Active Report Report ID: EDU-229425-2026

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen

McAllen, TX 78504

Avg. net price$11,507After aid
Graduation rate69.23%150% time
Median salary$19,88010yr post-entry
ROI332%10yr vs net cost

About UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is a private for-profit trade school in McAllen, Texas, enrolling about 53 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 69.23% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $19,880 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $19,880.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 332% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen$11,5071
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Texas (state median)$9,940$8,031184
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is $11,507.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $11,507 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,476 above the Texas median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $6,541 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$11,507

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$11,507

Student outcomes

First-year retention76.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$18,215Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen.

Campus

Location

McAllen, TX

City / state

ZIP
78504
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 36% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southwest

Size

Enrollment

53

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
132
Full-time share
36%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$6,447

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
47.79%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$46,028Estimated 4-year total cost
$11,507Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen.

Financial Aid by Income Level

47.79% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
36.73% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$11,477
2014$11,913
2015$13,110
2016$14,835
2017$15,461
2018$14,132
2019$14,067
2020$12,514
2021$13,196
2022$12,951
2023$11,720

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen reported total enrollment of about 53 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 0% male and 100% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (100.0%), White (0.0%), and Black or African American (0.0%). About 47.79% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 67.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

35.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen in 2024 is 53 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 132 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

76.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

100.0%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino100.0%
  • White or Caucasian0.0%
  • Black or African American0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

53.85% 100% Completion Time

69.23% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 53.85% of students graduating from UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female
  • Real Estate Development: 0% male / 100% female
  • Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

102Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino102
  • White or Caucasian0
  • Black or African American0
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen graduates earn a median of $19,880 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $19,880. Median federal loan debt: $6,447. Average net price used in cost models: $11,507.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen graduates report median earnings of $19,880 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

332%Modeled return on investment
$6,447Median student debt
$19,880Median annual earnings (10 years)
32.43%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Real Estate Development 29
  2. Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Arts, Other 13

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen.

Employment Outcomes

$19,880Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$18,215Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$18,717Median earnings (8 years after entry)
75.65%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,264
    • Texas median 0.45× the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 0.40× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.31× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen at a glance

Institution snapshot

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen

McAllen, TX 78504 · Private For-profit · Southwest

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is a private for-profit institution in McAllen, TX.

Avg. net price$11,507
Enrollment53
Completion (150%)69.23%
Pell Grant share47.79%
First-generation67.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralReal Estate DevelopmentAesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino100.0%
White or Caucasian0.0%
Black or African American0.0%
Nearby

Schools near UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen

Other campuses in McAllen, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen located?

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is located in McAllen, TX.

How much does UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $11,507 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($11,507), completion (69.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($19,880). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen?

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen reports undergraduate enrollment of about 132 students, Hispanic or Latino (100.0%), White (0.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen?

About 67.3% of students at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen earn?

Median earnings are $18,215 six years after entry and $19,880 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen?

The 150%-time completion rate is 69.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,447.

Is UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen public or private?

UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is a private for-profit institution located in McAllen, TX.

Is UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen an HBCU?

No. UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen a tribal college?

No. UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences-McAllen reports 100.0% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.