Active Report Report ID: EDU-101587-2026

University of West Alabama

Livingston, AL 35470

Acceptance rate42.65%Selective
Tuition$10,990Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,684After aid
Graduation rate34.70%150% time
Median salary$44,23210yr post-entry

About University of West Alabama

University of West Alabama is a public research university in Livingston, Alabama, serving roughly 2,974 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 42.65% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,232 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of West Alabama charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition ($10,990).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is 10% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 34.70%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,232.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of West Alabama is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 772% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of West Alabama$10,990$12,6841
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Alabama (state median)$10,024$10,72163
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of West Alabama really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of West Alabama charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition ($10,990).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is 10% above.
Published sticker

University of West Alabama tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $10,990

Finding University of West Alabama charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $10,990. That is about 2.0× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Alabama median ($10,024), sticker tuition is 10% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 8% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of West Alabama versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of West Alabama versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of West Alabama is $12,684.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,684 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,963 above the Alabama median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of West Alabama, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of West Alabama: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of West Alabama—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$10,990

Out-of-state tuition

$20,090

Avg. net price

$12,684

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$12,179
$30,001–$48,000$12,523
$48,001–$75,000$14,606
$75,001–$110,000$18,550

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $43,960. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention64.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$37,106Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 18% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1015
  • Midpoint ACT: 19

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of West Alabama a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of West Alabama is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of West Alabama.

Campus

Location

Livingston, AL

City / state

ZIP
35470

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

2,974

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,032
Graduate
3,837
Full-time share
81%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$24,944

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
58.17%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$50,736Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,684Average annual net price (after aid)
$43,9604-year in-state tuition
$80,3604-year out-of-state tuition
$8,230Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,206Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$20,426Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$81,704Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of West Alabama.

Financial Aid by Income Level

58.17% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
65.73% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of West Alabama was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of West Alabama in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,660$14,170$13,221
2014$8,018$14,886$13,092
2015$8,734$15,878$12,733
2016$8,876$16,162$13,227
2017$9,204$16,818$13,512
2018$10,040$18,490$13,975
2019$10,990$20,090$15,514
2020$10,990$20,090$16,747
2021$10,990$20,090$16,258
2022$10,990$20,090$14,006
2023$10,990$20,090$13,832

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

42.65%Acceptance rate
2,041Total applicants
1,778Students admitted
315First-time students enrolled
17.72%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1015SAT average
19ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of West Alabama reported total enrollment of about 2,974 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 29% male and 71% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (49.6%), Black or African American (38.9%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (3.1%). About 58.17% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 40.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

80.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of West Alabama in 2024 is 2,974 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,032 students. Graduate enrollment is about 3,837 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

64.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

49.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian49.6%
  • Black or African American38.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.1%
  • Two or More Races2.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
  • Asian0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

14.43% 100% Completion Time

34.70% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 14.43% of students graduating from University of West Alabama completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Elementary Education and Teaching: 3% male / 97% female
  • Educational Leadership and Administration, General: 29% male / 71% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 36% male / 64% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,032White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,032
  • Black or African American400
  • Hispanic or Latino49
  • Two or More Races41
  • American Indian or Alaska Native9
  • Asian2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of West Alabama graduates earn a median of $44,232 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of West Alabama.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,232. Median federal loan debt: $24,944. Average net price used in cost models: $12,684.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of West Alabama graduates report median earnings of $44,232 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

772%Modeled return on investment
$24,944Median student debt
$44,232Median annual earnings (10 years)
56.39%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of West Alabama.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (44 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 72
  2. Educational/Instructional Technology 65

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of West Alabama.

Employment Outcomes

$44,232Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$37,106Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$39,584Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.27%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of West Alabama graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of West Alabama—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$429,016

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $428,997

Year change: $19

  • Alabama median 0.03× the median ($14.3M)
  • Southeast median 0.02× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.02× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $85

  • Alabama median 0.01× the median ($8,561)
  • Southeast median 0.01× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 34.0%
    • Alabama median 15.2 pp below median (49.2%)
    • Southeast median 25.4 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 23.9 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,001
    • Alabama median 1.1× the median ($7,502)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,131
    • Alabama median 1.1× the median ($7,192)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of West Alabama at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of West Alabama

Livingston, AL 35470 · Public · Southeast

University of West Alabama is a public institution in Livingston, AL, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$10,990
Avg. net price$12,684
Enrollment2,974
Acceptance rate42.65%
Completion (150%)34.70%
Average SAT1015
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Elementary Education and TeachingEducational Leadership and Administration, GeneralBusiness Administration and Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian49.6%
Black or African American38.9%
Race/ethnicity unknown3.1%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near University of West Alabama

Other campuses in Livingston, AL when available, plus nearby institutions in Alabama.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Alabama, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of West Alabama located?

University of West Alabama is located in Livingston, AL.

What is University of West Alabama's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of West Alabama is 42.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,041 applicants and 1,778 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of West Alabama's tuition?

University of West Alabama tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $10,990 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,684 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of West Alabama cost?

Reported tuition is $10,990 and average net price is $12,684 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,230 annually.

What explains University of West Alabama's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,684), completion (34.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,232). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of West Alabama?

University of West Alabama reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,032 students, White (49.6%), Black or African American (38.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of West Alabama?

About 40.3% of students at University of West Alabama are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of West Alabama?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of West Alabama reports midpoint SAT about 1015 and midpoint ACT about 19.

What do graduates of University of West Alabama earn?

Median earnings are $37,106 six years after entry and $44,232 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of West Alabama?

The 150%-time completion rate is 34.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of West Alabama students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $24,944.

Is University of West Alabama public or private?

University of West Alabama is a public institution located in Livingston, AL.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.