Utah Valley University
Orem, UT 84058-5999
About Utah Valley University
Utah Valley University is a public research university in Orem, Utah, enrolling about 28,453 students. Utah Valley University awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $6,507 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $55,486 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Utah Valley University charges 18% above the national public median tuition ($6,507).
- Versus the Utah median, sticker tuition is 25% below.
- Average net price runs below the Utah median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 45.11%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $55,486.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Utah Valley University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 2076% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Utah Valley University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 161 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Utah Valley University | $6,507 | $6,376 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Utah (state median) | $8,658 | $10,360 | 21 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 2% below published tuition at Utah Valley University
Key findings
- Utah Valley University's average net price ($6,376) is 2% below published tuition ($6,507).
- Utah Valley University charges 18% above the national public median tuition ($6,507).
- Versus the Utah median, sticker tuition is 25% below.
- Average net price runs below the Utah median net price.
Utah Valley University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $6,507
Finding Utah Valley University charges 18% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $6,507. That is 18% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Utah median ($8,658), sticker tuition is 25% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.5×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Utah Valley University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Utah Valley University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Utah Valley University is $6,376.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $6,376 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,984 below the Utah median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $8,595 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Utah Valley University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 2% lower after grants and scholarships.
Utah Valley University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Utah Valley University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$6,507
Out-of-state tuition
$18,489
Avg. net price
$6,376
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $3,904 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $4,231 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $5,664 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $8,115 |
| $110,001+ | $13,297 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $26,028. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Utah Valley University is known for
Top program completions
- General Studies3,612
- Business Administration and Management, General1,162
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies968
- Psychology, General459
- Design and Visual Communications, General439
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Utah Valley University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Utah Valley University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Utah Valley University.
Campus
Location
Orem, UT
City / state
- ZIP
- 84058-5999
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.4× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Rocky Mountains
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
28,453
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 56,745
- Graduate
- 997
- Full-time share
- 65%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$14,750
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 22.92%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Utah Valley University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Utah Valley University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Utah Valley University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $5,086 | $14,256 | $9,642 |
| 2014 | $5,270 | $14,802 | $8,218 |
| 2015 | $5,386 | $15,202 | $8,259 |
| 2016 | $5,530 | $15,690 | $8,199 |
| 2017 | $5,652 | $16,066 | $7,995 |
| 2018 | $5,726 | $16,296 | $7,572 |
| 2019 | $5,820 | $16,570 | $9,159 |
| 2020 | $5,906 | $16,806 | $9,955 |
| 2021 | $6,010 | $17,092 | $9,464 |
| 2022 | $6,270 | $17,830 | $9,011 |
| 2023 | $6,270 | $17,830 | $8,463 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Utah Valley University reported total enrollment of about 28,453 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 51% male and 49% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (76.1%), Hispanic or Latino (13.8%), and Two or More Races (3.9%). About 22.92% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 27.2% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
65.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Utah Valley University in 2024 is 28,453 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 56,745 students. Graduate enrollment is about 997 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
73.1%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
17.20% 100% Completion Time
45.11% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 17.20% of students graduating from Utah Valley University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- General Studies: 51% male / 49% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 68% male / 32% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 29% male / 71% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Utah Valley University graduates earn a median of $55,486 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Utah Valley University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $55,486. Median federal loan debt: $14,750. Average net price used in cost models: $6,376.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Utah Valley University graduates report median earnings of $55,486 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Utah Valley University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (161 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Utah Valley University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Utah Valley University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Utah Valley University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$98.6M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Utah median 1.7× the median ($57.7M)
- Rocky Mountains median 5.1× the median ($19.5M)
- U.S. median 3.7× the median ($26.4M)
- Utah median 0.59× the median ($5,500)
- Rocky Mountains median 0.32× the median ($10,274)
- U.S. median 0.27× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 39.1%
- Utah median 31.3 pp below median (70.5%)
- Rocky Mountains median 34.2 pp below median (73.3%)
- U.S. median 18.8 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,149
- Utah median 1.2× the median ($8,316)
- Rocky Mountains median 1.4× the median ($7,458)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,343
- Utah median near the median ($6,230)
- Rocky Mountains median 0.93× the median ($6,852)
- U.S. median 0.87× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Utah Valley University at a glance
Utah Valley University
Utah Valley University is a public institution in Orem, UT, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- General StudiesBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian76.1%Hispanic or Latino13.8%Two or More Races3.9%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near Utah Valley University
Other campuses in Orem, UT when available, plus nearby institutions in Utah.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Utah, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Utah Valley University located?
Utah Valley University is located in Orem, UT.
What is Utah Valley University's tuition?
Utah Valley University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,507 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $6,376 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Utah Valley University cost?
Reported tuition is $6,507 and average net price is $6,376 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,150 annually.
Why is Utah Valley University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Utah Valley University, published tuition is $6,507 while average net price is $6,376—about 2% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Utah Valley University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($6,376), completion (45.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($55,486). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Utah Valley University?
Utah Valley University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 56,745 students, White (76.1%), Hispanic or Latino (13.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Utah Valley University?
About 27.2% of students at Utah Valley University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Utah Valley University earn?
Median earnings are $46,825 six years after entry and $55,486 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Utah Valley University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 45.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Utah Valley University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,750.
Is Utah Valley University public or private?
Utah Valley University is a public institution located in Orem, UT.
Is Utah Valley University an HBCU?
No. Utah Valley University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.