Active Report Report ID: EDU-459541-2026

American Beauty Academy

Payson, UT 84651

Avg. net price$12,255After aid
Graduation rate30.00%150% time
Median salary$20,23610yr post-entry
ROI313%10yr vs net cost

About American Beauty Academy

American Beauty Academy is a private for-profit trade school in Payson, Utah, enrolling about 20 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 30.00% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $20,236 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $20,236.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at American Beauty Academy is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 313% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
American Beauty Academy$12,2551
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Utah (state median)$8,658$10,36021
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is American Beauty Academy really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at American Beauty Academy versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at American Beauty Academy is $12,255.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,255 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,895 above the Utah median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,716 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

American Beauty Academy: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for American Beauty Academy—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$12,255

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$12,255

Student outcomes

First-year retention100.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$17,560Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is American Beauty Academy a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

American Beauty Academy is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for American Beauty Academy.

Campus

Location

Payson, UT

City / state

ZIP
84651
NCES locale
Town fringe

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 18% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Rocky Mountains

Size

Enrollment

20

Total enrollment

Full-time share
50%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$10,060

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
56.25%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$49,020Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,255Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for American Beauty Academy.

Financial Aid by Income Level

56.25% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
65.63% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at American Beauty Academy was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for American Beauty Academy in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$8,448
2014$9,409
2015$7,983
2016$9,173
2017$6,638
2018$9,301
2019$9,162
2020$6,003
2021$10,421
2022$10,699
2023$11,055

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

American Beauty Academy reported total enrollment of about 20 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 0% male and 100% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (90.0%), Hispanic or Latino (5.0%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (5.0%). About 56.25% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

50.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at American Beauty Academy in 2024 is 20 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

100.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

90.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian90.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.0%
  • Black or African American0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

30.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from American Beauty Academy completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

11White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian11
  • Hispanic or Latino1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Black or African American0
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

American Beauty Academy graduates earn a median of $20,236 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of American Beauty Academy.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $20,236. Median federal loan debt: $10,060. Average net price used in cost models: $12,255.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway American Beauty Academy graduates report median earnings of $20,236 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

313%Modeled return on investment
$10,060Median student debt
$20,236Median annual earnings (10 years)
49.71%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for American Beauty Academy.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at American Beauty Academy.

Employment Outcomes

$20,236Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$17,560Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$17,207Median earnings (8 years after entry)
68.18%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for American Beauty Academy graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for American Beauty Academy—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,437
    • Utah median 0.23× the median ($6,230)
    • Rocky Mountains median 0.21× the median ($6,852)
    • U.S. median 0.20× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

American Beauty Academy at a glance

Institution snapshot

American Beauty Academy

Payson, UT 84651 · Private For-profit · Rocky Mountains

American Beauty Academy is a private for-profit institution in Payson, UT.

Avg. net price$12,255
Enrollment20
Completion (150%)30.00%
Pell Grant share56.25%
First-generation43.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian90.0%
Hispanic or Latino5.0%
Race/ethnicity unknown5.0%
Nearby

Schools near American Beauty Academy

Other campuses in Payson, UT when available, plus nearby institutions in Utah.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Utah, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is American Beauty Academy located?

American Beauty Academy is located in Payson, UT.

How much does American Beauty Academy cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $12,255 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains American Beauty Academy's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,255), completion (30.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($20,236). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at American Beauty Academy?

American Beauty Academy reports total enrollment of about 20 students, White (90.0%), Hispanic or Latino (5.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend American Beauty Academy?

About 43.3% of students at American Beauty Academy are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of American Beauty Academy earn?

Median earnings are $17,560 six years after entry and $20,236 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at American Beauty Academy?

The 150%-time completion rate is 30.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do American Beauty Academy students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $10,060.

Is American Beauty Academy public or private?

American Beauty Academy is a private for-profit institution located in Payson, UT.

Is American Beauty Academy an HBCU?

No. American Beauty Academy is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is American Beauty Academy a tribal college?

No. American Beauty Academy is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is American Beauty Academy religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for American Beauty Academy in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.