South Texas College
McAllen, TX 78501
About South Texas College
South Texas College is a public community college in McAllen, Texas, with about 15,856 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $1,751 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,920. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (94.9%) and White (2.2%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- South Texas College charges 11% below the national public median tuition ($4,920).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 27.29%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,788.
Research findings
Finding
Average net price at South Texas College is about 64% below published tuition.
Published tuition is $4,920; average net price is $1,751 in the latest Scorecard extract.
Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.
Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.
Finding
Modeled return on investment at South Texas College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 5152% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
South Texas College awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 73 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Texas College | $4,920 | $1,751 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 64% below published tuition at South Texas College
Key findings
- South Texas College's average net price ($1,751) is 64% below published tuition ($4,920).
- South Texas College charges 11% below the national public median tuition ($4,920).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
South Texas College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $4,920
Finding South Texas College charges 11% below the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $4,920. That is 11% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at South Texas College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at South Texas College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at South Texas College is $1,751.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $1,751 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,280 below the Texas median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $16,297 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway South Texas College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 64% lower after grants and scholarships.
South Texas College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for South Texas College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$4,920
Out-of-state tuition
$7,620
Avg. net price
$1,751
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $1,395 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $1,651 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $3,841 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $5,274 |
| $110,001+ | $5,020 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $19,680. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What South Texas College is known for
Top program completions
- General Studies1,107
- Welding Technology/Welder480
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies354
- Computer and Information Sciences, General345
- Business/Commerce, General300
See earnings & programs for more.
Is South Texas College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
South Texas College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 64% lower in this extract).
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for South Texas College.
Campus
Location
McAllen, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 78501
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 0.1× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs
Size
Enrollment
15,856
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 37,077
- Full-time share
- 45%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 38.80%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for South Texas College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at South Texas College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for South Texas College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $3,246 | $7,260 | $1,357 |
| 2014 | $3,306 | $4,464 | $1,158 |
| 2015 | $3,486 | $4,440 | $1,745 |
| 2016 | $3,606 | $4,560 | $1,717 |
| 2017 | $3,720 | $7,620 | $2,096 |
| 2018 | $3,780 | $7,680 | $1,445 |
| 2019 | $4,140 | $7,830 | $1,174 |
| 2020 | $4,230 | $7,920 | $1,504 |
| 2021 | $4,230 | $7,920 | $1,291 |
| 2022 | $4,230 | $7,500 | $1,522 |
| 2023 | $4,920 | $7,500 | $1,291 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
South Texas College reported total enrollment of about 15,856 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 42% male and 58% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (94.9%), White (2.2%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (1.3%). About 38.80% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 60.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
45.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at South Texas College in 2024 is 15,856 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 37,077 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
58.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
14.81% 100% Completion Time
27.29% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 14.81% of students graduating from South Texas College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- General Studies: 34% male / 66% female
- Welding Technology/Welder: 95% male / 5% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 42% male / 58% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
South Texas College graduates earn a median of $36,788 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of South Texas College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,788. Average net price used in cost models: $1,751.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway South Texas College graduates report median earnings of $36,788 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for South Texas College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (73 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at South Texas College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for South Texas College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for South Texas College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$339,580
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 0.01× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median 0.01× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 0.01× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 0.00× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 0.00× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 0.00× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 55.6%
- Texas median 4.4 pp below median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 4.1 pp below median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 2.3 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,665
- Texas median 1.1× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 1.1× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,695
- Texas median 1.1× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median near the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 0.78× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
South Texas College at a glance
South Texas College
South Texas College is a public institution in McAllen, TX, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- General StudiesWelding Technology/WelderLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino94.9%White or Caucasian2.2%Race/ethnicity unknown1.3%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near South Texas College
Other campuses in McAllen, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is South Texas College located?
South Texas College is located in McAllen, TX.
What is South Texas College's tuition?
South Texas College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,920 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $1,751 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does South Texas College cost?
Reported tuition is $4,920 and average net price is $1,751 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,638 annually.
Why is South Texas College's net price so much lower than tuition?
At South Texas College, published tuition is $4,920 while average net price is $1,751—about 64% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains South Texas College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($1,751), completion (27.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,788). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at South Texas College?
South Texas College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 37,077 students, Hispanic or Latino (94.9%), White (2.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend South Texas College?
About 60.9% of students at South Texas College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of South Texas College earn?
Median earnings are $28,239 six years after entry and $36,788 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at South Texas College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 27.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is South Texas College public or private?
South Texas College is a public institution located in McAllen, TX.
Is South Texas College an HBCU?
No. South Texas College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is South Texas College a tribal college?
No. South Texas College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.