Active Report Report ID: EDU-199111-2026

University of North Carolina Asheville

Asheville, NC 28804-8510

Acceptance rate91.92%Broad access
Tuition$7,501Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,250After aid
Graduation rate54.48%150% time
Median salary$44,03010yr post-entry

About University of North Carolina Asheville

University of North Carolina Asheville is a public four-year university in Asheville, North Carolina, serving roughly 2,910 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 91.92% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,030 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of North Carolina Asheville charges 36% above the national public median tuition ($7,501).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is 9% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 54.48%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,030.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of North Carolina Asheville is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 799% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of North Carolina Asheville$7,501$12,2501
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
North Carolina (state median)$6,906$6,820133
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of North Carolina Asheville really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of North Carolina Asheville charges 36% above the national public median tuition ($7,501).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is 9% above.
Published sticker

University of North Carolina Asheville tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $7,501

Finding University of North Carolina Asheville charges 36% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $7,501. That is 36% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the North Carolina median ($6,906), sticker tuition is 9% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 37% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of North Carolina Asheville versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of North Carolina Asheville versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of North Carolina Asheville is $12,250.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,250 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,430 above the North Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,721 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of North Carolina Asheville, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of North Carolina Asheville: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of North Carolina Asheville—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$7,501

Out-of-state tuition

$24,849

Avg. net price

$12,250

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,219
$30,001–$48,000$8,735
$48,001–$75,000$11,570
$75,001–$110,000$15,854
$110,001+$18,786

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $30,004. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention72.1%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$36,947Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1251
  • Midpoint ACT: 26

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of North Carolina Asheville a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of North Carolina Asheville is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of North Carolina Asheville.

Campus

Location

Asheville, NC

City / state

ZIP
28804-8510
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 18% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

2,910

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,349
Graduate
24
Full-time share
92%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
32.37%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$49,000Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,250Average annual net price (after aid)
$30,0044-year in-state tuition
$99,3964-year out-of-state tuition
$13,992Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$22,693Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$90,772Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of North Carolina Asheville.

Financial Aid by Income Level

32.37% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
38.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of North Carolina Asheville was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of North Carolina Asheville in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$6,241$20,063$11,765
2014$6,392$21,263$12,421
2015$6,605$22,219$14,623
2016$6,977$23,372$12,145
2017$7,145$23,868$12,799
2018$7,145$23,868$12,794
2019$7,231$24,579$12,061
2020$7,244$24,592$12,551
2021$7,319$24,667$13,069
2022$7,380$24,728$13,637
2023$7,461$24,809$12,865

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

91.92%Acceptance rate
5,465Total applicants
5,131Students admitted
630First-time students enrolled
12.28%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1251SAT average
26ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of North Carolina Asheville reported total enrollment of about 2,910 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 41% male and 59% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (72.7%), Hispanic or Latino (10.3%), and Black or African American (6.0%). About 32.37% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 21.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

92.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of North Carolina Asheville in 2024 is 2,910 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,349 students. Graduate enrollment is about 24 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

72.1%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

72.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian72.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino10.3%
  • Black or African American6.0%
  • Two or More Races4.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.5%
  • Asian2.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

43.22% 100% Completion Time

54.48% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 43.22% of students graduating from University of North Carolina Asheville completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 14% male / 86% female
  • Environmental Studies: 31% male / 69% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 33% male / 67% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

522White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian522
  • Hispanic or Latino73
  • Black or African American33
  • Two or More Races33
  • Asian7
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of North Carolina Asheville graduates earn a median of $44,030 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of North Carolina Asheville.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,030. Median federal loan debt: $20,500. Average net price used in cost models: $12,250.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of North Carolina Asheville graduates report median earnings of $44,030 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

799%Modeled return on investment
$20,500Median student debt
$44,030Median annual earnings (10 years)
46.56%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of North Carolina Asheville.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (35 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Digital Arts 41
  2. English Language and Literature, General 30

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of North Carolina Asheville.

Employment Outcomes

$44,030Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$36,947Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,255Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.56%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of North Carolina Asheville graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of North Carolina Asheville—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$71.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $70M

Year change: $1.3M

  • North Carolina median 6.0× the median ($12M)
  • Southeast median 3.7× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 2.7× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $26,994

  • North Carolina median 3.3× the median ($8,184)
  • Southeast median 2.9× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 82.8%
    • North Carolina median 33.7 pp above median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 23.4 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 24.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,155
    • North Carolina median 1.4× the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $13,642
    • North Carolina median 1.7× the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 2.1× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of North Carolina Asheville at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of North Carolina Asheville

Asheville, NC 28804-8510 · Public · Southeast

University of North Carolina Asheville is a public institution in Asheville, NC, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$7,501
Avg. net price$12,250
Enrollment2,910
Acceptance rate91.92%
Completion (150%)54.48%
Average SAT1251
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralEnvironmental StudiesBiology/Biological Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian72.7%
Hispanic or Latino10.3%
Black or African American6.0%
Nearby

Schools near University of North Carolina Asheville

Other campuses in Asheville, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of North Carolina Asheville located?

University of North Carolina Asheville is located in Asheville, NC.

What is University of North Carolina Asheville's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of North Carolina Asheville is 91.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,465 applicants and 5,131 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of North Carolina Asheville's tuition?

University of North Carolina Asheville tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,501 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,250 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of North Carolina Asheville cost?

Reported tuition is $7,501 and average net price is $12,250 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,992 annually.

What explains University of North Carolina Asheville's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,250), completion (54.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,030). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of North Carolina Asheville?

University of North Carolina Asheville reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,349 students, White (72.7%), Hispanic or Latino (10.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of North Carolina Asheville?

About 21.8% of students at University of North Carolina Asheville are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of North Carolina Asheville?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of North Carolina Asheville reports midpoint SAT about 1251 and midpoint ACT about 26.

What do graduates of University of North Carolina Asheville earn?

Median earnings are $36,947 six years after entry and $44,030 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of North Carolina Asheville?

The 150%-time completion rate is 54.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of North Carolina Asheville students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,500.

Is University of North Carolina Asheville public or private?

University of North Carolina Asheville is a public institution located in Asheville, NC.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.