University of the Ozarks
Clarksville, AR 72830
About University of the Ozarks
University of the Ozarks is a private university in Clarksville, Arkansas, enrolling about 767 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 59.51% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,384 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of the Ozarks charges 12% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($25,950).
- Versus the Arkansas median, sticker tuition is about 3.5×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 51.48%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,384.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of the Ozarks is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 539% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of the Ozarks | $25,950 | $17,360 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Arkansas (state median) | $7,334 | $9,144 | 51 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 33% below published tuition at University of the Ozarks
Key findings
- University of the Ozarks's average net price ($17,360) is 33% below published tuition ($25,950).
- University of the Ozarks charges 12% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($25,950).
- Versus the Arkansas median, sticker tuition is about 3.5×.
University of the Ozarks tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $25,950
Finding University of the Ozarks charges 12% below the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $25,950. That is 12% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Arkansas median ($7,334), sticker tuition is about 3.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.2×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of the Ozarks versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of the Ozarks versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of the Ozarks is $17,360.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,360 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,216 above the Arkansas median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,389 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway University of the Ozarks’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 33% lower after grants and scholarships.
University of the Ozarks: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of the Ozarks—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$25,950
Avg. net price
$17,360
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $14,664 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $14,551 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $19,291 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $18,632 |
| $110,001+ | $22,836 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $103,800. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of the Ozarks is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General51
- Public Health Education and Promotion26
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General20
- Psychology, General20
- Environmental Studies9
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
- Yield: 17% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1105
- Midpoint ACT: 21
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of the Ozarks a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of the Ozarks is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of the Ozarks.
Campus
Location
Clarksville, AR
City / state
- ZIP
- 72830
- NCES locale
- Town remote
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 16% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions
Size
Enrollment
767
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 837
- Full-time share
- 99%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$20,875
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 39.84%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of the Ozarks.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of the Ozarks was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of the Ozarks in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $24,350 | $24,350 | $15,402 |
| 2014 | $24,470 | $24,470 | $15,008 |
| 2015 | $24,440 | $24,440 | $14,723 |
| 2016 | $23,750 | $23,750 | $16,344 |
| 2017 | $23,750 | $23,750 | $17,349 |
| 2018 | $24,230 | $24,230 | $16,089 |
| 2019 | $25,950 | $25,950 | $12,924 |
| 2020 | $25,950 | $25,950 | $14,323 |
| 2021 | $24,950 | $24,950 | $14,522 |
| 2022 | $25,950 | $25,950 | $14,973 |
| 2023 | $25,950 | $25,950 | $13,516 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1105 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 21 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of the Ozarks reported total enrollment of about 767 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (43.5%), Non-Resident Alien (27.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (13.7%). About 39.84% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 34.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
99.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of the Ozarks in 2024 is 767 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 837 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
68.6%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
41.85% 100% Completion Time
51.48% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 41.85% of students graduating from University of the Ozarks completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 61% male / 39% female
- Public Health Education and Promotion: 42% male / 58% female
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 20% male / 80% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of the Ozarks graduates earn a median of $44,384 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of the Ozarks.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,384. Median federal loan debt: $20,875. Average net price used in cost models: $17,360.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of the Ozarks graduates report median earnings of $44,384 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of the Ozarks.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (20 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of the Ozarks.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of the Ozarks graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of the Ozarks—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$134.7M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Arkansas median 21× the median ($6.5M)
- Southeast median 6.9× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 5.1× the median ($26.4M)
- Arkansas median 22× the median ($7,616)
- Southeast median 18× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 14× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 96.3%
- Arkansas median 33.5 pp above median (62.8%)
- Southeast median 36.9 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 38.3 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,231
- Arkansas median 1.1× the median ($5,571)
- Southeast median 0.91× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 0.82× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $15,061
- Arkansas median 2.4× the median ($6,294)
- Southeast median 2.3× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 2.1× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of the Ozarks at a glance
University of the Ozarks
University of the Ozarks is a private non-profit institution in Clarksville, AR, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralPublic Health Education and PromotionBiology/Biological Sciences, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian43.5%Non-Resident Alien27.5%Hispanic or Latino13.7%
Schools near University of the Ozarks
Other campuses in Clarksville, AR when available, plus nearby institutions in Arkansas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Arkansas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of the Ozarks located?
University of the Ozarks is located in Clarksville, AR.
What is University of the Ozarks's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of the Ozarks is 59.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,916 applicants and 1,114 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of the Ozarks's tuition?
University of the Ozarks tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $25,950 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,360 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of the Ozarks cost?
Reported tuition is $25,950 and average net price is $17,360 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,603 annually.
Why is University of the Ozarks's net price so much lower than tuition?
At University of the Ozarks, published tuition is $25,950 while average net price is $17,360—about 33% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains University of the Ozarks's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,360), completion (51.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,384). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of the Ozarks?
University of the Ozarks reports undergraduate enrollment of about 837 students, White (43.5%), Non-Resident Alien (27.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of the Ozarks?
About 34.7% of students at University of the Ozarks are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for University of the Ozarks?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of the Ozarks reports midpoint SAT about 1105 and midpoint ACT about 21.
What do graduates of University of the Ozarks earn?
Median earnings are $37,651 six years after entry and $44,384 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of the Ozarks?
The 150%-time completion rate is 51.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of the Ozarks students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,875.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.