ZMS The Academy
Los Angeles, CA 90033-4231
About ZMS The Academy
ZMS The Academy is a private for-profit trade school in Los Angeles, California, enrolling about 144 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 40.49% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (72.2%) and Race/ethnicity unknown (22.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 40.49%.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZMS The Academy | — | $7,812 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is ZMS The Academy really?
Key findings
- Average net price runs below the California median net price.
Evidence: average net price at ZMS The Academy versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at ZMS The Academy is $7,812.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,812 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $531 below the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $12,241 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
ZMS The Academy: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for ZMS The Academy—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$7,812
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $7,812 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What ZMS The Academy is known for
Top program completions
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist58
- Barbering/Barber47
- Real Estate Development23
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General13
See earnings & programs for more.
Is ZMS The Academy a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
ZMS The Academy is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for ZMS The Academy.
Campus
Location
Los Angeles, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 90033-4231
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.4× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
Size
Enrollment
144
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 216
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 10.11%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for ZMS The Academy.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at ZMS The Academy was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for ZMS The Academy in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2015–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | — | — | $6,658 |
| 2016 | — | — | $11,332 |
| 2017 | — | — | $16,528 |
| 2018 | — | — | $14,126 |
| 2019 | — | — | $11,187 |
| 2020 | — | — | $11,633 |
| 2021 | — | — | $6,487 |
| 2022 | — | — | $9,329 |
| 2023 | — | — | $6,854 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
ZMS The Academy reported total enrollment of about 144 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 65% male and 35% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (72.2%), Race/ethnicity unknown (22.9%), and Black or African American (2.8%). About 10.11% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 70.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at ZMS The Academy in 2024 is 144 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 216 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
27.9%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
40.49% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from ZMS The Academy completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist: 0% male / 100% female
- Barbering/Barber: 79% male / 21% female
- Real Estate Development: 0% male / 100% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do ZMS The Academy graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for ZMS The Academy from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for ZMS The Academy.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at ZMS The Academy.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for ZMS The Academy graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for ZMS The Academy—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $755
- California median 0.12× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 0.11× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 0.10× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
ZMS The Academy at a glance
ZMS The Academy
ZMS The Academy is a private for-profit institution in Los Angeles, CA.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care SpecialistBarbering/BarberReal Estate Development
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino72.2%Race/ethnicity unknown22.9%Black or African American2.8%
Schools near ZMS The Academy
Other campuses in Los Angeles, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is ZMS The Academy located?
ZMS The Academy is located in Los Angeles, CA.
How much does ZMS The Academy cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $7,812 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What is the student body demographics at ZMS The Academy?
ZMS The Academy reports undergraduate enrollment of about 216 students, Hispanic or Latino (72.2%), Race/ethnicity unknown (22.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend ZMS The Academy?
About 70.1% of students at ZMS The Academy are first-generation college students.
What is the graduation rate at ZMS The Academy?
The 150%-time completion rate is 40.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is ZMS The Academy public or private?
ZMS The Academy is a private for-profit institution located in Los Angeles, CA.
Is ZMS The Academy an HBCU?
No. ZMS The Academy is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is ZMS The Academy a tribal college?
No. ZMS The Academy is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is ZMS The Academy a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—ZMS The Academy reports 72.2% Hispanic enrollment share.
Is ZMS The Academy religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for ZMS The Academy in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- California college profile
- California college costs
- California colleges by ROI
- California trade schools profile
- Los Angeles, California city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Urban (City) college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in California
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.