Active Report Report ID: EDU-102632-2026

University of Alaska Southeast

Juneau, AK 99801-8697

Acceptance rate63.29%Broad access
Tuition$7,056Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,357After aid
Graduation rate28.05%150% time
Median salary$48,47510yr post-entry

About University of Alaska Southeast

University of Alaska Southeast is a public certificate and vocational school in Juneau, Alaska, enrolling about 907 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $12,357 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $7,056. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $48,475 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Alaska Southeast charges 28% above the national public median tuition ($7,056).
  • Versus the Alaska median, sticker tuition is 23% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 28.05%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,475.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Alaska Southeast is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 881% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Alaska Southeast$7,056$12,3571
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Alaska (state median)$9,1988
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Alaska Southeast really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Alaska Southeast charges 28% above the national public median tuition ($7,056).
  • Versus the Alaska median, sticker tuition is 23% below.
Published sticker

University of Alaska Southeast tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $7,056

Finding University of Alaska Southeast charges 28% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $7,056. That is 28% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Alaska median ($9,198), sticker tuition is 23% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.6×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Alaska Southeast versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Alaska Southeast versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Alaska Southeast is $12,357.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,357 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates).

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Alaska Southeast, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Alaska Southeast: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Alaska Southeast—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$7,056

Out-of-state tuition

$20,640

Avg. net price

$12,357

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$9,955
$30,001–$48,000$6,799
$48,001–$75,000$14,510
$75,001–$110,000$18,946
$110,001+$19,373

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $28,224. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention76.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$38,811Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 74% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Alaska Southeast a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Alaska Southeast is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Alaska Southeast.

Campus

Location

Juneau, AK

City / state

ZIP
99801-8697

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs

Size

Enrollment

907

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,220
Graduate
232
Full-time share
44%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$19,111

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
14.30%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$49,428Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,357Average annual net price (after aid)
$28,2244-year in-state tuition
$82,5604-year out-of-state tuition
$12,820Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$21,276Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$85,104Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Alaska Southeast.

Financial Aid by Income Level

14.30% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
11.44% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Alaska Southeast was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Alaska Southeast in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$5,693$16,269$9,462
2014$5,901$16,705$8,971
2015$6,132$17,306$12,548
2016$8,415$22,550$9,453
2017$6,828$19,533$10,643
2018$7,092$19,856$10,258
2019$6,696$20,832$11,787
2020$6,960$21,096$10,421
2021$6,960$21,096$7,368
2022$6,960$21,096$7,056
2023$6,960$21,096$7,233

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

63.29%Acceptance rate
320Total applicants
200Students admitted
148First-time students enrolled
74.00%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Alaska Southeast reported total enrollment of about 907 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (53.1%), Two or More Races (15.3%), and American Indian or Alaska Native (10.4%). About 14.30% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 39.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

43.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Alaska Southeast in 2024 is 907 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,220 students. Graduate enrollment is about 232 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

76.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

53.1%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian53.1%
  • Two or More Races15.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native10.4%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.9%
  • Asian6.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.1%
  • Black or African American1.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.9%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

6.67% 100% Completion Time

28.05% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 6.67% of students graduating from University of Alaska Southeast completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 27% male / 73% female
  • Elementary Education and Teaching: 14% male / 86% female
  • Criminal Justice/Police Science: 92% male / 8% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

275White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian275
  • Two or More Races47
  • American Indian or Alaska Native34
  • Hispanic or Latino27
  • Asian24
  • Black or African American8
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Alaska Southeast graduates earn a median of $48,475 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Alaska Southeast.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $48,475. Median federal loan debt: $19,111. Average net price used in cost models: $12,357.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Alaska Southeast graduates report median earnings of $48,475 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

881%Modeled return on investment
$19,111Median student debt
$48,475Median annual earnings (10 years)
39.42%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Alaska Southeast.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (38 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management 28

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Alaska Southeast.

Employment Outcomes

$48,475Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$38,811Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$46,336Median earnings (8 years after entry)
82.90%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Alaska Southeast graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Alaska Southeast—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$9.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $9.1M

Year change: $542,839

  • Alaska median 0.18× the median ($52.4M)
  • Far West median 0.58× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.37× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $8,932

  • Alaska median 0.17× the median ($53,229)
  • Far West median 1.2× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.74× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 51.7%
    • Alaska median 0.0 pp at median (51.7%)
    • Far West median 6.0 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 6.2 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,276
    • Alaska median 1.2× the median ($7,919)
    • Far West median near the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $20,844
    • Alaska median 1.1× the median ($18,401)
    • Far West median 3.0× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 2.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Alaska Southeast at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Alaska Southeast

Juneau, AK 99801-8697 · Public · Far West

University of Alaska Southeast is a public institution in Juneau, AK, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.

Tuition$7,056
Avg. net price$12,357
Enrollment907
Acceptance rate63.29%
Completion (150%)28.05%
Pell Grant share14.30%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralElementary Education and TeachingCriminal Justice/Police Science
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian53.1%
Two or More Races15.3%
American Indian or Alaska Native10.4%
Nearby

Schools near University of Alaska Southeast

Other campuses in Juneau, AK when available, plus nearby institutions in Alaska.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Alaska, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Alaska Southeast located?

University of Alaska Southeast is located in Juneau, AK.

What is University of Alaska Southeast's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Alaska Southeast is 63.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 320 applicants and 200 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Alaska Southeast's tuition?

University of Alaska Southeast tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,056 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,357 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Alaska Southeast cost?

Reported tuition is $7,056 and average net price is $12,357 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,820 annually.

What explains University of Alaska Southeast's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,357), completion (28.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($48,475). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Alaska Southeast?

University of Alaska Southeast reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,220 students, White (53.1%), Two or More Races (15.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Alaska Southeast?

About 39.5% of students at University of Alaska Southeast are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of Alaska Southeast earn?

Median earnings are $38,811 six years after entry and $48,475 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Alaska Southeast?

The 150%-time completion rate is 28.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Alaska Southeast students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $19,111.

Is University of Alaska Southeast public or private?

University of Alaska Southeast is a public institution located in Juneau, AK.

Is University of Alaska Southeast an HBCU?

No. University of Alaska Southeast is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.