Active Report Report ID: EDU-100830-2026

Auburn University at Montgomery

Montgomery, AL 36117-3596

Acceptance rate91.57%Broad access
Tuition$9,700Published sticker
Avg. net price$13,224After aid
Graduation rate32.60%150% time
Median salary$44,39110yr post-entry

About Auburn University at Montgomery

Auburn University at Montgomery is a public research university in Montgomery, Alabama, serving roughly 2,542 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 91.57% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,391 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Auburn University at Montgomery charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($9,700).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is 3% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 32.60%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,391.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Auburn University at Montgomery is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 739% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Auburn University at Montgomery$9,700$13,2241
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Alabama (state median)$10,024$10,72163
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Auburn University at Montgomery really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Auburn University at Montgomery charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($9,700).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is 3% below.
Published sticker

Auburn University at Montgomery tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $9,700

Finding Auburn University at Montgomery charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $9,700. That is about 1.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Alabama median ($10,024), sticker tuition is 3% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 18% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Auburn University at Montgomery versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Auburn University at Montgomery versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Auburn University at Montgomery is $13,224.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,224 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,503 above the Alabama median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $4,824 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Auburn University at Montgomery, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Auburn University at Montgomery: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Auburn University at Montgomery—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$9,700

Out-of-state tuition

$20,668

Avg. net price

$13,224

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$11,706
$30,001–$48,000$12,309
$48,001–$75,000$13,202
$75,001–$110,000$17,387
$110,001+$16,117

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $38,800. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention67.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$38,216Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 20% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1093
  • Midpoint ACT: 21

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Auburn University at Montgomery a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Auburn University at Montgomery is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Auburn University at Montgomery.

Campus

Location

Montgomery, AL

City / state

ZIP
36117-3596
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 27% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

2,542

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,316
Graduate
1,892
Full-time share
80%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$25,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
42.35%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$52,896Estimated 4-year total cost
$13,224Average annual net price (after aid)
$38,8004-year in-state tuition
$82,6724-year out-of-state tuition
$7,368Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,500Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$18,568Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$74,272Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Auburn University at Montgomery.

Financial Aid by Income Level

42.35% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
42.47% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Auburn University at Montgomery was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Auburn University at Montgomery in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$8,750$24,950$11,915
2014$9,080$19,640$13,431
2015$9,350$20,210$14,176
2016$9,640$20,710$15,053
2017$8,020$17,140$15,310
2018$8,404$17,812$12,680
2019$8,620$18,292$13,987
2020$8,860$18,820$13,678
2021$8,860$18,820$13,689
2022$9,100$19,348$12,630
2023$9,436$20,092$14,596

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

91.57%Acceptance rate
2,213Total applicants
2,050Students admitted
413First-time students enrolled
20.15%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1093SAT average
21ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Auburn University at Montgomery reported total enrollment of about 2,542 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 34% male and 66% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (42.2%), White (41.4%), and Non-Resident Alien (4.8%). About 42.35% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 38.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

79.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Auburn University at Montgomery in 2024 is 2,542 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,316 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,892 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

67.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

42.2%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American42.2%
  • White or Caucasian41.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien4.8%
  • Two or More Races4.5%
  • Asian3.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino1.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

21.51% 100% Completion Time

32.60% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 21.51% of students graduating from Auburn University at Montgomery completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Information Technology: 72% male / 28% female
  • Computer Science: 80% male / 20% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 12% male / 88% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

441White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian441
  • Black or African American372
  • Asian29
  • Two or More Races24
  • Hispanic or Latino11
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Auburn University at Montgomery graduates earn a median of $44,391 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Auburn University at Montgomery.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,391. Median federal loan debt: $25,000. Average net price used in cost models: $13,224.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Auburn University at Montgomery graduates report median earnings of $44,391 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

739%Modeled return on investment
$25,000Median student debt
$44,391Median annual earnings (10 years)
56.32%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Auburn University at Montgomery.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (43 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer Science 187
  2. 00.0300 62
  3. Accounting 54

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Auburn University at Montgomery.

Employment Outcomes

$44,391Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$38,216Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$42,659Median earnings (8 years after entry)
89.86%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Auburn University at Montgomery graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Auburn University at Montgomery—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$60.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $57.1M

Year change: $3.8M

  • Alabama median 4.2× the median ($14.3M)
  • Southeast median 3.1× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 2.3× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $13,338

  • Alabama median 1.6× the median ($8,561)
  • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 75.7%
    • Alabama median 26.4 pp above median (49.2%)
    • Southeast median 16.2 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 17.7 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,974
    • Alabama median 1.2× the median ($7,502)
    • Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,192
    • Alabama median near the median ($7,192)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Auburn University at Montgomery at a glance

Institution snapshot

Auburn University at Montgomery

Montgomery, AL 36117-3596 · Public · Southeast

Auburn University at Montgomery is a public institution in Montgomery, AL, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$9,700
Avg. net price$13,224
Enrollment2,542
Acceptance rate91.57%
Completion (150%)32.60%
Average SAT1093
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Information TechnologyComputer ScienceRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American42.2%
White or Caucasian41.4%
Non-Resident Alien4.8%
Nearby

Schools near Auburn University at Montgomery

Other campuses in Montgomery, AL when available, plus nearby institutions in Alabama.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Alabama, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Auburn University at Montgomery located?

Auburn University at Montgomery is located in Montgomery, AL.

What is Auburn University at Montgomery's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Auburn University at Montgomery is 91.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,213 applicants and 2,050 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Auburn University at Montgomery's tuition?

Auburn University at Montgomery tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,700 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,224 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Auburn University at Montgomery cost?

Reported tuition is $9,700 and average net price is $13,224 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $7,368 annually.

What explains Auburn University at Montgomery's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,224), completion (32.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,391). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Auburn University at Montgomery?

Auburn University at Montgomery reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,316 students, Black or African American (42.2%), White (41.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Auburn University at Montgomery?

About 38.2% of students at Auburn University at Montgomery are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Auburn University at Montgomery?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Auburn University at Montgomery reports midpoint SAT about 1093 and midpoint ACT about 21.

What do graduates of Auburn University at Montgomery earn?

Median earnings are $38,216 six years after entry and $44,391 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Auburn University at Montgomery?

The 150%-time completion rate is 32.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Auburn University at Montgomery students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,000.

Is Auburn University at Montgomery public or private?

Auburn University at Montgomery is a public institution located in Montgomery, AL.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.