Designer Barber & Stylist School
Fort Smith, AR 72903-3753
About Designer Barber & Stylist School
Designer Barber & Stylist School is a private for-profit trade school in Fort Smith, Arkansas, enrolling about 95 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 67.65% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (44.2%) and White (22.1%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Designer Barber & Stylist School | — | $18,137 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Arkansas (state median) | $7,334 | $9,144 | 51 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Designer Barber & Stylist School really?
Evidence: average net price at Designer Barber & Stylist School versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Designer Barber & Stylist School is $18,137.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,137 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,993 above the Arkansas median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $3,166 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Designer Barber & Stylist School: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Designer Barber & Stylist School—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$18,137
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $17,939 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $19,532 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $17,683 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Designer Barber & Stylist School is known for
Top program completions
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Designer Barber & Stylist School a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Designer Barber & Stylist School is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Designer Barber & Stylist School.
Campus
Location
Fort Smith, AR
City / state
- ZIP
- 72903-3753
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 21% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
Size
Enrollment
95
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 155
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 51.70%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Designer Barber & Stylist School.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Designer Barber & Stylist School was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Designer Barber & Stylist School in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2014–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | — | — | $11,488 |
| 2015 | — | — | $16,220 |
| 2016 | — | — | $16,230 |
| 2017 | — | — | $16,645 |
| 2018 | — | — | $18,899 |
| 2020 | — | — | $17,681 |
| 2021 | — | — | $17,346 |
| 2022 | — | — | $15,833 |
| 2023 | — | — | $16,010 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Designer Barber & Stylist School reported total enrollment of about 95 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 82% male and 18% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (44.2%), White (22.1%), and Black or African American (21.1%). About 51.70% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Designer Barber & Stylist School in 2024 is 95 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 155 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
100.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
67.65% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Designer Barber & Stylist School completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Barbering/Barber: 81% male / 19% female
- Cosmetology, Barber/Styling, and Nail Instructor: 67% male / 33% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Designer Barber & Stylist School graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for Designer Barber & Stylist School from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Designer Barber & Stylist School.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 2 programs by IPEDS completions (3 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Designer Barber & Stylist School.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Designer Barber & Stylist School graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Designer Barber & Stylist School—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,042
- Arkansas median 0.48× the median ($6,294)
- Southeast median 0.46× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.42× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Designer Barber & Stylist School at a glance
Designer Barber & Stylist School
Designer Barber & Stylist School is a private for-profit institution in Fort Smith, AR.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Barbering/BarberCosmetology, Barber/Styling, and Nail Instructor
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino44.2%White or Caucasian22.1%Black or African American21.1%
Schools near Designer Barber & Stylist School
Other campuses in Fort Smith, AR when available, plus nearby institutions in Arkansas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Arkansas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Designer Barber & Stylist School located?
Designer Barber & Stylist School is located in Fort Smith, AR.
How much does Designer Barber & Stylist School cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $18,137 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What is the student body demographics at Designer Barber & Stylist School?
Designer Barber & Stylist School reports undergraduate enrollment of about 155 students, Hispanic or Latino (44.2%), White (22.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Designer Barber & Stylist School?
About 53.4% of students at Designer Barber & Stylist School are first-generation college students.
What is the graduation rate at Designer Barber & Stylist School?
The 150%-time completion rate is 67.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Designer Barber & Stylist School public or private?
Designer Barber & Stylist School is a private for-profit institution located in Fort Smith, AR.
Is Designer Barber & Stylist School an HBCU?
No. Designer Barber & Stylist School is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Designer Barber & Stylist School a tribal college?
No. Designer Barber & Stylist School is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Designer Barber & Stylist School a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Designer Barber & Stylist School reports 44.2% Hispanic enrollment share.
Is Designer Barber & Stylist School religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for Designer Barber & Stylist School in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.