Active Report Report ID: EDU-481429-2026

Universal Training Institute

Perth Amboy, NJ 08861-4106

Avg. net price$45,933After aid
Graduation rate57.89%150% time
Enrollment158Total students

About Universal Training Institute

Universal Training Institute is a private for-profit trade school in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, enrolling about 158 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 57.89% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (87.3%) and Hispanic or Latino (6.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Universal Training Institute$45,9331
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
New Jersey (state median)$12,950$11,02484
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Universal Training Institute really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Universal Training Institute versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Universal Training Institute is $45,933.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $45,933 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $34,910 above the New Jersey median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $27,233 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Universal Training Institute: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Universal Training Institute—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$45,933

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$45,307
$30,001–$48,000$45,974
$48,001–$75,000$45,829
$75,001–$110,000$48,156
$110,001+$49,145

Student outcomes

First-year retention78.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$54,553Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

What Universal Training Institute is known for

Top program completions

  1. Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other62

See earnings & programs for more.

Is Universal Training Institute a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Universal Training Institute is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Universal Training Institute.

Campus

Location

Perth Amboy, NJ

City / state

ZIP
08861-4106
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 2.5× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

158

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
220
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$12,546

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
57.28%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$183,732Estimated 4-year total cost
$45,933Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Universal Training Institute.

Financial Aid by Income Level

57.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
72.30% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Universal Training Institute was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Universal Training Institute in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20142023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2014$16,019
2015$26,075
2016$26,550
2017$26,191
2018$31,278
2019$39,580
2020$34,910
2021$36,951
2022$41,511
2023$37,693

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Universal Training Institute reported total enrollment of about 158 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 9% male and 91% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (87.3%), Hispanic or Latino (6.3%), and Asian (3.8%). About 57.28% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 78.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Universal Training Institute in 2024 is 158 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 220 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

78.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

87.3%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American87.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino6.3%
  • Asian3.8%
  • White or Caucasian2.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

24.56% 100% Completion Time

57.89% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 24.56% of students graduating from Universal Training Institute completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other: 13% male / 87% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

44Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American44
  • Hispanic or Latino5
  • Two or More Races4
  • White or Caucasian3
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Universal Training Institute graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Universal Training Institute.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $12,546. Average net price used in cost models: $45,933.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$12,546Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Universal Training Institute.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other 62

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Universal Training Institute.

Employment Outcomes

$58,758Median earnings (8 years after entry)
$54,553Median earnings (6 years after entry)
74.19%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Universal Training Institute graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Universal Training Institute—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,192
    • New Jersey median 1.3× the median ($7,319)
    • Mid East median near the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Universal Training Institute at a glance

Institution snapshot

Universal Training Institute

Perth Amboy, NJ 08861-4106 · Private For-profit · Mid East

Universal Training Institute is a private for-profit institution in Perth Amboy, NJ.

Avg. net price$45,933
Enrollment158
Completion (150%)57.89%
Pell Grant share57.28%
First-generation78.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American87.3%
Hispanic or Latino6.3%
Asian3.8%
Nearby

Schools near Universal Training Institute

Other campuses in Perth Amboy, NJ when available, plus nearby institutions in New Jersey.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within New Jersey, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Universal Training Institute located?

Universal Training Institute is located in Perth Amboy, NJ.

How much does Universal Training Institute cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $45,933 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at Universal Training Institute?

Universal Training Institute reports undergraduate enrollment of about 220 students, Black or African American (87.3%), Hispanic or Latino (6.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Universal Training Institute?

About 78.0% of students at Universal Training Institute are first-generation college students.

What is the graduation rate at Universal Training Institute?

The 150%-time completion rate is 57.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Universal Training Institute students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,546.

Is Universal Training Institute public or private?

Universal Training Institute is a private for-profit institution located in Perth Amboy, NJ.

Is Universal Training Institute an HBCU?

No. Universal Training Institute is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Universal Training Institute a tribal college?

No. Universal Training Institute is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Universal Training Institute a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Universal Training Institute does not meet that proxy (reported share 6.3%).

Is Universal Training Institute religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Universal Training Institute in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.