M

Year change: -$1M

  • Michigan median 2.8× the median ($30.9M)
  • Great Lakes median 2.7× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 3.2× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $13,320

  • Michigan median near the median ($13,320)
  • Great Lakes median 0.80× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 68.8%
    • Michigan median 4.7 pp above median (64.1%)
    • Great Lakes median 10.7 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 10.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,247
    • Michigan median 1.3× the median ($8,917)
    • Great Lakes median 1.4× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $12,893
    • Michigan median 1.8× the median ($7,240)
    • Great Lakes median 1.7× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Michigan-Dearborn at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Michigan-Dearborn

Dearborn, MI 48128-1491 · Public · Great Lakes

University of Michigan-Dearborn is a public institution in Dearborn, MI, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$15,640
Avg. net price$9,492
Enrollment5,952
Acceptance rate55.61%
Completion (150%)57.98%
Average SAT1115
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralElectrical and Electronics EngineeringMechanical Engineering
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian63.4%
Asian10.7%
Black or African American8.2%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near University of Michigan-Dearborn

Other campuses in Dearborn, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Michigan, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Michigan-Dearborn located?

University of Michigan-Dearborn is located in Dearborn, MI.

What is University of Michigan-Dearborn's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Michigan-Dearborn is 55.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 12,373 applicants and 7,254 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Michigan-Dearborn's tuition?

University of Michigan-Dearborn tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $15,640 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,492 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Michigan-Dearborn cost?

Reported tuition is $15,640 and average net price is $9,492 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,241 annually.

Why is University of Michigan-Dearborn's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Michigan-Dearborn, published tuition is $15,640 while average net price is $9,492—about 39% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of Michigan-Dearborn's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,492), completion (58.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($59,649). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Michigan-Dearborn?

University of Michigan-Dearborn reports undergraduate enrollment of about 6,897 students, White (63.4%), Asian (10.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Michigan-Dearborn?

About 38.2% of students at University of Michigan-Dearborn are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Michigan-Dearborn?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Michigan-Dearborn reports midpoint SAT about 1115 and midpoint ACT about 25.

What do graduates of University of Michigan-Dearborn earn?

Median earnings are $50,389 six years after entry and $59,649 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Michigan-Dearborn?

The 150%-time completion rate is 58.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Michigan-Dearborn students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,500.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.