Active Report Report ID: EDU-484631-2026

University of Phoenix-California

Ontario, CA 91761

Graduation rate21.95%150% time
Median salary$37,75210yr post-entry
Enrollment24Total students

About University of Phoenix-California

University of Phoenix-California is a private for-profit university in Ontario, California, enrolling about 24 students. University of Phoenix-California awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $37,752 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,752.
School guide

University of Phoenix-California: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Phoenix-California—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Student outcomes

$35,359Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is University of Phoenix-California a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Phoenix-California is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Phoenix-California.

Campus

Location

Ontario, CA

City / state

ZIP
91761
NCES locale
Suburb

See Suburban college profile for median costs and outcomes at similar campuses.

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

24

Total enrollment

Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$31,553

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
29.68%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Phoenix-California.

Financial Aid by Income Level

29.68% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
39.35% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Phoenix-California was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Phoenix-California in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20142020 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2014$10,541$10,541$18,356
2015$9,818$9,818$17,964
2016$9,802$9,802$17,795
2017$9,858$9,858$15,420
2018$9,552$9,552$16,295
2019$9,552$9,552$12,664
2020$9,552$9,552$13,172

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Phoenix-California reported total enrollment of about 24 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 38% male and 62% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Race/ethnicity unknown (58.3%), Hispanic or Latino (33.3%), and Black or African American (4.2%). About 29.68% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 54.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Phoenix-California in 2024 is 24 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

58.3%Race/ethnicity unknown
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Race/ethnicity unknown58.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino33.3%
  • Black or African American4.2%
  • Two or More Races4.2%
  • White or Caucasian0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

5.00% 100% Completion Time

21.95% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 5.00% of students graduating from University of Phoenix-California completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Marriage and Family Therapy/Counseling: 19% male / 81% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 62% male / 38% female
  • Human Resources Management/Personnel Administration, General: 9% male / 91% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

60Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino60
  • White or Caucasian18
  • Black or African American12
  • Asian7
  • Two or More Races5
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Phoenix-California graduates earn a median of $37,752 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Phoenix-California.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $37,752. Median federal loan debt: $31,553.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Phoenix-California graduates report median earnings of $37,752 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

$37,752Median annual earnings (10 years)
$31,553Median student debt
83.58%Debt-to-earnings ratio
8.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Phoenix-California.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (16 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Behavioral Sciences 2

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Phoenix-California.

Employment Outcomes

$37,752Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$35,359Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$36,644Median earnings (8 years after entry)
78.44%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Phoenix-California graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Phoenix-California—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,480
    • California median 0.23× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.21× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.20× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

University of Phoenix-California at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Phoenix-California

Ontario, CA 91761 · Private For-profit · Far West

University of Phoenix-California is a private for-profit institution in Ontario, CA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Enrollment24
Completion (150%)21.95%
Pell Grant share29.68%
First-generation54.4%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Marriage and Family Therapy/CounselingBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralHuman Resources Management/Personnel Administration, General
Largest enrollment groups
Race/ethnicity unknown58.3%
Hispanic or Latino33.3%
Black or African American4.2%
Nearby

Schools near University of Phoenix-California

Other campuses in Ontario, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Phoenix-California located?

University of Phoenix-California is located in Ontario, CA.

How much does University of Phoenix-California cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at University of Phoenix-California?

University of Phoenix-California reports total enrollment of about 24 students, Race/ethnicity unknown (58.3%), Hispanic or Latino (33.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Phoenix-California?

About 54.4% of students at University of Phoenix-California are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of Phoenix-California earn?

Median earnings are $35,359 six years after entry and $37,752 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Phoenix-California?

The 150%-time completion rate is 21.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Phoenix-California students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $31,553.

Is University of Phoenix-California public or private?

University of Phoenix-California is a private for-profit institution located in Ontario, CA.

Is University of Phoenix-California an HBCU?

No. University of Phoenix-California is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is University of Phoenix-California a tribal college?

No. University of Phoenix-California is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is University of Phoenix-California religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for University of Phoenix-California in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.